What are the car seat laws in Oklahoma?

Oklahoma child safety seat laws are a primary offense with fines starting at $208 per incident. State law mandates children under 8 must be properly secured.

Free Auto Insurance Comparison

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Mathew B. Sims is Editor-in-Chief and has authored, edited, and contributed to several books. He has been working in the insurance industry ensuring content is accurate for consumers who are searching for the best policies and rates...

Full Bio →

Written by

Dan Walker graduated with a BS in Administrative Management in 2005 and has been working in his family’s insurance agency, FCI Agency, for 15 years (BBB A+). He is licensed as an agent to write property and casualty insurance...

Full Bio →

Reviewed byDaniel Walker
Licensed Insurance Agenthttps://res.cloudinary.com/quotellc/image/upload/insurance-site-images/aiorg-live/d98a9f52-daniel-walker.png

UPDATED: Apr 20, 2020

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We partner with top insurance providers. This doesn't influence our content. Our opinions are our own.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

Things to remember...

  • The fine for violating Oklahoma’s child safety seat regulations is significant
  • Oklahoma’s legislature recently amended the rules for child safety and booster seats
  • Properly using these special seats can reduce the potential for a serious injury

Adults serve as protectors of children since the young ones lack the ability to care for themselves. Very young children positively must rely on an adult when traveling in a vehicle.

Since adults may not know how to keep young children safe in a car, states instituted rules to cover the use of child safety seats and booster seats.

Properly installed seats could very well save a life when an accident occurs.

The American Academy of Pediatrics has also taken steps to inform the public about the best types of seats to use. The AAP updated previous suggestions established in 2002.

Today, the AAP provides guidance on the use of rear-facing seats for toddlers and booster seat suggestions for children based on age and height requirements.

It would seem the various states follow suggestions put forth by the AAP. Oklahoma’s rules and regulations, in particular, institute strict requirements designed to maximize child safety.

Compare car insurance quotes to find the best rates for the coverage you need. Enter your ZIP code into our free comparison tool above to get started.

Car Seat Law for Oklahoma

In Oklahoma, the police can cite a driver who does not comply with child safety seat laws. As a primary offense, an officer needs no other reason besides non-compliance to stop the vehicle and cite the driver. The basic regulations for child safety seat drivers to follow are:

  • Children less than two years old must be placed in rear-facing seats.
  • Children less than four years old may be placed in forward-facing seats.
  • Children between the ages of four and seven must ride in a booster seat.
  • Older children less than 57″ in height must ride in a booster seat.
  • A child must be eight years of age or older and more than 57″ in height to use an adult seat belt.

Adults should make sure the purchased seat is appropriate for the age and height of the child. Purchasing a seat made by a top-rated manufacturer increases the chance for safety.

Nothing decreases the chances more than not using the safety seat at all. To prevent adults from ignoring the law, the state of Oklahoma has put in place tough fines intended to ensure drivers follow the rules.

Upon pulling over a vehicle and discovering the driver has not adhered to the state’s safety seat rules, a citation will be issued. Unless the police officer was mistaken, fighting this type of ticket would be extremely difficult since the driver is either in compliance or not.

Free Auto Insurance Comparison

Compare quotes from the top auto insurance companies and save!

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

The penalties levied for non-compliance are:

  • Child seat violation: $208
  • Seat belt violation: $20

Although wearing a seat belt absolutely helps save lives, the fine remains minimal. Adults still need to take seat belt laws seriously especially when driving an older child.

The harsh fine for young child/toddler car seat violations makes sense since adults do need to be deterred from putting the little one at such risk.

In fact, Oklahoma’s current regulations reflect the recent strengthening of previous ones. Yet, not placing a child in an approved seat isn’t a moving violation meaning a driving record does not receive points. This has not changed with the newly updated regulations.

Free Auto Insurance Comparison

Enter your zip code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Provide for Child Safety and Care

Adults who take extra care to ensure a child stays safe during a drive could prevent an unfortunate incident from occurring. Purchasing a child safety seat or a booster seat is not enough, though.

The seat must be installed correctly for maximum effectiveness. Taking the seat to an authorized inspection station for installation instructions helps improve safety. A certified technician at the inspection station can also examine the seat for any problems or issues.

Review the Best Auto Insurance Policies in Oklahoma

The best child safety seat only does so much. Drivers must do everything they can to improve safety and address problems in the aftermath of an accident. Purchasing a quality auto insurance policy could help in many ways after a collision.

Oklahoma residents may easily request online quotes to check out the best policies in their area.

Reviewing three or four policies every six months keeps you from missing out on great deals. Do not, however, put too much emphasis on the price of the policy. Look at all the protections the policy gives you. The protections and financial coverage are what you want.

Compare quotes today by entering your ZIP code into our free comparison tool below.

FREE Auto Insurance Comparison

Compare quotes from the top auto insurance companies and save!

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption