Mathew B. Sims is Editor-in-Chief and has authored, edited, and contributed to several books. He has been working in the insurance industry ensuring content is accurate for consumers who are searching for the best policies and rates. He has also been featured on sites like UpJourney.

Full Bio →

Written by

Dan Walker graduated with a BS in Administrative Management in 2005 and has been working in his family’s insurance agency, FCI Agency, for 15 years (BBB A+). He is licensed as an agent to write property and casualty insurance, including home, auto, umbrella, and dwelling fire insurance. He’s also been featured on sites like Reviews.com and Safeco. He reviews content, ensuring that exis...

Full Bio →

Reviewed by Daniel Walker
Licensed Auto Insurance Agent

UPDATED: Mar 30, 2020

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We partner with top insurance providers. This doesn’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

Things to remember...

  • The Nebraska car seat law is intended to keep young children as safe as possible while traveling in vehicles throughout the state
  • A seat belt law is enforced for older children who are passengers in cars in Nebraska
  • Drivers who violate these laws may be charged a fine and may have points added to their driving record


Child safety on Nebraska’s roads is a serious matter, and the state has taken steps to keep children as safe as possible by passing car seat and seat belt laws.

However, some drivers in this state look for additional safety guidelines that may help them to keep children even safer, and some drivers may turn to recommendations offered by the American Academy of Pediatrics for guidance.

The AAP is a leading organization that offers child safety guidelines on a wide range of topics, and many parents and caregivers openly follow its recommendations.

Its car seat recommendations include the use of a rear-facing car seat for children who are under the age of two years old, regardless of their height and weight.

The AAP also recommends that children sit in a forward-facing car seat until they are at least 57 inches tall and until they are between the age of eight and 12 years old.

Some of these guidelines differ from Nebraska’s state law, so it is important to understand what the legal requirements for car seat use are in this state.

Compare car insurance quotes right here to find the best rate for the coverage you need. Enter your zip code above to get started.

Car Seat Law for Nebraska

AdobeStock_116290360-1600x1600

Nebraska state law requires children who are under the age of five years old to be secured in a car seat at all times. You should be aware that the law does not specify the ideal age for turning a child from a rear-facing position to a forward-facing position.

Nebraska drivers can refer to the AAP guidelines and the car seat manufacturers’ recommendations for assistance with this matter.

The Nebraska state law also requires children who are between the ages of five and 17 years old to use the adult seat belts in the vehicle.

There is no requirement or law in Nebraska that limits children to the back seat based on the following:

  • age
  • height
  • weight

Free Auto Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Free Auto Insurance Comparison

Enter your zip code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Consequences for Breaking the Law

You may be wondering how law enforcement officials are able to cite you for a violation of the car seat law or child seat belt law. These are secondary laws in Nebraska, which means that a police officer cannot pull you over for this type of violation alone.

They need some other primary reason to pull you over such as if you run a red light.

The fine for a car seat law violation in Nebraska is $25 for each offense, and you may be cited for several offenses at the same time if you have multiple children in your car who are not in compliance with the law.

You should also be aware that this type of incident could result in points being added to your driving record. Additional points on your record could increase the cost of your insurance going forward, so you should be prepared to shop around and compare rates to find savings.

Altogether, this type of violation can be expensive for drivers to contend with, and it can put children at greater risk on the roads unnecessarily.

Provide for Child Safety on the Road

AdobeStock_58307910-1600x1600

Car seats are most effective at keeping children safe on Nebraska roads when they are properly installed according to the manufacturer’s recommendations.

However, proper installation can be complicated for some drivers to do, and you may wonder if you have completed this process correctly.

The NHTSA, or the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration, offers free car seat installation checks at various locations throughout the state, and you can locate a station close to your home or workplace by visiting the NHTSA’s website today.

Contacting the NHTSA is an excellent way to ensure that your car seats are installed properly for maximum safety or to get assistance with the installation process as needed.

Buy Excellent Car Insurance

Some drivers believe that all car insurance coverage is the same, but you should be aware that the state-required liability insurance in Nebraska does not pay for any of your own vehicle repair expenses or for medical bills for passengers who are injured in your vehicle.

Buying a comprehensive insurance policy that also has personal injury protection coverage is a great step to take if you want to ensure that you are able to pay for any medical bills for you and for your passengers who may be injured in a car accident.

Car insurance rates and needs can change periodically, so you may want to begin shopping for new car insurance coverage in Nebraska approximately every six months to keep your policy updated and to identify potential premium savings.

You can easily request at least three or four quotes from leading insurance companies online, and you can compare the quotes to find the best rate.

Be sure to investigate every insurance company’s financial strength and reputation. Great coverage isn’t just about the cost. Do your research and read up on Nebraska’s car insurance laws.

When you’re ready, use a free tool like ours to shop free quotes. Enter your zip code to get started!