What are the car seat laws in Arizona?

FREE Auto Insurance Comparison

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Compare quotes from the top auto insurance companies and save!

Things to remember...

  • All Arizona drivers should be aware of the state’s legal requirements regarding the use of car seats and child safety on the road
  • The car seat law in Arizona is a primary law
  • You may be fined for each violation of the car seat law

Like many other states, Arizona has passed child safety seat and seatbelt laws for minors. These laws are designed to reduce the severity of injuries if a younger person is involved in an accident.

An adult car seat belt is effective at keeping those who have larger and heavier bodies safe in an accident, but a car seat or booster seat is generally required for smaller individuals.

The American Academy of Pediatrics is known for offering guidelines to parents and caregivers that can help you to keep children safe, and this includes car seat usage guidelines.

The AAP indicates the following:

  • Children should ideally sit in a rear-facing car seat in the back seating area of the vehicle until they reach the age of two years old.
  • They should sit in a front-facing seat belt or in a booster seat that is appropriate for their size and age until they grow to 57 inches tall and are between the ages of eight and 12.
  • After this point, the AAP believes that children can safely be secured by adult seat belts.

However, you should be aware that the AAP guideline does not coincide with the car seat law in Arizona. 

While you are not required to comply with the AAP guidelines, you need to comply with the state’s car seat laws to avoid unnecessary fines.

Compare car insurance quotes by using our free rate tool above. Just enter your zip code to begin.

Car Seat Law for Arizona

AdobeStock_58307910-1600x1600

Arizona state law states that infants who are less than one year old and who weigh less than 20 pounds should be secured in a rear-facing infant seat in the back seat of the car if reasonably feasible.

For children who are between the ages of one and four years old and who weigh between 20 and 40 pounds, the Arizona car seat law says that children can sit in a front-facing car seat.

Booster seats should then be used by children between the ages of five and seven regardless of their height or weight.

When a child reaches the age of eight, he or she may legally sit in a car without the use of a car seat or booster seat, but he or she must use the vehicle’s adult seat belts for safety.

FREE Auto Insurance Comparison

Compare quotes from the top auto insurance companies and save!

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Consequences for Breaking the Law

Arizona drivers should understand the difference between a primary and secondary law. A primary law is a law that you can be pulled over and cited for without any additional cause or reason.

A secondary law is a law that you may be cited for if you are pulled over for another primary reason.

In Arizona, the car seat law for children who are under the age of eight years old is a primary law, and the seat belt law for older children and adults is a secondary law.

The maximum fine associated with a car seat violation is $50 per incident, and a seatbelt violation can result in a $10 fine per incident.

Understand that you could receive a separate fine for each individual in the car who is not properly fastened or secured per state law at the time of the incident.

Consider Child Safety and Care

AdobeStock_13509265-1600x1600

While you understandably want to install the right car seats in your vehicle to comply with laws and to avoid having to pay expensive legal penalties, you also want to ensure that everyone in your car is as safe and secure as possible.

It is not enough to simply purchase the right car seats for children, and these seats will need to be properly secured in the car for optimal safety.

You can follow the manufacturer’s installation instructions to get started, but you may also want your child safety seats professionally inspected before you venture on the road with little ones in your car.

The National Highway Traffic Safety Administration offers car seat inspections to all drivers across the country to help you keep little ones safe on the road.

You can research approved NHTSA check stations throughout the country to find a location close to you through the NHTSA website.

At a check station, you can get a free car seat inspection for each seat in your vehicle, and assistance is available with the proper installation of car seats as needed.

Buy the Right Car Insurance Coverage

Another important factor to consider when you are concerned about safety and security on the road in Arizona relates to car insurance. You should research the car insurance types available to ensure that you buy adequate coverage for all of your needs.

Liability coverage is required by law, but it will not pay for any of your own repair bills or medical expenses if you are in an accident.

Comprehensive insurance and collision coverage are not required by law, but they can pay for your car repairs and medical expenses if you are involved in an accident or something happens to your vehicle.

Remember to compare three to four policies each time you shop around for quotes, and consider requesting new quotes from top providers every six months.

While price is an important concern, you should also focus your attention on a provider’s financial strength and claims process to guide your buying decision.

Compare quotes today to find the coverage that’s right for you. Enter your zip code into our free rate tool below to begin.

FREE Auto Insurance Comparison

Compare quotes from the top auto insurance companies and save!

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

[0-9]
[0-9]