Farmers Signal Review (2022)

The Farmers Signal app allows existing Farmers car insurance policyholders to benefit from their safe driving patterns. Signal by Farmers tracks drivers to study their tendencies regarding distracted driving, excessive speed, and other key factors. As drivers follow safe-driving practices, they can save up to 15 percent on their policies. Families with young drivers can save an additional 10 percent.

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Rachel Bodine graduated from college with a BA in English. She has since worked as a Feature Writer in the insurance industry and gained a deep knowledge of state and countrywide insurance laws and rates. Her research and writing focus on helping readers understand their insurance coverage and how to find savings. Her expert advice on insurance has been featured on sites like PhotoEnforced, All...

Full Bio →

Written by Rachel Bodine
Feature Writer Rachel Bodine

Dan Walker graduated with a BS in Administrative Management in 2005 and has been working in his family’s insurance agency, FCI Agency, for 15 years (BBB A+). He is licensed as an agent to write property and casualty insurance, including home, auto, umbrella, and dwelling fire insurance. He’s also been featured on sites like Reviews.com and Safeco. He reviews content, ensuring that ex...

Full Bio →

Reviewed by Daniel Walker
Licensed Auto Insurance Agent Daniel Walker

UPDATED: Sep 30, 2022

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident auto insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one auto insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider. Our partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

UPDATED: Sep 30, 2022

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident auto insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one auto insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider. Our partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

Written By: Rachel BodineReviewed By: Daniel WalkerUPDATED: Sep 30, 2022Fact Checked
Quick Read
4.0
autoinsurance.org

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Farmers Signal

Average annual rate for good drivers:

$2,800

A.M. Best rating:

A

Complaint level:

Low

Pros

  • The Farmers Signal app allows policyholders to save money and earn rewards based on their driving records.
  • Families who enroll their young drivers can save an additional 10 percent on their policies.

Cons

  • You must have an existing auto insurance policy with Farmers insurance to use the Signal app.

The Bottom Line

You should only download the Signal by Farmers app if you intend to utilize the program. Even so, you must first speak with a Farmers agent to ensure you set up the app correctly and are rewarded for doing so.

If you believe you are a safe driver and you are open to allowing the Farmers Signal app to track your driving throughout the day, then it may be worth it to join Signal by Farmers and work toward saving money on your family’s car insurance policy.

Signal by Farmers is an app that allows Farmers insurance customers to benefit from driving safely. The Farmers Signal app gives policyholders the opportunity to save up to 15 percent on their policies for driving safely.

The Farmers Signal app allows policyholders with Farmers car insurance to track their driving in order to save money and earn benefits. To sign up for the Signal program, customers must first speak to a Farmers agent.

Once you are enrolled in Signal by Farmers, you will immediately earn a five percent discount on your auto insurance policy. The benefits of the Signal program increase as you improve your driving or add members to your policy.

Farmers Insurance Group Rates

If you are searching for affordable car insurance, Farmers may be right for you. The table below shows their competitive car insurance rates by state.

StateAverage Premiums by StateAverage Annual Premiums (Farmers)Change from State Average (+/-)Percentage Change (+/-)
Alabama$3,566.96$4,185.80$618.8417.35%
Arkansas$4,124.98$4,257.87$132.893.22%
Arizona$3,770.97$5,000.08$1,229.1132.59%
California$3,688.93$4,998.78$1,309.8535.51%
Colorado$3,876.39$5,290.24$1,413.8536.47%
Hawaii$2,555.64$4,763.82$2,208.1886.40%
Iowa$2,981.28$2,435.72($545.56)-18.30%
Idaho$2,979.09$3,168.28$189.196.35%
Illinois$3,305.48$4,605.20$1,299.7239.32%
Indiana$3,414.97$3,437.55$22.580.66%
Kansas$3,279.62$3,703.77$424.1512.93%
Maine$2,953.28$2,770.15($183.13)-6.20%
Michigan$10,498.64$8,503.60($1,995.04)-19.00%
Minnesota$4,403.25$3,137.45($1,265.80)-28.75%
Missouri$3,328.93$4,312.19$983.2629.54%
Montana$3,220.84$3,907.55$686.7121.32%
North Dakota$4,165.84$3,092.49($1,073.35)-25.77%
Nebraska$3,283.68$3,997.29$713.6121.73%
New Jersey$5,515.21$7,617.00$2,101.7938.11%
New Mexico$3,463.64$4,315.53$851.8924.60%
Nevada$4,861.70$5,595.56$733.8615.09%
Ohio$2,709.71$3,423.01$713.3026.32%
Oklahoma$4,142.33$4,142.40$0.080.00%
Oregon$3,467.77$3,753.52$285.758.24%
South Carolina$3,781.14$4,691.85$910.7124.09%
South Dakota$3,982.27$3,768.80($213.47)-5.36%
Tennessee$3,660.89$3,430.07($230.82)-6.30%
Utah$3,611.89$3,907.99$296.108.20%
Washington$3,059.32$2,962.00($97.32)-3.18%
Wisconsin$3,606.06$3,777.49$171.434.75%
Wyoming$3,200.08$3,069.35($130.73)-4.09%
Get Your Rates Quote Now

In addition, Famers policies and prices are competitive in the auto insurance market.

