FREE Auto Insurance Comparison
Secured with SHA-256 Encryption
Compare quotes from the top auto insurance companies and save!
As an adult, it is your responsibility to make sure that children are safe at all times. While putting a baby in a car seat seems like common sense, every state has unique rules in place that aren’t limited to infants.
When you do not meet your state’s car seat requirements, you’re not just putting your child in danger — you’re breaking the law. Defying state regulations results in fines as well as points against your driving record.
Whether you are in Florida or California, child car seat laws persist.
Florida’s car seat laws are grounded in age. You may be breaking the law without even realizing it! Read on to learn more about car seat requirements in Florida to keep your child safe and your driving record clean.
The Details of the Law in Florida
The child car seat laws that exist in the state of Florida revolve a lot around the age of the child. Children that are five years old or younger have to be secured in a federally-approved car seat.
From infancy to age three, your child must have a separate car seat. If your car has a built-in seat, this is okay, too.
Once a child gets to be the age of four or five, it is then that the restrictions change regarding what type of seat has to be used. Children that are of ages four through five can sit in either a separate car seat, a built-in child safety seat, or use a seatbelt.
If your child doesn’t meet certain height and weight requirements, they’ll need a booster seat that positions them properly. Children should ride in a booster seat until they are over 80 pounds and 4’9″.
Infants should have a rear-facing seat until they are at least one year old and weigh at least 20 pounds.
Seatbelt Requirements in the State
No matter the age of the child, if they are under 18 years old, the state of Florida requires that they have a seatbelt on at all times.
There are no exceptions to this rule at all, and this will travel with the child as they are teenagers and through their young adult life.
Back Seat or the Front?
The state of Florida also recommends that if a child is 12 years old and under, that they ride in the back seat of the car when it is possible.
When there are no other options, it is perfectly fine for them to ride in the front.
The reason for this recommendation is due to the safety concerns that exist for airbag deployment in all vehicles. They have proven to be dangerous to young children.
The Impact on Auto Insurance
There is a significant impact that can occur on your driving record if you fail to follow the child car seat laws in the state of Florida.
Failure to follow them could result in a penalty that is going to amount to $60. You are also going to receive three points on your driving record.
Auto insurance companies are going to focus in on your driving record when pricing you out as a risk.
The premium that you are charged is going to largely be dependent on how safe of a driver you are. Being aware of the Florida child car seat laws and comparing prices from one carrier to the next is very important to your power as a consumer. Use our free insurance comparison tool below to make sure you are getting the best rates!