Farmers Signal Review (2024)

The Farmers Signal app tracks policyholders' driving habits, such as distracted driving, speeding, and late-night driving. Drivers earn a 5% discount for signing up. Then, as drivers follow safe-driving practices, they can save up to 30% on their policies at renewal.

UPDATED: May 10, 2024Fact Checked

Ty Stewart

Licensed Insurance Agent

Ty Stewart is the founder and CEO of SimpleLifeInsure.com. He started researching and studying about insurance when he got his first policy for his own family. He has been featured as an insurance expert speaker at agent conventions and in top publications.  As an independent licensed insurance agent, he has helped clients nationwide to secure affordable coverage while making the process simpl...

Licensed Insurance Agent

Scott W. Johnson

Licensed Insurance Agent

Scott W Johnson is an independent insurance agent in California. Principal Broker and founder of Marindependent Insurance Services, Scott brings over 25 years of experience to his clients. His Five President’s Council awards prove he uses all he learned at Avocet, Sprint Nextel, and Farmers Insurance to the benefit of his clients. Scott quickly grasped the unique insurance requirements of his...

Licensed Insurance Agent

UPDATED: May 10, 2024

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident auto insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one auto insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider. Our partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

UPDATED: May 10, 2024

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident auto insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one auto insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider. Our partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

UPDATED: May 10, 2024Fact Checked
4.0
autoinsurance.org

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Farmers Signal

Average monthly rate for good drivers:

$233

A.M. Best rating:

A

Complaint level:

Low

Pros

  • The Farmers Insurance Signal app allows policyholders to save money and earn rewards based on their driving records.
  • Families who enroll their young drivers can save 10% on their policies.
  • The Signal by Farmers app is free to download, and drivers get a 5% discount for participating.

Cons

  • You must have an existing auto insurance policy with Farmers insurance to use the Signal app.
  • Farmers can raise your auto insurance rates if the Signal app detects risky driving.
  • Other telematics programs may offer better discounts.
Auto insurance is expensive, but Farmers gives drivers numerous ways to save. For example, Signal is a telematics program through Farmers that uses an app to monitor specific driving habits. Drivers who show safe driving behaviors earn up to a 30% discount. While drivers earn a 5% discount for signing up with the Farmers Signal app, Farmers may raise rates if the app records risky driving. Drivers confident in their safe driving skills may find significant savings with the Signal app from Farmers, but other drivers may see increased rates.

What You Should Know About Farmers Insurance Group

Many auto insurance companies offer usage-based coverage and telematics programs to encourage safe driving. However, each insurer monitors different driving habits and provides different discounts.

Farmers offer safe drivers an auto insurance discount based on their monitored driving. Drivers get a 5% initial discount for participating in the program and up to a 30% discount at renewal based on how they score with Farmers Signal.

However, drivers who show risky driving behaviors, such as speeding and distracted driving, may see their rates increase at renewal.

Farmers Signal Discount

Auto insurance is expensive, but Farmers gives drivers numerous ways to save. For example, Signal is a telematics program through Farmers Insurance that uses an app to monitor specific driving habits. Drivers who show safe driving behaviors earn up to a 30% discount.

While drivers earn a 5% discount for signing up with the Farmers Insurance app, the company may raise rates if the app records risky driving.

Signal is OK to use for drivers who are confident in their safe driving skills. They may find significant savings with the Signal app from Farmers, but other drivers may see increased rates.

How Does Farmers Signal App Work

The Farmers Insurance driving app allows policyholders with Farmers car insurance to track their driving to save money and earn benefits. To sign up for the Signal program, customers must first speak to a Farmers agent or customer service.

Then, you’ll receive a text with a link to download Farmers Signal app. Monitoring begins as soon as you drive, and the discount gets calculated in as little as 10 trips.

Once enrolled in Signal by Farmers, you’ll immediately earn a 5% discount on your auto insurance policy. The benefits of the Signal program increase as you improve your driving or add members to your policy.

Farmers Signal app rewards families with young drivers by allowing families with individuals under 25 to save an additional 10% on their policies.

To qualify for this Farmers discount, you must do well in certain categories of safe driving that Signal monitors.

Driving habits monitored by Signal include:

  • Distracted driving
  • Time of day
  • Hard braking
  • Speeding
  • Mileage

Remember that if you exhibit risky driving behaviors, Farmers may raise your rates at renewal. Low-mileage drivers who don’t drive late at night, use their phones behind the wheel, speed, or tailgate may see a significant discount.

Advantages of Using the Signal App From Farmers Insurance

So what are the pros and cons of the Signal app? In addition to earning a safe driver discount, Farmers Insurance Signal app helps you become a safer driver. Studies show that telematics programs help drivers avoid accidents since they pay more attention to how they drive. In turn, auto insurance rates stay low.

Drivers who score 80% or higher also get entered into drawings for additional rewards like gift cards, an extra incentive for drivers to engage in safe driving behaviors.

Signal also offers CrashAssist as part of the app. Farmers CrashAssist uses the Signal app to detect when an accident occurs. Then, you can use the app to contact emergency services, start a claim, and share your location with contacts. In addition, you can order a tow truck.

Disadvantages of using Signal app from Farmers include personal data tracking and the possibility of a rate increase for risky driving.

Free Auto Insurance Comparison

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Farmers Insurance Group Insurance Rates Breakdown

Farmers Auto Insurance Rates

Farmers may be right for you if you’re searching for affordable car insurance since it’s one of the top insurance companies in the U.S. In addition, Farmers Insurance Signal app reviews are typically positive. However, coverage isn’t available in every state.

To learn more about the company, read our Farmers Insurance Review.

The table below shows the company’s competitive car insurance rates by state.

Farmers Auto Insurance Rates by State
StateAverage Premiums by StateAverage Annual Premiums (Farmers)Change from State Average (+/-)Percentage Change (+/-)
Alabama$3,566.96$4,185.80$618.8417.35%
Arkansas$4,124.98$4,257.87$132.893.22%
Arizona$3,770.97$5,000.08$1,229.1132.59%
California$3,688.93$4,998.78$1,309.8535.51%
Colorado$3,876.39$5,290.24$1,413.8536.47%
Hawaii$2,555.64$4,763.82$2,208.1886.40%
Iowa$2,981.28$2,435.72($545.56)-18.30%
Idaho$2,979.09$3,168.28$189.196.35%
Illinois$3,305.48$4,605.20$1,299.7239.32%
Indiana$3,414.97$3,437.55$22.580.66%
Kansas$3,279.62$3,703.77$424.1512.93%
Maine$2,953.28$2,770.15($183.13)-6.20%
Michigan$10,498.64$8,503.60($1,995.04)-19.00%
Minnesota$4,403.25$3,137.45($1,265.80)-28.75%
Missouri$3,328.93$4,312.19$983.2629.54%
Montana$3,220.84$3,907.55$686.7121.32%
North Dakota$4,165.84$3,092.49($1,073.35)-25.77%
Nebraska$3,283.68$3,997.29$713.6121.73%
New Jersey$5,515.21$7,617.00$2,101.7938.11%
New Mexico$3,463.64$4,315.53$851.8924.60%
Nevada$4,861.70$5,595.56$733.8615.09%
Ohio$2,709.71$3,423.01$713.3026.32%
Oklahoma$4,142.33$4,142.40$0.080.00%
Oregon$3,467.77$3,753.52$285.758.24%
South Carolina$3,781.14$4,691.85$910.7124.09%
South Dakota$3,982.27$3,768.80($213.47)-5.36%
Tennessee$3,660.89$3,430.07($230.82)-6.30%
Utah$3,611.89$3,907.99$296.108.20%
Washington$3,059.32$2,962.00($97.32)-3.18%
Wisconsin$3,606.06$3,777.49$171.434.75%
Wyoming$3,200.08$3,069.35($130.73)-4.09%

In addition, Farmers policies and prices are competitive in the auto insurance market. Farmers auto insurance discounts help lower rates.

