Mercer Auto Insurance Review (2022)

Mercer auto insurance was founded in 1844. It was acquired by United Fire Group in 2010. Affordable Merce auto insurance is only available in five states: Massachusetts, New Jersey, New York, Ohio, and Pennsylvania. Mercer's financial rating is A from AM Best. You can save money by comparing your Mercer auto insurance quotes against top auto insurance companies. Enter your ZIP code below to get started.

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Rachel Bodine graduated from college with a BA in English. She has since worked as a Feature Writer in the insurance industry and gained a deep knowledge of state and countrywide insurance laws and rates. Her research and writing focus on helping readers understand their insurance coverage and how to find savings. Her expert advice on insurance has been featured on sites like PhotoEnforced, All...

Full Bio →

Written by Rachel Bodine
Feature Writer Rachel Bodine

Dan Walker graduated with a BS in Administrative Management in 2005 and has been working in his family’s insurance agency, FCI Agency, for 15 years (BBB A+). He is licensed as an agent to write property and casualty insurance, including home, auto, umbrella, and dwelling fire insurance. He’s also been featured on sites like Reviews.com and Safeco. He reviews content, ensuring that ex...

Full Bio →

Reviewed by Daniel Walker
Licensed Auto Insurance Agent Daniel Walker

UPDATED: Sep 26, 2022

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident auto insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one auto insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider. Our partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

UPDATED: Sep 26, 2022

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident auto insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one auto insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider. Our partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

Written By: Rachel BodineReviewed By: Daniel WalkerUPDATED: Sep 26, 2022Fact Checked
Quick Read
3.7
autoinsurance.org

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Mercer

Average annual rate for good drivers:

$1,200

A.M. Best rating:

A

Complaint level:

Low

Pros

  • The NAIC reports that Mercer Insurance Company had zero customer complaints

Cons

  • Mercer doesn’t list any auto insurance rates on their website or United Fire & Casualty’s website

The Bottom Line

Mercer auto insurance is through UFG Insurance, so any policy you receive will be through the UFG. You won’t be able to get a quote online, but you can find a UFG Insurance agent. Once you get in touch with an agent, you can pursue an auto insurance quote.

Mercer doesn’t list any auto insurance rates on their website or United Fire & Casualty’s website. However, United Fire & Casualty Group does have a place where you can enter your ZIP code to generate a quote.

We don’t know if Mercer Insurance Company or UFG Insurance carries accident forgiveness or usage-based insurance, but they do offer Identity Management.

Identity Management is an identity monitoring service that alerts you when someone is using your identity.

The UFG website details its identity monitoring process. Identity monitoring service has become more prevalent recently due to data breaches at different companies. It may a good idea to look into this option, as it can save you money on your Mercer auto insurance quote.

Mercury Insurance Group Rates

The following table displays coverage rates for Mercer Insurance Company in each of the five states where it operates.

Average Auto Insurance Rates in States Served by Mercer Auto Insurance
StatesAverage Annual RatesAverage Monthly Rates
Massachusetts$2,679$223
Ohio$2,710$226
Pennsylvania$4,035$336
New York$4,290$357
New Jersey$5,515$460
Get Your Rates Quote Now

Each average annual rate is a composite of auto insurance rates from companies in each state. The most expensive state for coverage is New Jersey and the cheapest is Massachusetts.

Free Auto Insurance Comparison

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Mercury Insurance Group Coverage Options

All states have a set of minimum requirements for auto insurance. Here is a table that lays out some of the different requirements necessitated by different states.

Auto Insurance Minimum Requirements in States Served by Mercer Auto Insurance
StatesMinimum RequirementsCoverage Rule
MassachusettsBI & PD Liab, PIP20/40/5
New JerseyBI & PD Liab, PIP, UM, UIM15/30/5
New YorkBI & PD Liab, PIP, UM, UIM25/50/10
OhioBI & PD Liab25/50/25
PennsylvaniaBI & PD Liab, PIP15/30/5
Get Your Rates Quote Now

The coverage rule represents your coverage limits. For example, a 50/100/50 coverage rule means $50,000 for one person per accident, $100,000 for multiple people per accident, and $50,000 for property damage per accident. BI and PD Liab are abbreviated for bodily injury and property damage liability, the two factors that makeup liability coverage.

Frequently Asked Questions

1. What is Mercer Insurance Associates?

Mercer Insurance Associates is an insurance company that offers insurance in West Virginia and Virginia. It has no affiliate with UFG Insurance.

2. What are Mercer voluntary benefits?

Mercer voluntary benefits don’t involve auto insurance. It’s a program where employers help their employees with student loans, a health plan, and other options to help them fill gaps in insurance.

3. Which auto insurance company has the highest customer satisfaction?

According to reports across the web, The Auto Club Group, CSAA Insurance Group, and USAA have the highest customer satisfaction reviews.

4. Who are the top 5 auto insurance companies?

The top five auto insurance companies are determined by market share. Currently, the top five auto insurance companies by auto insurance market share are State Farm, Geico, Progressive, Allstate, and USAA.

5. What are the worst insurance companies?

The worst auto insurance companies are determined by the customers, as each experience is different for every customer.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

Rachel Bodine graduated from college with a BA in English. She has since worked as a Feature Writer in the insurance industry and gained a deep knowledge of state and countrywide insurance laws and rates. Her research and writing focus on helping readers understand their insurance coverage and how to find savings. Her expert advice on insurance has been featured on sites like PhotoEnforced, All...

Full Bio →

Written by Rachel Bodine
Feature Writer Rachel Bodine

Dan Walker graduated with a BS in Administrative Management in 2005 and has been working in his family’s insurance agency, FCI Agency, for 15 years (BBB A+). He is licensed as an agent to write property and casualty insurance, including home, auto, umbrella, and dwelling fire insurance. He’s also been featured on sites like Reviews.com and Safeco. He reviews content, ensuring that ex...

Full Bio →

Reviewed by Daniel Walker
Licensed Auto Insurance Agent Daniel Walker

Reviews
for Mercury Insurance Group

3.73 (666 reviews)
1
November 27, 2021

steeeeve

Worst Insurance Co.

This company does not pay claims. Worst insurance company ever! Horrible customer service and claims department is a joke. I do not even understand how they are allowed to operate in the USA. I made a claim and they dismissed it before even seeing the details of the accident. Dismissing claims and not paying claims is Mercury's protocol. Paying them premiums is a waste of money because they automatically dismiss most claims and do not pay. ...
This company does not pay claims. Worst insurance company ever! Horrible customer service and claims department is a joke. I do not even understand how they are allowed to operate in the USA. I made a claim and they dismissed it before even seeing the details of the accident. Dismissing claims and not paying claims is Mercury's protocol. Paying them premiums is a waste of money because they automatically dismiss most claims and do not pay.
3
January 11, 2021

Shaya

My Review

Overall it is a good insurance company however, i do wish they would offer benefits due to the pandemic.
3
December 31, 2020

JuneT

Mercury Insurance High Premiums

I pay the premium and have made no claims. I think the rates are too high but feel comparing insurance won't yeild a different result.
4
November 20, 2020

shorty22

great service

This company is always thorough and on top of everything when it comes to actually needing them. They are very detailed in their bills. They don't hide fees. They explain everything and are by your side thru any claims.
5
October 17, 2020

Evan507

Great customer service.

Mercury has great customer service and comparable rates. They handled my claim quickly and didn't raise my rates for a small accident. Their service was quicker than expected and the representatives are all friendly and courteous. The website and app are very useful and easy to use. I highly recommend them.
3
October 8, 2020

lordaz

Mercury Review

Mercury has been great at walking me through the process of reporting an accident but they should be more diligent about continuously contacting the other insurance company to get their information.
5
October 8, 2020

danimurillo

Great service

Our vehicle was hit/damaged in the middle of the night. Called Mercury and opened a claim quickly. It was quick and easy!
4
October 5, 2020

asanchez7876

No Problems so Far.

I haven't had any good or bad experiences with them as I have not had to file any claims. So far their prices have been pretty comparable or a little cheaper than other companies.
3
October 2, 2020

chiver

Good service but high price

This is a good company that process claims without any issue. However, they increase my insurance every year and I find much cheaper insurances from other company.
1
September 8, 2020

alberto17

time

I am not satisfied with the service, it is very difficult to pay for the high costs and it is impossible to communicate with them, they do not attend to the claims on time
↑ Back to Top

Write a Review and Rate

Please tell us about your policy type

Policy Type ?

Please select a `Policy Type!`

How did you buy this policy?

Please select `How you bought this policy!`

How long ago did you buy this policy?

Please select `How long ago you bought this policy!`

Do you currently have a policy with this company?

Please select `If you currently have a policy with this company?`

How long ago did you buy this policy?

Share your experience with this company

(Min. 100 Characters)
(Max. 60 Characters)

Rate your experience with

Buying Process

Renewal Process

Customer Service*

Policy Price*

Did you submit a claim?

Claim ServiceIf applicable

How long ago did you buy this policy?


Company*Overall Rating

Likelihood to recommend to family or friend*

A few more questions

What does this insurance company do well?

What can this insurance company do better?

Which best describes your household? (select all that apply)

When you submit this review, you will be asked to sign in/up for to your https://www.autoinsurance.org account. If your account is not currently verified, we will send a verification email to the email on file for your account. Please select the verification button in that email. If you do not see the email in your inbox, please check your spam or junk folder. Your review cannot be reviewed and accepted until you complete this verification step.

Compare Quotes from Top Companies and Save

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption