Select Page

What are the car seat laws in Arkansas?

FREE Auto Insurance Comparison

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Compare quotes from the top auto insurance companies and save!

Things to remember...

  • Arkansas has instituted clear rules regarding the use of child safety seats in cars
  • Activists are calling for increases in the age limits to Arkansas’ laws
  • Failure to follow current law stands as a primary offense

A full-grown adult could suffer devastating injuries in a car accident even when a vehicle isn’t traveling at a high rate of speed. As brutal as an adult’s injuries could be, a child’s would be many times worse.

The small frame of a toddler is not strong enough to handle impact inside the vehicle. To help keep young children safe, laws have been implemented all over the United States to mandate child safety seat and booster seat use.

Simply buying a booster or child safety seat is not enough. The seat needs to be appropriate for the child in regards to:

  • weight
  • height
  • age

The American Academy of Pediatrics (AAP) even updated its recommendations for keeping children safe while they ride in a car.

The AAP has arrived at decisions about the use of rear-facing seats for very young children and also mentioned the critical importance of choosing the right seat based on a child’s age and height.

Arkansas takes the safety of children just as seriously as the AAP does. This importance is clear in the detailed laws and rules regarding seat rules for young ones in the state.

Make sure you have the car insurance you need. Enter your zip code into our free rate comparison tool above.

Car Seat Laws for Arkansas

AdobeStock_65137165-1600x1600

Arkansas requires children under the age of one year old to be placed in rear-facing seats. Additionally, children who are under 20 lbs in weight must be placed in rear facing seats.

Children between the ages of one and four years old and weighing between 20 lbs and 40 lbs belong in a forward-facing seat. As for booster seats, the child must be up to six years of age and weight less than 60 lbs.

In order for a child to be secured in an adult seat belt, the child has to be more than six years in age and also weigh greater than 60 lbs.

Parents, guardians, and other adult drivers should become familiar with these specific rules. Violating the state’s regulation can lead to a fine. More importantly, following the state’s requirements improves the safety of the child riding in the vehicle.

A movement is now afoot to improve Arkansas’ child safety seat rules by extending the age requirement from the maximum of six to eight. Public pressure may be necessary to increase the age to this cutoff limit.

FREE Auto Insurance Comparison

Compare quotes from the top auto insurance companies and save!

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Consequences for Breaking the Law

Arkansas long ago realized both adults and children face safety risks when not properly buckled in a seat. Wearing a seat belt is mandatory for passengers and drivers.

Those who do not wear their seat belts face a $25 fine. With child safety and booster seat violations, the fine increases to $100. The heavier fine is put in place in order to force adults to follow these rules and cut down on the chances of a child being harmed.

The police can pull over those who ignore or fail to properly follow child restraint laws. In Arkansas, these violations fall under the category of primary offenses. With secondary offenses, the driver must commit a separate violation in order for his/her vehicle to be stopped.

As a primary offense, if an officer notices a clear violation, the vehicle can be stopped and the driver issued a citation. Points, however, would not be levied against the driver since failure to follow seat belt or child restraint laws is not considered a moving violation.

Make Sure the Safety Seat Works

AdobeStock_58307910-1600x1600

A child safety seat must be in the perfect working condition in order to deliver on its intended purpose. The seat must also be installed properly as well.

To make sure nothing is wrong, take the seat to an inspection station.

A certified technician can look over a seat to determine any flaws. The technician can also provide insights on how to install the seat the right way.

A Great Insurance Policy Boosts Safety

Keeping a child safe in a vehicle takes many forms. Purchasing a great insurance policy helps this cause in numerous ways.

Medical payments coverage, for example, could address injuries suffered by a young one in an accident. Auto liability coverage keeps the family’s financial security stable thanks to a settlement covering losses due to negligence.

Requesting online quotes makes reviewing policy options effortless. Try to review at least four quotes every six months and do not just examine price. Seek a great policy capable of helping you and the young one.

Use our free online quote tool today. Just enter your zip code below to begin.

FREE Auto Insurance Comparison

Compare quotes from the top auto insurance companies and save!

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

[0-9]
[0-9]