Select Page

What are the car seat laws in Nevada?

FREE Auto Insurance Comparison

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Compare quotes from the top auto insurance companies and save!

Things to remember...
  • State laws commonly require child car seats for children that don’t meet age and size requirements
  • In Nevada, car seats are required for any child less than six years of and less than 60 pounds
  • Nevada has the highest possible fine in the nation for car seat law violations


Nearly every state bases their car seat requirements on two factors: the age and size of a child. Both factors vary from state to state.

Age requirements go as young as five years and as old eight years. Some states also require car seats based on a child’s height or weight.

Many state guidelines are based on the recommendations of the American Academy of Pediatrics. According to the AAP’s updated recommendations from 2011, children should continue to ride in car seats until they reach the age of 8 and are at least 57 inches tall.

The AAP also recommends that children ride in rear-facing car seats until at least the age of 2. Until 2011, the AAP had recommended transitioning to a front facing seat at age 1. Make sure you have the best coverage with our free quote tool above! Just enter your ZIP and get a quote for free today!

Car Seat Law in Nevada

adobestock_92450988-1600x1600

Nevada car seat laws are based on the age and weight of the child. In Nevada, children are required to ride in car seats until they reach either the age of 6 or until they weigh 60 pounds. Nevada does not have any requirements regarding the height of the child.

Nevada’s statute requires that the car seat is appropriate for the size and weight of the child.

There are two exceptions under the statute requiring car seats. The first is when the child is traveling by public transportation.

The second is when a physician exempts a child for medical reasons. Under this exception, a doctor’s note regarding the exemption must be kept with the car seat.

Penalties for Violating Car Seat Laws in Nevada

Nevada has the steepest penalties in the nation for violating the car seat law.

The first offense carries a fine of between $100 and $500. A second offense includes a fine of between $500 and $1,000 and up to 100 hours of community service.

While a car seat law violation won’t add any points to a Nevada driver’s license, a third offense carries a penalty of a driver’s license suspension of between 30 and 180 days.

Under Nevada law, a car seat law violation is considered a secondary offense. Unlike a primary offense such as speeding, police officers cannot initiate a traffic stop based on a secondary offense alone.

In order to be cited for a car seat law violation, a Nevada driver would first need to be stopped for a primary offense.

FREE Auto Insurance Comparison

Compare quotes from the top auto insurance companies and save!

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Child Safety and Care for Nevada Drivers

An important aspect of protecting a child traveling in a vehicle is having adequate insurance coverage.

Nevada drivers are required to have at least $15,000 per person and $30,000 per accident of coverage for bodily injury.

Additionally, Nevada drivers must also carry a minimum of $10,000 per accident of property damage coverage.These are only minimum coverage requirements to drive and do not necessarily reflect the best practices for coverage.

Comparing three to four insurance policies is the best way to find the right policy that will meet both a driver’s needs and Nevada’s minimum coverage requirements.

Coverage can vary wildly between policies, so a driver shouldn’t base the decision on price alone.

Comparison between policies shouldn’t end once a policy is bought. It is recommended to review insurance policies every six months to account for changes in circumstances such as changing vehicle values.

Additionally, insurance policy prices can change over time. Reviewing policies every six months ensures a driver is always getting a policy at the best value possible.

– Inspections for Proper Car Seat Installation

AdobeStock_58307910-1600x1600

Car seats can be difficult to assemble properly. There are free resources available to Nevada drivers to ensure car seats are installed correctly. There are many car seat inspection stations in Nevada.

These inspection stations provide drivers with certified technicians that will inspect a car seat installation free of charge.

Child Car Safety in Nevada

To ensure a child’s safety, Nevada car seat law requires children less than six years of age or less than sixty pounds to be secured in a federally approved car seat.

Proper insurance coverage is another necessary component of keeping a driver and children traveling safely. The best method to ensure appropriate coverage is comparing three to four insurance policies and reviewing those policies every six months. Use our free quote tool now to compare the best rates!

FREE Auto Insurance Comparison

Compare quotes from the top auto insurance companies and save!

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

[0-9]
[0-9]