What are the car seat laws in Colorado?
Colorado child safety seat laws are a primary offense with fines starting at $82 per incident. State law mandates children under 8 must be properly secured.
Free Auto Insurance Comparison
Secured with SHA-256 Encryption
UPDATED: Nov 2, 2021
It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.
Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident auto insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one auto insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider. Our partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.
Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.
- The child car seat law in Colorado is applicable for children up to and through the age of 15
- Children should sit in a car seat or a booster seat in Colorado until they reach the age of eight
- Drivers may be fined for each individual violation of this law in Colorado
- Drivers should ensure that their insurance coverage would pay for their own vehicle repairs and medical expenses for themselves and passengers in their own car
If you plan to drive with a child in your car in Colorado, you should be aware of the state’s legal requirement for car seats and seatbelts for minors. More than that, you may want to consider the American Academy of Pediatrics’ guidelines for car seat usage for young children.
The APP’s guidelines are more significant than Colorado’s legal requirements, and these additional guidelines may help you to keep the children in your car safer.
The American Academy of Pediatrics recommends that all children who are under the age of two sit in a rear-facing car seat regardless of their weight, and the best location for the placement of this car seat is in the back seat of the vehicle.
After a child reaches the age of two, he or she may sit in a front-facing car seat or in a booster seat based on the manufacturer’s recommendations.
This seating arrangement should remain in place until the child is 57 inches tall and is between the age of eight and 12 years old.
Make sure you’re properly covered in terms of insurance. Enter your ZIP code into our free comparison tool above to get started.
Car Seat Law for Colorado
The AAP guidelines for the use of car seats and booster seats are not specific to Colorado drivers, and local drivers are not required to comply with these suggested guidelines.
However, Colorado drivers may be fined if anyone in their vehicle does not comply with state laws regarding the use of child car seats and seat belts.
Per Colorado car seat laws, the following guidelines are set forth:
- Infants who are less than one year old and who weigh less than 20 pounds must sit in a rear-facing car seat in the back seat of the car when possible.
- Colorado state law also says that children who are between the ages of one and three years old and who weigh between 20 and 40 pounds should sit in a forward-facing car seat.
- A booster seat should be used for children who are between the ages of four and seven years old.
- Children who are between the ages of eight and 15 should always wear the adult seat belt in the vehicle.
Free Auto Insurance Comparison
Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.
Secured with SHA-256 Encryption
Penalties for Not Following Car Seat Laws
As you might expect, there are penalties associated with violating the car seat laws in Colorado. The car seat law in this state is a primary law, which means that you may be pulled over if a police offer believes that a child in your vehicle is not properly fastened as required by law.
The police officer does not need any other reason or cause to pull you over.
If you are cited for a single violation of the car seat law for younger children, you may be required to pay a fine of $82.
A fine of $71 may be charged for seat belt violations for older children.
Keep in mind that you may be fined a separate fee for each child in your car who is not properly secured in a car seat or seat belt according to state law.
You can see that the fines can quickly add up to a sizable amount of money if you have several children in your car who are not properly secured per state law when you are pulled over.
Proper Car Seat Installation
Many drivers struggle to install car seats properly, and the reality is that children are not as safe sitting in these seats if they are not securely and properly installed as the manufacturer intended them to be installed.
The National Highway Traffic Safety Administration offers assistance with car seat installations. At approved NHTSA check stations throughout the country, you can get your car seat inspected, and assistance is available with the proper installation of the seat as needed.
Colorado Car Insurance
Another step drivers should take before driving with children in the car is to review their current auto coverage types and limits.
Understand that the state’s minimum amount of car insurance required by law does not provide you with any compensation for vehicle repairs, and it also does not pay for any medical expenses for you or passengers in the car if you are involved in an accident.
If you want to be prepared for a possible accident, upgrade your coverage to include the following:
- comprehensive insurance
- collision coverage
- personal injury protection
You should identify the type and amount of car insurance coverage that you need before shopping around to find new quotes for coverage. Spend time educating yourself about different coverage types as needed so that you can be an informed shopper.
All Colorado drivers should get in the habit of shopping around for new coverage every six months to update their coverage and to look for a better deal. In addition to comparing rates, also look for a provider that has strong financial backing and that has a great reputation.
Getting three to four quotes from reputable car insurance companies is a smart idea. Enter your ZIP code into our free comparison tool below to begin.