SECURA Auto Insurance Review (2024)

SECURA auto insurance has a long history with over 120 years in business. The SECURA rating with the Better Business Bureau is an A+. SECURA auto insurance is currently only available in 13 U.S. states and there are several discounts available that can help lower your car insurance rate.

UPDATED: Feb 26, 2024Fact Checked

Sara Routhier

Sr. Director of Content

Sara Routhier, Managing Editor and Outreach Director, has professional experience as an educator, SEO specialist, and content marketer. She has over five years of experience in the insurance industry. As a researcher, data nerd, writer, and editor she strives to curate educational, enlightening articles that provide you with the must-know facts and best-kept secrets within the overwhelming world o...

Sr. Director of Content

Tim Bain

Licensed Insurance Agent

Tim Bain is a licensed insurance agent with 23 years of experience helping people protect their families and businesses with the best insurance coverage to meet their needs. His insurance expertise has been featured in several publications, including Investopedia and eFinancial. He also does digital marking and analysis for KPS/3, a communications and marking firm located in Nevada.

Licensed Insurance Agent

UPDATED: Feb 26, 2024

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident auto insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one auto insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider. Our partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

UPDATED: Feb 26, 2024

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident auto insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one auto insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider. Our partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

UPDATED: Feb 26, 2024Fact Checked
4.1
autoinsurance.org

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

SECURA Insurance

Average monthly rate for good drivers:

$156

A.M. Best rating:

A

Complaint level:

Low

Final Verdict: Review of SECURA Insurance

Finding the right auto insurance company can be challenging. With over 120 years of experience under its belt, SECURA auto insurance has been around a while. Will you find cheap auto insurance at SECURA? Finding what you need to know about an insurance company can be hard, but we can help.

Continue reading to learn more information on what SECURA auto insurance can do for you.

Expand your knowledge beyond SECURA car insurance and enter your ZIP code for a free auto insurance quote today.

[su_box title="Things to Remember" style="default”]
  • SECURA auto insurance is currently only available in select U.S cities
  • Package deals are available for added protection and additional savings
  • There are several ways available to file SECURA insurance claims
[/su_box] Finding the right auto insurance company can be challenging. With over 120 years of experience under its belt, SECURA auto insurance has been around a while. Will you find cheap auto insurance at SECURA? Finding what you need to know about an insurance company can be hard, but we can help. Continue reading to learn more information on what SECURA auto insurance can do for you. Expand your knowledge beyond SECURA car insurance and enter your ZIP code for a free auto insurance quote today.

What You Should Know About Secura Insurance

Before deciding on an auto insurance company, most smart shoppers conduct thorough online research on a company by reading reviews, ratings, etc. According to the Edelman Trust Barometer, 56 percent of consumers rely on the information they find out about a company through search engines.

When it comes to SECURA’s reputation:

  • A.M. Best has awarded the company a financial strength rating of A (Excellent).
  • The Better Business Bureau (BBB) provided SECURA insurance with an A+ rating.
  • Ward Group listed SECURA as one of its 50 top-performing property and casualty insurers.
  • The Wellness Council of America (WELCOA) awarded SECURA with a Platinum Well Workplace Award for its commitment to the health and well-being of its employees.
  • The Wisconsin Sustainable Business Council recognized SECURA insurance with a Green Master designation.
  • SECURA insurance has been recognized as a Great Place to Work for the sixth year in a row.

While the company has some solid ratings, a little research will also reveal that a few complaints have been made about SECURA insurance. Specifically, complaints focus on how the company handles car accidents and auto insurance claims.

How to File a SECURA Insurance Claim

Have you been in a car accident? There are a few ways available for you to file a SECURA insurance claim.

  • Online – SECURA insurance claims can be filed quickly and easily by filling out the form available on the company website.
  • By Phone – Depending on the policyholder’s time zone, SECURA has a few telephone numbers available to file a claim:
    • For customers in Eastern Time and Central Time: 1-800-318-2136
    • For customers in Mountain Time: 1-866-356-7870
  • By Email– The company accepts email insurance claims 24 hours a day, seven days a week at [email protected].
  • Through the mySECURA app – MILE-STONE auto policyholders can use the mySECURA app to submit insurance claims, view auto ID cards, access policy documents, and much more.

Once a claim has been filed, a representative has 24 hours to respond to your inquiry. While this sounds logical, in comparison to many other auto insurance companies on the market that have the capability to respond much faster, SECURA insurance’s response times are hardly competitive.

Secura Insurance Coverage Options

What type of auto insurance are you looking for? SECURA offers both commercial and hybrid auto insurance, so no matter what type of vehicle you have, you can enjoy quality car insurance within your price range.

SECURA Insurance Has Affordable Packages

MILE-STONE® is an auto package policy offered by SECURA insurance. This allows its customers to select which price range and which level of protection is best.

Customers can choose between the MILE-STONEBasic and MILE-STONE Gold packages, which include the following benefits:

MILE-Stone Basic

  • Roadside RescuerSM.This service will cover tire changes, towing, roadside assistance, and more
  • Identity Theft Protection. This service can provide peace of mind if your car has been lost, stolen, or damaged in a fire

The following services listed below can be added to the MILE-STONE Basic package, and they are automatically included in the MILESTONE Gold package.

