What are the car seat laws in North Carolina?
North Carolina laws state that children must remain in a rear-facing seat until they are 2 years old, and in a car seat until they are 8 or weigh more than 80 pounds.
Free Auto Insurance Comparison
Secured with SHA-256 Encryption
UPDATED: Oct 20, 2021
It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.
Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident auto insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one auto insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider. Our partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.
Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.
- Children must remain rear-facing until they are at least 2 years old
- Children younger than 13 are not legally permitted in the front seat
- North Carolina car insurance companies will discourage improper safety precautions with higher rates
- Any police department or fire station will help you with correct car seat installation
Becoming a parent means taking responsibility for the life of someone who is incapable of caring for him or herself. A baby is someone who depends entirely on you to make sure he or she is safe, healthy, and happy.
You won’t get an instruction manual when you leave a North Carolina hospital after welcoming your baby, but one of the first things you can do to ensure the safety of your new baby is to educate yourself on proper child safety seat laws.
Your baby’s life depends on being placed in the correct car seat for his or her age and size that’s been properly installed in your vehicle.
Enter your ZIP code into our free car insurance comparison tool above to find auto insurance coverage that’s right for you at the best price.
North Carolina Car Seat Laws
North Carolina law encourages all people in any vehicle to wear their seat belt. Any adults who choose to forgo wearing theirs are subject to a ticket if they are caught.
Children must be buckled up. They must be in the correct seat, and they must be using the seat correctly. All children younger than eight years old or smaller than 80 pounds must be properly secured in a car seat or booster seat in North Carolina.
All children younger than 13 must remain in the rear seat of any vehicle, and it’s recommended kids smaller than four feet nine inches tall remain in a booster even if they are older than 8. This is when an adult seat belt fits properly.
There is no sense in putting your child’s life at risk unnecessarily by allowing them to graduate to an adult seat before their time.
The North Carolina Department of Insurance offers a program called the Safe Kids North Carolina program. It offers parents a chance to learn more about car seat laws and helps parents learn to properly install and use their child safety seats.
The program also offers information regarding affordable and safe child safety seats as well as how you can compare rates with insurance companies to help find the best car seat replacement insurance in case of an accident.
Free Auto Insurance Comparison
Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.
Secured with SHA-256 Encryption
Safely Using Child Safety Seats in North Carolina
Using a car seat or booster for your child is about so much more than simply using it. It’s about using it properly. All car seats are made differently, which is not something people realize until they spend any amount of time shopping for a car seat for their child.
The important thing you must remember is to find the right car seat for the age and size of your baby.
This requires reading the information on the seat.
- Your newborn baby must be in an approved car seat designed to face the rear of your car until the child is 2 years old and at least 30 pounds.
- Forward-facing seats are designed for children larger than 30 pounds.
- Booster seats are designed for larger kids who are not yet eight years old or 80 pounds.
Once you have a child safety seat for your child, you can visit any North Carolina police department or fire department for a safety check.
The men and women who protect your community do not take their jobs lightly, and they are trained to properly install car seats for new parents.
If you are not comfortable or want reassurance you’ve installed your baby’s car seat correctly, visit one of these locations to make sure.
One more consideration is clothing. Winter in North Carolina can be quite cold in many locations, and your children might wear heavy winter coats. If they do, you must remove their coats prior to placing your kids in their car seats or boosters.
Safety harnesses do not properly fit when children are in bulky clothing, and this can cause your children to suffer injuries if you are involved in an accident.
The Cost of Child Safety Seats
Car seats are not cheap. There are always options in different price ranges, but they are not always very affordable for families.
This expense is a problem that leads many people to pick up car seats for their kids at yard sales or even online sites where people sell their belongings to others. This purchase of used car seats is not safe.
Car seats that have been in any type of accident even if it’s minor are no longer safe. Car seats older than five years are not acceptable and should be replaced.
While shopping for a new car seat, you can check with local churches, hospitals, and police departments. They often run drives or know of places you can buy a safe car seat at a discounted price.
You may also want to add car seats to your list of things to compare when shopping for car insurance. Car insurance agencies offer car seat replacement with their comprehensive coverage. You want to be sure your seats are covered in the event of any accident.
Car seats are the most important thing you provide for your child in the car. Do not purchase used car seats, and do not forget to check with your insurance provider to ensure your seats are covered in the event of an accident.
Some insurance companies offer more coverage for car seats, and that might be the determining factor when choosing a policy that best fits your budget.
Compare car insurance quotes right here by entering your ZIP code below.