While Farmers has higher than average rates, it has few complaints and positive financial strength ratings from companies like A.M. Best.

Farmers Financial Strength Ratings
Ratings AgencyRating
A.M. BestA-
Better Business BureauA+
Moody'sA2
S&PA
NAIC Complaint Index0.79
JD PowerClaims Satisfaction 4/5
Shopping Study 3/5
Consumer Reports89

If you choose Farmers car insurance company, you can rest assured that the company will take care of your needs.

Farmers Insurance Group Discounts Available

How to Qualify for the Farmers Signal App Discount

To participate in the Farmers Signal program, you must have Farmers insurance and contact customer service or your agent.

You must also agree to download the app and allow tracking. Remember, the app continuously runs in the background. It records personal data, uses your cellphone data plan to transmit, and uses your battery.

Frequently Asked Questions

How does Farmers Signal work?

The Signal driving app monitors specific driving behaviors and offers a discount at renewal. However, risky driving can lead to higher rates.

Remember, the app runs continuously in the background on your phone. It records your location, uses cellphone data, and can drain your battery.

What is the initial discount for Farmers Signal?

Drivers receive a 5% discount when they sign up and up to a 30% Farmers Signal discount at renewal. Policyholders with young drivers can also receive a 10% discount if they participate.

Keep in mind that you get a higher discount if all drivers on your policy participate.

What does the Farmers Signal app do?

In order to progress with Signal by Farmers, you will need to allow the app to track your driving. The app runs in the background and monitors driving behaviors.

The Farmers Signal app tracks activities such as:

  • Focused Driving
  • Hard Brakes
  • Excessive Speed
  • Time of Day
  • Total Mileage

By monitoring drivers as they go throughout their days, the Farmers Signal app can note positive driving behaviors and those that need to change to keep the roads safe.

How to download Farmers Signal?

You must speak with Farmers customer service or our agent to enroll in the Signal program. Then, you’re sent a link to download the app from the Apple Store or Google Play Store. The app begins to monitor driving immediately, and you begin receiving an estimated discount after 10 drives.

How do I install Farmers Signal?

To install the Signal app by Farmers in the app store, follow these steps:

  1. Visit your app store (Google Play Store or Apple App Store).
  2. Search for “Farmers Signal” and select the app.
  3. Click on the “Install” button to download and install the app on your smartphone.

Can anyone use Farmers Signal?

Farmers Signal is available for use by Farmers Insurance policyholders in participating states. However, availability may vary, so it’s recommended to check with Farmers Insurance or visit their website for the most up-to-date information.

Is there a cost associated with using Farmers Signal?

No, using Farmers Signal is free of charge. It is an additional service provided by Farmers Insurance to their policyholders.

What are Farmers Signal pros and cons?

By using Farmers Signal, you can benefit from:

  • Personalized feedback and tips to improve your driving skills.
  • Potential discounts on your auto insurance premiums based on your driving performance.
  • Insights into your driving behavior and habits, allowing you to become a safer driver.

The only downside is that you must agree for the app to track your personal data. Be aware that there may be potential rate increases associated with risky driving.

Can Farmers Insurance track my location at all times?

Farmers Signal tracks your location while the app is active and running in the background, primarily to monitor your driving behavior. Farmers Insurance will handle your data responsibly and in accordance with their privacy policy.

What happens to the data collected by Farmers Signal?

The data collected by Farmers Signal is used to generate your driving score, provide feedback, and determine eligibility for potential discounts. Farmers Insurance will handle your data securely and in compliance with applicable privacy laws and regulations.

How do I activate my Farmers Signal app?

If you haven’t already installed the Farmers driving app, download it from the Google Play Store or the Apple App Store. Once downloaded, open the app and follow the installation instructions.