MILE-STONE Gold

  • Accident Forgiveness. If you’ve been a MILE-STONE® customer for at least three years and you are violation and accident-free, you are eligible for this benefit
  • Glass Express. This service will cover auto glass repair and replacement
  • Identity Theft Protection. This service can provide peace of mind if your car has been lost, stolen, or damaged in a fire
  • Pet ProtectorSM. This service will reimburse you if your cat or dog has been injured or killed in an auto, home, or watercraft accident
  • Roadside RescuerSM. This service will cover tire changes, towing, roadside assistance, and more
  • Travel RescuerSM. This service can provide emergency assistance if you are located at least 100 miles or more away from your home

 

Based on the package you select, your SECURA auto insurance quote may vary.

Free Auto Insurance Comparison

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Secura Insurance Rates Breakdown

From your average auto insurance expenditure to the amount you will have to pay for collision insurance, your location will play a huge part in what you will typically be asked to pay for vehicle coverage.

In addition, your decision to select SECURA insurance may depend on if it’s available in your location.

Currently, SECURA auto insurance is available in the U.S. states listed below. We’ve gathered average rates in those states from the National Association of Insurance Commissioners (NAIC).

Once you’ve gained a better idea on the average car insurance coverage rates by states, it would be easier to determine if your SECURA auto insurance quote helped you save money.

State Offering SECURA InsuranceAverage Auto Insurance RateAverage Collision Coverage Rate
Arizona$1,046.40$326.28
Colorado$1,132.81$330.50
Illinois$916.49$339.04
Indiana$767.72$286.49
Iowa$700.71$252.65
Kansas$805.15$287.24
Kentucky$936.91$312.51
Michigan$1,469.73$479.11
Minnesota$872.65$265.74
Missouri$913.81$315.49
North Dakota$686.08$279.45
Pennsylvania$991.23$376.21
Wisconsin$755.97$247.95

If you live in any of the states above that offer SECURA insurance, choosing it as your auto insurance may seem like a no-brainer. However, its limited availability may be an issue for individuals that are interested but do not reside in areas where it is available.

Secura Insurance Discounts Available

If you are looking to stay within a specific budget, SECURA insurance has many auto insurance discounts available in abundance. Save money on your insurance costs with a:

  • Hybrid car discount. Policyholders that are currently owning or leasing a hybrid vehicle are eligible.
  • Valued policyholder discount. The longer you have SECURA car insurance, the more savings you can be rewarded with.
  • Early quoting discount. Policyholders that have their policy quoted prior to the effective date are eligible to receive this discount.
  • Claim/violation free discount. If you have not had any accidents or moving violations on your account for at least three years, you may be eligible for this discount.
  • Good student discount If your policy has coverage for a student between the ages of 16-24 that has at least a 3.0 GPA or higher, your policy may be eligible for this discount.

For additional savings, SECURA insurance customers can also bundle their auto and home insurance plans. On average, customers that take advantage of this opportunity can save up to 25%.

Frequently Asked Questions

What is SECURA Auto Insurance?

SECURA Auto Insurance is an insurance company that offers coverage specifically for automobiles. They provide various policies and coverage options to protect drivers and their vehicles against potential risks and damages.

What types of auto insurance coverage does SECURA offer?

SECURA Auto Insurance offers a range of coverage options, including liability coverage, collision coverage, comprehensive coverage, uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage, personal injury protection (PIP), and medical payments coverage. They also offer additional coverage options such as roadside assistance and rental reimbursement.

How can I get a quote for SECURA Auto Insurance?

To obtain a quote from SECURA Auto Insurance, you can visit their website or contact their customer service. You will typically need to provide information about yourself, your vehicle, and your driving history to receive an accurate quote.

Are there any discounts available with SECURA Auto Insurance?

Yes, SECURA Auto Insurance offers various discounts to help policyholders save on their premiums. These discounts may include safe driver discounts, multi-policy discounts, good student discounts, and discounts for vehicles with safety features.

How do I file a claim with SECURA Auto Insurance?

To file a claim with SECURA Auto Insurance, you should contact their claims department as soon as possible after an accident or incident. They will guide you through the process and may require information such as the details of the incident, police reports, and relevant documentation.

Does SECURA Auto Insurance have good customer service?

SECURA Auto Insurance strives to provide excellent customer service to its policyholders. They have a dedicated customer service team that can assist with inquiries, policy changes, and claims. However, individual experiences may vary.

Are there any drawbacks to SECURA Auto Insurance?

While SECURA Auto Insurance has its strengths, there are some potential drawbacks to consider. These include the possibility of higher premiums compared to other insurers, limited availability in certain regions, and variations in customer service experiences.

Free Auto Insurance Comparison

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Sara Routhier

Sr. Director of Content

Sara Routhier, Managing Editor and Outreach Director, has professional experience as an educator, SEO specialist, and content marketer. She has over five years of experience in the insurance industry. As a researcher, data nerd, writer, and editor she strives to curate educational, enlightening articles that provide you with the must-know facts and best-kept secrets within the overwhelming world o...