Free Auto Insurance Comparison

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

Rachel Bodine graduated from college with a BA in English. She has since worked as a Feature Writer in the insurance industry and gained a deep knowledge of state and countrywide insurance laws and rates. Her research and writing focus on helping readers understand their insurance coverage and how to find savings. Her expert advice on insurance has been featured on sites like PhotoEnforced, All...

Full Bio →

Written by Rachel Bodine
Feature Writer Rachel Bodine

Dan Walker graduated with a BS in Administrative Management in 2005 and has been working in his family’s insurance agency, FCI Agency, for 15 years (BBB A+). He is licensed as an agent to write property and casualty insurance, including home, auto, umbrella, and dwelling fire insurance. He’s also been featured on sites like Reviews.com and Safeco. He reviews content, ensuring that ex...

Full Bio →

Reviewed by Daniel Walker
Licensed Auto Insurance Agent Daniel Walker

Reviews
for Farmers Insurance Group

3.99 (2,899 reviews)
1
May 19, 2021

Mickey_L

Farmers agent poor customer service

Despite my belief that I had a “local guy” I found that Farmers insurance agents have little interest in responding to current customers. I presume they are busy on sales calls. Despite the fact that I was a Farmers customer for 30+ years, I was unable to get my agent to return my calls on MULTIPLE occasions. When I ultimately gave up and cancelled my policy, it took three different forms of communication to get that done and only AFTER Farme...
Despite my belief that I had a “local guy” I found that Farmers insurance agents have little interest in responding to current customers. I presume they are busy on sales calls. Despite the fact that I was a Farmers customer for 30+ years, I was unable to get my agent to return my calls on MULTIPLE occasions. When I ultimately gave up and cancelled my policy, it took three different forms of communication to get that done and only AFTER Farmers advised they would be auto-charging my credit card for a policy cancelled 6 weeks prior. Stay away. You’re not getting anything ‘extra’ from having a local agent. You’re only being charged more.
4
January 16, 2021

slou117

Decent insurance coverage

They covered damage repairs to my car fairly easily although my rates increased significantly. Also, there were some issue with the rep handling my case not being responsive, but the issue was escalated and the person who stepped in was very helpful.
4
January 12, 2021

Mamasanders

Farmers Insurance - Consistently Reliable

I have had a very positive experience with Farmers for both my home and auto insurance. I can always reach my agent, and when I had a concern about an auto claim, I dialed an 800 number and they were incredibly nice and helpful.
4
January 8, 2021

emmahenry

Best Insurance company ever

I like this insurance company. I gathered a good experience from this company. Thanks for being with us.
1
January 5, 2021

treppers

Worst insurance company i've ever dealt with in my life!

I was involved in a wreck that caused significant damage to the side and front of my vehicle. I was not at fault, I was hit on the side traveling on the freeway. I was going straight and not making any changes in my direction. The other driver lost control and smacked into me, causing me to completely spin 4 times. There was damage caused to the front of the vehicle by road debri. When trying to get the front of the vehicle fixed, the adjuster ca...
I was involved in a wreck that caused significant damage to the side and front of my vehicle. I was not at fault, I was hit on the side traveling on the freeway. I was going straight and not making any changes in my direction. The other driver lost control and smacked into me, causing me to completely spin 4 times. There was damage caused to the front of the vehicle by road debri. When trying to get the front of the vehicle fixed, the adjuster called me a liar and said the damage was pre-existing. This is the worst company I have ever dealt with and I will never go back.
5
December 9, 2020

Tywko

Best insurance company

Great company and great people are working there. I think no one can beat their service and price now.
5
December 1, 2020

samw2

the best

A great company and the speed of the response of its customers is wonderful when the accident occurs. I thank them for their great work and the reliability of their wonderful service.
4
November 26, 2020

E92ghost

Farmers, all in one

The company is a well renowned company which has built its way up to where it is now the prices are a bit high but it’s worth it
5
October 23, 2020

kdc2285

Farmers

Great experience so far. They have been very helpful and called me recently for 30 minutes to talk about my policy.
4
October 20, 2020

briiiii

We are farmers

Very great company to work with. Awesome deals and are always looking out for you and your best interest.
↑ Back to Top

Write a Review and Rate

Please tell us about your policy type

Policy Type ?

Please select a `Policy Type!`

How did you buy this policy?

Please select `How you bought this policy!`

How long ago did you buy this policy?

Please select `How long ago you bought this policy!`

Do you currently have a policy with this company?

Please select `If you currently have a policy with this company?`

How long ago did you buy this policy?

Share your experience with this company

(Min. 100 Characters)
(Max. 60 Characters)

Rate your experience with

Buying Process

Renewal Process

Customer Service*

Policy Price*

Did you submit a claim?

Claim ServiceIf applicable

How long ago did you buy this policy?


Company*Overall Rating

Likelihood to recommend to family or friend*

A few more questions

What does this insurance company do well?

What can this insurance company do better?

Which best describes your household? (select all that apply)

When you submit this review, you will be asked to sign in/up for to your https://www.autoinsurance.org account. If your account is not currently verified, we will send a verification email to the email on file for your account. Please select the verification button in that email. If you do not see the email in your inbox, please check your spam or junk folder. Your review cannot be reviewed and accepted until you complete this verification step.

Compare Quotes from Top Companies and Save

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption