Select Page

What are the car seat laws in Kansas?

FREE Auto Insurance Comparison

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Compare quotes from the top auto insurance companies and save!

Things to remember...
  • Car seat laws are different in every state, however, most states follow a proper use clause
  • The AAP is a trusted resource for car seat use recommendations
  • In Kansas, all children under the age of 7 and 80 pounds need to be in a child safety restraint or a booster seat, depending on their age and weight
  • It is important to ensure proper installation and use of all child safety seats in your vehicle


Depending on the age of the child, proper use of child safety seats have been shown to reduce the risk of fatal injury between 45 and 71 percent. This makes their use of utmost importance if you have a child riding in your vehicle.

Car seats must be approved by the federal government. Car seat laws vary by state, however, most have a general proper use clause. This means that you must use a car seat based on the manufacturer’s instructions and guidelines for installation and use.

Although car seat laws between states can be somewhat confusing, following the instructions provided by the manufacturer of the car seat(s) you are using will generally help you fall within the legal guidelines no matter what state you are in.

Current AAP Recommendations for Car Seat Use

AdobeStock_11400158-1600x1600

Since 1930, the American Academy of Pediatrics has been a trusted source of information regarding children’s health and safety.

As of March of 2011, AAP car seat recommendations include the following:

  • Until children are at least 2 years of age or until they reach the maximum height and weight for the seat as determined by the seat’s manufacturer, they should stay in a rear-facing car seat.
  • Children need to use a belt-positioning booster seat until they are 4 feet 9 inches tall and between the ages of 8 and 12.
  • The front passenger seat of a vehicle should only be used for children over the age of 13.
  • Children should be in the proper type of restraint every time they are in a transportation vehicle.

Car Seat Law for Kansas

Kansas state law requires that children less than 3 years of age and less than 40 pounds be in a child safety seat.

Booster seats or child safety seats must be used by children between the ages of 4 and 7 years of age and between 40 and 80 pounds. Kansas law does not state a preference for children to ride in the rear seat of a vehicle.

What happens if I don’t obey Kansas car seat laws?

As of June of 2010, Kansas law provides for primary enforcement of child and safety belt laws. This means that you can be pulled over if you are not following these laws. In some states, it is a secondary offense, meaning you must be stopped for another infraction in order to be cited for breaking car or safety belt laws.

If you are cited for breaking these laws in Kansas, you can face fines between $30 and $60 for the first offense. You may also lose points off of your driver’s license which can cause your auto insurance premium to increase.

FREE Auto Insurance Comparison

Compare quotes from the top auto insurance companies and save!

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Child Vehicle Safety and Care

Whether you are a parent, grandparent, or another caregiver, if you will have children with you in the car, you should make sure they are safe and that their needs are provided for.

– The Right Insurance Coverage

AdobeStock_66413216-1600x1600 (1)

When you think about the safety and care of the children riding in your vehicle, you may not think about the right insurance coverage.

However, being sure that you have the auto insurance that you need can help protect you and your child passengers should an unforeseen circumstance occur.

  • Review your policy every six months – Most auto policies need to be renewed every 6 months. This is a good time to examine your policy for any changes that need to be made. Perhaps you had a baby since the last renewal and now your coverage needs have increased or perhaps your car is paid off now and you do not want full coverage.
  • Compare three to four different policies – Prior to the renewal of your auto insurance policy, you should get a minimum of three to four quotes from different auto insurance carriers. You might find that you could be paying less for better coverage. You can get different quotes by using an online price comparison tool.
  • Don’t choose based on price alone – Like many drivers, you might be tempted to choose the quote with the lowest price tag. However, be sure look at other factors such as the level of customer service the company provides, their online reviews, and how financially stable the company is.

The Importance of Car Seat Inspections

As many as 80 percent of child safety seats are not being used correctly or are not installed as they should be. This makes getting your car seat checked by a professional highly important to the safety of the children riding in your vehicle.

The National Transportation Safety Administration has several resources to help ensure you have correctly installed and used a child safety seat. In addition, you can find local car seat checks at hospitals, fire departments, and police stations near you.

FREE Auto Insurance Comparison

Compare quotes from the top auto insurance companies and save!

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

[0-9]
[0-9]