Sr. Director of Content

Tim Bain

Licensed Insurance Agent

Tim Bain is a licensed insurance agent with 23 years of experience helping people protect their families and businesses with the best insurance coverage to meet their needs. His insurance expertise has been featured in several publications, including Investopedia and eFinancial. He also does digital marking and analysis for KPS/3, a communications and marking firm located in Nevada.

Licensed Insurance Agent

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

Reviews
for Secura Insurance

4.08 (54 reviews)
5
September 8, 2023

Joseph Roberts

SECURA Insurance review

One finds out how good your insurance is when in a crisis. Secura is an exceptional insurance company.
1
August 5, 2021

Captain1

Dealing with Secura was worse than the accident itself.

Dealing with Secura Insurance Co. was worse than the accident itself. They didn't care about me they just didn't want to pay. It was long and drawn out, after almost a year and everything is still not right. They filed their report on the accident wrong and wouldn't fix it, now I have to pay higher rates because of it.
5
May 14, 2020

spen1024

Secura is sold!

Happy with Secura! Really good service, comprehensive policy, fair pricing. I will not be shopping for a new provider anytime soon.
2
January 30, 2020

Insuranceratessuck

Discouraged claim with threat of incr rate after small claim

Deer ran into car with about $600.00 damage and after they asked if I was ok they wanted to know if I really wanted to file this CLAIM as I would face insurance rate increase. This was only second claim on insurance in probably 17 years. The first was also for deer damage. This is what I have insurance for. I will definitely shop other insurance coverage.No point in being loyal.
5
December 11, 2019

rhnea

Good insurance company

Easy to work with and has great rates. We have two cars and a house bundled and everything is taken care of. Filing a claim is easy and convenient to do.
1
October 30, 2019

heatherb2646

If dealing with Secura on a claim, get advice from an atty

If you have to deal with someone with Secura Insurance get an attorney before filing a claim or dealing with their adjusters or claim representatives. They are very aggressive in their tactics when you are the most vulnerable after an accident. If you find you have to deal with them, make your first call be to an attorney and get advice. Then follow it. They will take advantage of you.
3.5
August 22, 2019

Laura Gedzius

Secura review

Rebecca Allussi B Was extreemly helpful on getting all my medical records together and helping me to understand the whole process even though I was not the actual person with Secura insurance. She made me feel a sense of trust and comfort that the right thing would be done on my behalf as if I was working with a family member instead of a stranger I was completely comfortable with her judgement. And would think of her and her company Secura as Fr...
Rebecca Allussi B Was extreemly helpful on getting all my medical records together and helping me to understand the whole process even though I was not the actual person with Secura insurance. She made me feel a sense of trust and comfort that the right thing would be done on my behalf as if I was working with a family member instead of a stranger I was completely comfortable with her judgement. And would think of her and her company Secura as Friends.
5
January 18, 2019

ha110ween

Great company with good service

I have home, auto, business, and other policies through Secura. In the past year, unfortunately, I have had to make several claims. Every one of them was handled professionally, fairly, and quickly.
5
November 30, 2018

Merc

Very Professional

My car is totaled and Secura contacted me all the time to initiate the claims process and update me all along the way. I spoke with many people - adjuster, claims, total loss - but there was excellent coordination between all the departments. Happy that I chose this company.
5
November 27, 2018

securewithsecura

Exceptional service. A 12 on a scale of 1 to 10.

I was very upset about an accident I had but Secura took the sting away with their quality customer service. They were prompt, considerate and very helpful. They were on top of every aspect of my claim. Once I made the initial call to report the accident they took care of everything else, which was a relief for me because it was hard for me to face even making the call! I was amazed at how thorough and efficient they were. I received calls from ...
I was very upset about an accident I had but Secura took the sting away with their quality customer service. They were prompt, considerate and very helpful. They were on top of every aspect of my claim. Once I made the initial call to report the accident they took care of everything else, which was a relief for me because it was hard for me to face even making the call! I was amazed at how thorough and efficient they were. I received calls from [REDACTED NAME] and [REDACTED NAME] the same day I reported the accident and they gave me all of the information that I needed as well as explaining the process and what to expect. My policy included a rental car and I was given the information of the company to contact but within 10 minutes, the rental company called me and they already had all of the information. Secura couldn't have made the whole process any easier. On the scale of 1 to 10 I would rate their customer service a 12. I was very impressed. I hope I don't have to file a claim again but if I do, I know I will be well taken care of.
↑ Back to Top

Write a Review

Policy Type?

Please select a `Policy Type!`
(Min. 100 Characters)

Company Overall Rating

When you submit this review, you will be asked to sign in/up for to your https://www.autoinsurance.org account. If your account is not currently verified, we will send a verification email to the email on file for your account. Please select the verification button in that email. If you do not see the email in your inbox, please check your spam or junk folder. Your review cannot be reviewed and accepted until you complete this verification step.

Compare Quotes from Top Companies and Save

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption