What are the car seat laws in Mississippi?

FREE Auto Insurance Comparison

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Compare quotes from the top auto insurance companies and save!

Things to remember...

  • Mississippi drivers should ensure that children in their vehicles are properly secured by a car seat, booster seat, or adult seat belt, per state law
  • The AAP offers additional recommendations for Mississippi drivers to consider when determining how to properly use car seats
  • Mississippi drivers may benefit by reviewing car insurance coverage periodically and making changes to coverage types and limits as needed

Keeping children safe on Mississippi roads is a primary goal for many drivers, and the state has created mandatory car seat and seat belt laws that affect children up to the age of seven years old.

Drivers need to comply with state law in order to avoid being fined for a violation, but you may also consider following the AAP’s guidelines for additional benefits.

The AAP, or the American Academy of Pediatrics, has created numerous safety tips and recommendations, and this includes for the use of car seats and seatbelts.

The AAP recommendation calls for children to remain in a rear-facing car seat until they reach the age of two years old, and the best placement for this car seat is in the back seating area of the car.

It also calls for children who are older than two and younger than eight to 12 years old to be placed in a car seat or booster seat until they reach a height of 57 inches.

Compare car insurance rates right here to find the company that’s right for you. Enter your zip code above to get started.

Car Seat Law for Mississippi

AdobeStock_58307910-1600x1600

The car seat law in Mississippi coincides partially with the AAP recommendations, but there are some deviations. Drivers in this state need to be aware that violating the car seat law could result in a fine for each violation or incident.

The car seat law in Mississippi indicates that children who are under the age of four years old should be placed in a car seat, but it does not specify when the seat should be forward-facing or rear-facing.

Drivers may refer to the AAP’s guidelines for assistance with this aspect of car seat usage in an effort to keep young children as safe as possible while they are traveling in vehicles.

After the age of four years old, children should sit in a booster seat until they reach the age of seven years old and until they weight at least 65 pounds or are at least 57 inches tall. After this point has been reached, children should use the adult seat belt in the car.

Remember that different car seats and booster seats have different recommendations regarding height and weight requirements that you should pay attention to as well.

FREE Auto Insurance Comparison

Compare quotes from the top auto insurance companies and save!

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

If You Break the Law

A violation of the car seat law in Mississippi can result in a fine of $25 per occurrence or per violation.

You should be aware that if you have three children in the car who are not properly fastened according to the legal requirements, for example, you may receive three fines of $25 each.

You can see that the financial penalty for not complying with the car seat law in Mississippi can be expensive.

You may be wondering when a law enforcement official in Mississippi can cite you for this type of violation.

The Mississippi car seat law is a primary law, so law enforcement officials do not need any other reason to pull you over than a suspicion that a child is not properly buckled up in your car.

The best idea may be to ensure that all children are properly fastened in a car seat or seat belt as required by law at all times.

Proper Car Seat Installation

AdobeStock_13509265-1600x1600

While you definitely need to purchase and use car seats on a regular basis if you want to comply with this law and keep children as safe as possible on Mississippi’s roads, you also need to verify that your car seats are correctly installed.

The National Highway Traffic Safety Administration provides residents in Mississippi and throughout the United States with car seat installation checks at specified stations.

Many drivers are challenged by the often confusing or complicated car seat installation process, and you can easily turn to the NHTSA to ensure that your car seats are installed properly for maximum safety.

Buy Effective Car Insurance

Even with car seats properly installed in your vehicle, there is always a chance that you may be involved in a car accident.

If a child or another passenger in your vehicle is injured in a car accident, you understandably want to have the right car insurance coverage to pay for their medical bills.

Liability insurance required by state law may not suffice in this area, so you may need to upgrade your coverage to a comprehensive insurance policy that includes personal injury coverage. You may be able to set your own coverage limits within reason.

While you need to set up a car insurance policy with effective coverage, you also need to confirm that you are buying insurance from a reputable and trusted provider.

Here’s a checklist:

  • Compare quotes every six months
  • Compare three to four providers
  • Check customer service reviews
  • Look into the company’s financial standing

When you take these important steps, you can rest assured that you are making a great decision about your car insurance. Enter your zip code below to begin shopping for car insurance today.

FREE Auto Insurance Comparison

Compare quotes from the top auto insurance companies and save!

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

[0-9]
[0-9]