What are the car seat laws in Connecticut?
Child safety seat laws in Connecticut have changed. Children who are under 2 years of age or under 30 pounds must be in a rear-facing child safety seat.
Free Auto Insurance Comparison
Secured with SHA-256 Encryption
UPDATED: Oct 20, 2021
It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.
Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident auto insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one auto insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider. Our partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.
Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.
- Far too many children are injured or killed on American roadways each year, making vehicle safety of utmost importance
- Parents and other caregivers should always carefully follow the guidelines and instructions provided by the manufacturer of the car safety seat
- The AAP is also a good resource for car safety for kids
- Connecticut will have new car seat laws go into effect in the fall of 2017
The leading cause of death for children ages 1 to 13 is motor vehicle accidents. This means there is always room for improvement when it comes to child safety in the car.
Even though child safety seats are under the watchful eyes of the federal government, child safety seat use laws vary from one state to the next. This can make it confusing for parents and other caregivers who move out of state or are traveling between states.
When you are unsure of what the law in your current state might be, a good rule of thumb is to always follow the car seat manufacturer’s guidelines and instructions when it comes to car seat use and installation. Make sure you have the right auto coverage with our free insurance quote tool above.
AAP Car Seat Recommendations
The American Academy of Pediatrics is a trusted authority for the health and safety of American children. The AAP provides helpful recommendations that can be adhered to, no matter what state you have to be traveling in.
Current AAP car seat recommendations include:
Until they are at least 2 years of age or until they reach the maximum height and weight for the seat as determined by the seat’s manufacturer, children should remain in a rear-facing car seat.
Children need to use a belt-positioning booster seat until they are 4 feet 9 inches tall and between the ages of 8 and 12. The front passenger seat of a vehicle should only be used for children over the age of 13.
Free Auto Insurance Comparison
Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.
Secured with SHA-256 Encryption
Connecticut Car Seat Laws
In Connecticut, children under one year of age and under 20 pounds are required to be in a rear-facing car seat. Although it conflicts with the AAP recommendations and many manufacturer guidelines, children over age one can legally use a forward facing seat.
Children between the ages of 1 and 6 and under 60 pounds are required to use a child booster seat.
However, beginning on October 1, 2017, Connecticut law states that children under 2 years of age or under 30 pounds must be in a rear-facing child safety seat.
Children between 2 and 4 years of age and under 40 pounds can be in a seat that is rear or forward facing.
Children between the ages of 5 and 7 years or between 40 and 60 pounds can be rear or forward facing as well but must be using a booster seat with an adult safety belt. Only children ages 8 to 15 and at least 60 pounds can use an adult seat belt alone.
Consequences for Violating Connecticut Car Seat Laws
You can be stopped by a law enforcement officer in the state of Connecticut for not wearing a seatbelt or not having a child properly restrained. This is what is known as a primary offense.
In other states not obeying safety seat and belt laws is a secondary offense, meaning the law enforcement officer must have another reason to stop you first.
Though all states have different laws when it comes to the use of child restraint systems, they all have consequences for offenders. This can include fines and points off of your driver’s license. In the state of Connecticut, you will face a minimum $50 fine for this violation.
Additionally, unlike other states, Connecticut requires a mandatory child restraint education program for first or second violation
Provide for Child Safety and Care
Whether you are a parent, another relative, friend, or a caregiver, you are responsible for the safety and care of the children you supervise.
Have the right insurance coverage
In addition to providing the proper car seat for children riding in your vehicle, you should also be sure your auto insurance is up to date.
- Review policy every six months – About every six months you should review the coverage on your vehicle(s). Check to make sure you are not paying for coverage you don’t need and that you also have coverage in place that you do need.
- Compare at least three to four policies – This is also a good time to get quotes from several different auto insurance carriers. You can do this by using an online price comparison calculator that will show you several quotes all in one place.
- Choose policy on more than just on price – Although price can be a big factor in determining which auto insurance carrier you will use, you should also consider the stability of the carrier, customer service, and recommendations from family or friends.
Car seat Inspections and Child Safety
Another resource for proper installation and use of a child safety seat is the National Highway Transportation Safety Administration. Whenever possible, you should also have your car seat checked by a trained professional.
You can check with your local hospital, law enforcement agency, or fire department to see if they offer car seat inspections.
Another way to keep children safe is by carrying proper car insurance. You can compare rates from local providers here by entering your ZIP code. Use our free insurance comparison tool below now.