What is Signal discount?

So, what is Farmers Signal discount? Farmers Signal is a safe driver discount which monitors driving behavior and encourages drivers to practice safe driving.

What does Farmers Signal app track?

The Farmers Signal app tracks a variety of driving behaviors to assess your driving safety and calculate potential insurance discounts, including:

  • Distracted Driving
  • Braking and Acceleration
  • Speed
  • Mileage
  • Time of Day

How does Signal work technically?

The Farmers safe driving app works by using telematics technology.

Is Signal app legit?

Yes, Signal is a 100% safe tool offered by Farmers Insurance.

Is Signal app still working?

Yes, the Farmers Signal app continues to offer features like monitoring driving behaviors—including speed, braking, and phone use.

Why is the Signal app not working?

Farmers Signal App may not be working due to some common issues such as: weak or intermittent connectivity, app permissions, lack of GPS, app bugs, etc.

Do you pay for Signal?

The Signal app is free to download and use for those who are eligible under a qualifying Farmers auto insurance policy.

Does Farmers have an app?

Farmers Insurance offers two different apps:

  • Farmers Mobile App
  • Farmers Signal App

Is Farmers Insurance good?

Farmers Signal app reviews are generally positive. However, the company has mixed reviews for customer service, claims handling, and pricing.

Can I download the Signal app on Android?

The Farmers Signal app for Android is available on the Google Play Store.

Free Auto Insurance Comparison

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Ty Stewart

Licensed Insurance Agent

Ty Stewart is the founder and CEO of SimpleLifeInsure.com. He started researching and studying about insurance when he got his first policy for his own family. He has been featured as an insurance expert speaker at agent conventions and in top publications.  As an independent licensed insurance agent, he has helped clients nationwide to secure affordable coverage while making the process simpl...

Licensed Insurance Agent

Scott W. Johnson

Licensed Insurance Agent

Scott W Johnson is an independent insurance agent in California. Principal Broker and founder of Marindependent Insurance Services, Scott brings over 25 years of experience to his clients. His Five President’s Council awards prove he uses all he learned at Avocet, Sprint Nextel, and Farmers Insurance to the benefit of his clients. Scott quickly grasped the unique insurance requirements of his...

Licensed Insurance Agent

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

Reviews
for Farmers Insurance Group

3.99 (2,902 reviews)
1
February 15, 2024

Traci26

Unhappy after buy out

They took over/bought out Met Life which had my policy prior, I'd signed up for the Met Life policy because of the discount offered because of my work. I was happy with Met Life and since it switched to Farmers it's been a pain to deal with them, especially on the billing side of things. The thing that made me switch is that when I tried to make a payment the website (which was always horrible and difficult to navigate) was working so I couldn't ...
They took over/bought out Met Life which had my policy prior, I'd signed up for the Met Life policy because of the discount offered because of my work. I was happy with Met Life and since it switched to Farmers it's been a pain to deal with them, especially on the billing side of things. The thing that made me switch is that when I tried to make a payment the website (which was always horrible and difficult to navigate) was working so I couldn't make a payment. I planned to check it the next day and make a payment but I got busy and it slipped my mind, they sent a policy cancellation notice, but I didn't get it in the mail until after the cancellation date. When I called customer service the person was rude and unhelpful so I decided to use it as an excuse to change.
5
June 28, 2023

Buckeye_in_FL

2 Claims/2 Repairs & no hassles

We've had auto insurance with FIG for nearly 2 years and have had 2 claims during that period, one on each of our vehicles. Our daughter was using the SUV to attend graduate school in another state when another student clipped the left rear cover and quarter. Her insurance company failed to deal directly with our daughter and consequently, we were inundated with calls and mailings. We reported the claim to FIG and they contacted our daughter, set...
We've had auto insurance with FIG for nearly 2 years and have had 2 claims during that period, one on each of our vehicles. Our daughter was using the SUV to attend graduate school in another state when another student clipped the left rear cover and quarter. Her insurance company failed to deal directly with our daughter and consequently, we were inundated with calls and mailings. We reported the claim to FIG and they contacted our daughter, set up a DRP & rental for her. They took care of everything including subrogation. They did the same for our second vehicle when a truck shredded a tire in front of us, damaging the front cover. Dropped at the DRP and 3 days later we had it back, good as new. Thank you Farmers & The Harrod Agency for taking care of us.
1
May 19, 2021

Mickey_L

Farmers agent poor customer service

Despite my belief that I had a “local guy” I found that Farmers insurance agents have little interest in responding to current customers. I presume they are busy on sales calls. Despite the fact that I was a Farmers customer for 30+ years, I was unable to get my agent to return my calls on MULTIPLE occasions. When I ultimately gave up and cancelled my policy, it took three different forms of communication to get that done and only AFTER Farme...
Despite my belief that I had a “local guy” I found that Farmers insurance agents have little interest in responding to current customers. I presume they are busy on sales calls. Despite the fact that I was a Farmers customer for 30+ years, I was unable to get my agent to return my calls on MULTIPLE occasions. When I ultimately gave up and cancelled my policy, it took three different forms of communication to get that done and only AFTER Farmers advised they would be auto-charging my credit card for a policy cancelled 6 weeks prior. Stay away. You’re not getting anything ‘extra’ from having a local agent. You’re only being charged more.
4
January 16, 2021

slou117

Decent insurance coverage

They covered damage repairs to my car fairly easily although my rates increased significantly. Also, there were some issue with the rep handling my case not being responsive, but the issue was escalated and the person who stepped in was very helpful.
4
January 12, 2021

Mamasanders

Farmers Insurance - Consistently Reliable

I have had a very positive experience with Farmers for both my home and auto insurance. I can always reach my agent, and when I had a concern about an auto claim, I dialed an 800 number and they were incredibly nice and helpful.
4
January 8, 2021

emmahenry

Best Insurance company ever

I like this insurance company. I gathered a good experience from this company. Thanks for being with us.
1
January 5, 2021

treppers

Worst insurance company i've ever dealt with in my life!

I was involved in a wreck that caused significant damage to the side and front of my vehicle. I was not at fault, I was hit on the side traveling on the freeway. I was going straight and not making any changes in my direction. The other driver lost control and smacked into me, causing me to completely spin 4 times. There was damage caused to the front of the vehicle by road debri. When trying to get the front of the vehicle fixed, the adjuster ca...
I was involved in a wreck that caused significant damage to the side and front of my vehicle. I was not at fault, I was hit on the side traveling on the freeway. I was going straight and not making any changes in my direction. The other driver lost control and smacked into me, causing me to completely spin 4 times. There was damage caused to the front of the vehicle by road debri. When trying to get the front of the vehicle fixed, the adjuster called me a liar and said the damage was pre-existing. This is the worst company I have ever dealt with and I will never go back.
5
December 9, 2020

Tywko

Best insurance company

Great company and great people are working there. I think no one can beat their service and price now.
5
December 1, 2020

samw2

the best

A great company and the speed of the response of its customers is wonderful when the accident occurs. I thank them for their great work and the reliability of their wonderful service.
4
November 26, 2020

E92ghost

Farmers, all in one

The company is a well renowned company which has built its way up to where it is now the prices are a bit high but it’s worth it
↑ Back to Top

Write a Review

Policy Type?

Please select a `Policy Type!`
(Min. 100 Characters)

Company Overall Rating

When you submit this review, you will be asked to sign in/up for to your https://www.autoinsurance.org account. If your account is not currently verified, we will send a verification email to the email on file for your account. Please select the verification button in that email. If you do not see the email in your inbox, please check your spam or junk folder. Your review cannot be reviewed and accepted until you complete this verification step.

Compare Quotes from Top Companies and Save

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption