American Commerce Auto Insurance Review (2022)

American Commerce auto insurance primarily offers insurance through independent agents in 18 states. The average auto insurance rates are $372.66/mo. They are a part of larger insurance company MAPFRE Insurance.

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Rachel Bodine graduated from college with a BA in English. She has since worked as a Feature Writer in the insurance industry and gained a deep knowledge of state and countrywide insurance laws and rates. Her research and writing focus on helping readers understand their insurance coverage and how to find savings. Her expert advice on insurance has been featured on sites like PhotoEnforced, All...

Full Bio →

Written by Rachel Bodine
Feature Writer Rachel Bodine

Dan Walker graduated with a BS in Administrative Management in 2005 and has been working in his family’s insurance agency, FCI Agency, for 15 years (BBB A+). He is licensed as an agent to write property and casualty insurance, including home, auto, umbrella, and dwelling fire insurance. He’s also been featured on sites like Reviews.com and Safeco. He reviews content, ensuring that ex...

Full Bio →

Reviewed by Daniel Walker
Licensed Auto Insurance Agent Daniel Walker

UPDATED: Sep 28, 2022

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident auto insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one auto insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider. Our partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

UPDATED: Sep 28, 2022

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident auto insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one auto insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider. Our partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

Written By: Rachel BodineReviewed By: Daniel WalkerUPDATED: Sep 28, 2022Fact Checked
Quick Read
3.8
autoinsurance.org

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

American Commerce Insurance Company

Average annual rate for good drivers:

N/A

A.M. Best rating:

A

Complaint level:

Low

The Bottom Line

What is the Bottom Line?

MAPFRE tends to be a little more expensive than their competitors, but they have excellent rankings in most categories that have shown improvement over time.

If you feel that doing business with an independent agent is the best choice for you, it may be worth your time to consider purchasing a policy from American Commerce/MAPFRE. Ask your agent for a quote and if they know of any other products that might be a better fit for your needs.

 

It isn’t easy to find an auto insurance plan that meets your needs. You can spend hours researching various companies and still not find the best auto insurance company.

If you’re looking for auto insurance, we’re here to help. We’ve gathered American Commerce Auto Insurance Company reviews and ratings from trusted sources to create a comprehensive guide to the company’s reputation. We’ll also take a look at what kind of car insurance they offer.

American Commerce Insurance Company was founded in 1946 as an auto insurance provider in the state of Massachusetts. The company has since been acquired by Spanish insurer MAPFRE, SA, which makes its home in Madrid.

American Commerce is one of five American subsidiaries selling insurance under the MAPFRE USA brand name. They are the single largest auto insurance carrier in the state of Massachusetts, but they have policies available in 18 states and 43 different countries.

Is American Commerce Insurance Company (MAPFRE) a Good Choice?

In what states does MAPFRE write car insurance?

MAPFRE is currently available in the following states:

  • Arizona
  • California
  • Connecticut
  • Florida
  • Idaho
  • Indiana
  • Kentucky
  • Maine
  • Massachusetts
  • New Hampshire
  • New Jersey
  • Ohio
  • Oregon
  • Pennsylvania
  • Rhode Island
  • Tennessee
  • Vermont
  • Washington

Despite their international status, MAPFRE is a smaller insurance company than many people are used to thinking about. When most people think about auto insurance, big names like Geico and State Farm are what typically come to mind. That doesn’t mean there are no benefits to using a smaller insurance company, however.

MAPFRE is a global insurance organization with operations in 43 countries and millions of clients. The company has earned numerous awards including one of Business Week’s “40 World’s Best Companies” for 2009.

They were also ranked as one of the best performing insurance companies for 2009 and 2000 by Ward’s, and ranked among the top 20 insurance writers for private passenger vehicles in 2009.

Is MAPFRE a good insurance company?

There are various organizations that rate insurance companies on everything from financial stability to customer complaints, making it easier for customers to choose which insurance company is right for them.

The ratings for MAPFRE are as follows:

A.M. BestAs of 2019, A.M. Best gives MAPFRE an A rating on financial stability. Their scale goes from A++ to D, so this is a solid rating, but nowhere near the best possible rating for the company.

Better Business Bureau – The Better Business Bureau rates companies on ethics and consumer complaints by state. While the BBB gives MAPFRE an A+ rating in Massachusetts, MAPRFE insurance reviews on the BBB by consumers on the site only rate the company one star, and there are complaints about it having the worst claim service, so it may be worth your time to do some research before making a purchase.

Moody’sMoody’s rates companies based on financial aspects, from Aaa to C, with Aaa being the highest rating and C being the lowest. Most recently, Moody’s upgraded MAPFRE from A3 to A2.

Standard & Poor’s – Standard & Poor’s, otherwise known as S&P, also rates insurance companies based on their financial abilities. On a scale from AAA to D, the company gives MAPFRE an A+ rating in 2019, which is an improvement from their previous A rating.

JDPower – According to JDPower and Associates, “MAPFRE Insurance ranks highest in the shopping segment with a score of 811. Progressive (803) ranks second, and Erie Insurance (798) ranks third.”

What is the MAPFRE Auto Insurance History?

MAPFRE Insurance originated in Massachusetts as The Commerce Group, Inc., founded in the town of Webster, Massachusetts, in 1972.

MAPFRE provides a full range of insurance products, including coverage for automobiles, homes, motorcycles, watercraft, and businesses. MAPFRE Insurance is part of the MAPFRE Group, a global insurance company present on five continents.

MAPFRE employs more than 38,000 people across the globe and services approximately 34 million clients. In 2011 MAPFRE was ranked by Fortune and Forbes as among the “500 Best and Most Admired Companies in the World.”

How is MAPFRE’s online presence?

The MAPFRE website is excellent, giving you significant amounts of information in an easy-to-use format.

The only drawback to MAPFRE’s website is that you are not able to get a quote online. Because they require you to get a quote from an independent agent, you cannot use their online system to compare prices with other insurance plans.

American Commerce Insurance Company (MAPFRE) Rates

What are American Commerce Auto Insurance & MAPFRE Auto Insurance Rates?

InsurerMAPFREGEICOAllstate
Average Annual Premium$4,472$3,546$4,949
Complaints Score (lower is best)3.00.840.88
Get Your Rates Quote Now

Although MAPFRE is higher than Geico, it’s lower than Allstate which means it’s worth looking at their coverage when comparing rates if they are available in your area.

You are required to contact a MAPFRE insurance agent to get a quote for their policies.

Is MAPFRE the same as Commerce Insurance? To clarify, MAPFRE owns American Commerce, which operates as a subsidiary. So they are the parent company, and American Commerce sells insurance in that name. MAPFRE also operates under a few different names and locations, including MAPFRE Insurance of New York, MAPFRE Florida, and Citation Insurance Company.

Typically, smaller insurance companies or companies that require independent agents have higher rates than some larger insurers, but they may offer unique products or stellar customer service to make up for the difference. If these things are important to you, reach out to an independent agent in your area to find out more.

Free Auto Insurance Comparison

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

American Commerce Insurance Company (MAPFRE) Discounts Available

What discounts are offered by MAPFRE?

Some companies offer discounts for good driving records, high grades for student drivers, hybrid vehicles, and many more. MAPFRE has a number of available car insurance discounts, including:

  • AAA Member Discounts – members of this auto group are entitled to a discount through MAPFRE,
  • Multi-line discounts – If you have more than one insurance plan through MAPFRE, they will give you a discount for bundling your coverage.
  • Welcome Back credit (when prior Loyalty applies) – Former MAPFRE customer? You may be entitled to a discount.
  • Paid-in-Full discount – If you pay your bill all at once rather than month-by-month, you’ll receive a discount on your insurance.
  • Good Student discount – B average or higher? That’ll earn young drivers a discount.
  • Student away from home discount – Going to college away from home? You may be entitled to a discount for that. Check with an agent to find out American Commerce’s definition of a qualifying student.
  • Annual Mileage discount – If you drive less, you pay less.
  • Smart driver discount – Get a discount for letting MAPFRE track your driving behavior with an app or a device.
  • Multi-Car discount – Insure two or more vehicles to receive a multi-car discount.
  • Green discount – Hybrid or other environmentally friendly vehicles are entitled to the Green discount.

These are not the only discounts available, so be sure to ask your agent about other possible discounts if you choose to sign up for a plan with MAPFRE.

American Commerce Insurance Company (MAPFRE) Coverage Options

What American Commerce Auto Insurance & MAPFRE Auto Insurance Coverages Are Offered?

Does insurance pay for towing? What if you are hit by an uninsured driver? Like most companies, MAPFRE offers a variety of types of auto insurance coverage, including:

Liability – Liability insurance protects your financial well-being by paying for damages to the other person’s vehicle if you are at fault in an accident. It also covers medical bills in the event of bodily injuries someone else sustained in an at-fault accident. The table below shows average liability rates by state.

Average Annual Liability Auto Insurance Rates by State
StateAverage Annual Liability Auto Insurance
Rates
North Dakota$282.55
South Dakota$289.04
Iowa$293.34
Wyoming$323.38
Maine$333.92
Idaho$337.17
Vermont$340.98
Kansas$342.33
Nebraska$349.07
North Carolina$357.59
Wisconsin$359.84
Indiana$372.44
Alabama$372.57
Ohio$376.16
Arkansas$381.14
Montana$387.77
New Hampshire$393.24
Tennessee$397.73
Missouri$399.41
Virginia$413.12
Illinois$430.54
Mississippi$437.38
Minnesota$439.58
Oklahoma$441.57
Hawaii$458.49
New Mexico$462.21
California$462.95
Utah$471.26
Colorado$477.10
Arizona$488.59
Georgia$490.64
Pennsylvania$495.02
South Carolina$497.50
Texas$498.44
West Virginia$501.44
Kentucky$518.91
Alaska$547.34
Oregon$553.43
Washington$568.92
Massachusetts$587.75
Maryland$599.48
District of Columbia$628.09
Connecticut$633.95
Nevada$647.07
Rhode Island$720.06
Michigan$722.04
Louisiana$727.15
Delaware$776.50
New York$784.98
Florida$845.05
New Jersey$865.55
U.S. Average$516.39
Get Your Rates Quote Now

Uninsured Motorist Coverage – Uninsured motorist coverage, often referred to as UM, is mandatory in some states and optional in others. It covers you at the same levels as your liability coverage if you are in an accident where an uninsured driver was at fault.

Collision – Collision insurance protects you by paying for damages to your vehicle if you are at fault in an accident, whether you hit another vehicle or a stationary object such as a wall or mailbox. If you have a loan on your car, you may be required by the lender to have collision insurance on your policy. Here’s a look at average rates for collision coverage across the U.S.

Average Annual Collision Auto Insurance Rates by State
StateAverage Annual Collision Auto Insurance
Rates
Alabama$299.10
Alaska$360.18
Arizona$259.31
Arkansas$304.87
California$364.56
Colorado$263.36
Connecticut$348.70
Delaware$296.60
District of Columbia$449.27
Florida$251.30
Georgia$320.45
Hawaii$297.75
Idaho$209.00
Illinois$284.92
Indiana$237.19
Iowa$207.10
Kansas$251.46
Kentucky$255.33
Louisiana$391.03
Maine$249.00
Maryland$331.72
Massachusetts$358.68
Michigan$383.21
Minnesota$214.02
Mississippi$302.96
Missouri$259.65
Montana$254.90
Nebraska$223.50
Nevada$293.78
New Hampshire$281.70
New Jersey$365.23
New Mexico$267.48
New York$358.45
North Carolina$264.58
North Dakota$227.44
Ohio$252.21
Oklahoma$298.21
Oregon$212.47
Pennsylvania$307.31
Rhode Island$377.06
South Carolina$247.62
South Dakota$200.10
Tennessee$290.39
Texas$340.51
Utah$254.41
Vermont$278.38
Virginia$264.70
Washington$250.13
West Virginia$319.10
Wisconsin$209.93
Wyoming$270.48
Countrywide Average$299.73
Get Your Rates Quote Now

Comprehensive – Comprehensive insurance covers damage to your car that isn’t caused during an accident. Some examples of what might be covered under a comprehensive policy are hail damage, theft, and vandalism. It will also cover you if your car is stolen. Below you can see state averages for comprehensive coverage.

Average Annual Comprehensive Auto Insurance Rates by State
StatesAverage Annual Comprehensive Auto Insurance
Rates
Oregon$89.66
Maine$96.66
California$99.29
Hawaii$100.09
New Hampshire$103.03
Washington$104.11
Utah$106.57
Florida$110.12
Idaho$110.78
Ohio$112.74
Delaware$113.23
Indiana$115.02
Nevada$116.79
Illinois$117.98
Vermont$118.31
Rhode Island$122.17
North Carolina$123.00
New Jersey$123.18
Connecticut$126.02
Wisconsin$126.34
Massachusetts$128.92
Virginia$129.89
Kentucky$130.15
Pennsylvania$132.01
Tennessee$135.62
Countrywide$138.87
Alaska$141.08
Alabama$146.28
Maryland$146.77
Michigan$147.02
Georgia$153.61
New York$156.66
Colorado$158.34
South Carolina$165.38
Missouri$166.34
New Mexico$166.89
Iowa$171.58
Minnesota$173.04
Arkansas$183.36
Arizona$184.20
Texas$186.70
Mississippi$194.74
West Virginia$195.04
Montana$199.87
Oklahoma$201.56
Nebraska$206.24
Louisiana$208.59
Wyoming$222.86
Kansas$225.34
North Dakota$227.64
South Dakota$228.59
District of Columbia$230.25
Get Your Rates Quote Now

Medical Payments – Medical payments cover necessary medical and funeral costs for yourself and your passengers in the event of an accident.

AutoMaster® Package Endorsement (ACIC states) – According to the MAPFRE website, AutoMaster coverage includes:

  • Bail Bonds: Personal Belongings
  • Loss of Earnings: Seat / Belt Air Bag Death Benefit
  • Transportation: Expense Waiver of Collision Deductible
  • Cellular Phone: Replacement Digital Media Device Replacement
  • Laptop Computer: Replacement New Car Replacement Coverage

Substitute Transportation – If you need a rental car because of an accident, substitute transportation coverage will cover that cost.

Towing and Labor – When it comes to tow trucks or basic repairs on the side of the road, towing and labor coverage would help cover the cost of those services.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

Rachel Bodine graduated from college with a BA in English. She has since worked as a Feature Writer in the insurance industry and gained a deep knowledge of state and countrywide insurance laws and rates. Her research and writing focus on helping readers understand their insurance coverage and how to find savings. Her expert advice on insurance has been featured on sites like PhotoEnforced, All...

Full Bio →

Written by Rachel Bodine
Feature Writer Rachel Bodine

Dan Walker graduated with a BS in Administrative Management in 2005 and has been working in his family’s insurance agency, FCI Agency, for 15 years (BBB A+). He is licensed as an agent to write property and casualty insurance, including home, auto, umbrella, and dwelling fire insurance. He’s also been featured on sites like Reviews.com and Safeco. He reviews content, ensuring that ex...

Full Bio →

Reviewed by Daniel Walker
Licensed Auto Insurance Agent Daniel Walker

Reviews
for American Commerce Insurance Company (MAPFRE)

3.84 (64 reviews)
4
July 30, 2019

Honey717

Great Company

American Commerce took great care of my claim. Even though is was not my fault, They fought for me.
1
June 17, 2019

Pat41rogers

Horrible company. They try to scam you

Absolutely horrible company. I got into a car addident that was not my fault at all (I was driving through a parking lot and another car backed up, very fast, and hit me, essentially T-boning my car) and this company has been horrible throughout the entire process. To start, when reporting the claim, they tried to rush me off the phone before even talking about my rental car (which I have in my policy). Next, the person they assigned to evaluate ...
Absolutely horrible company. I got into a car addident that was not my fault at all (I was driving through a parking lot and another car backed up, very fast, and hit me, essentially T-boning my car) and this company has been horrible throughout the entire process. To start, when reporting the claim, they tried to rush me off the phone before even talking about my rental car (which I have in my policy). Next, the person they assigned to evaluate my car was away on vacation the next week so I had to wait over a week to determine if my car was even totaled or not. Finally they determine it totaled and take the car. But it doesn’t end there. The adjuster they assign to my car, is away on vacation, so yet another week goes by. I finally get a value for my car 2 weeks after the crash. Now this is where it gets good. These guys didn’t bother to even look at my car before putting the most basic model into their system without any features and give me a price for that vehicle. I laughed at them when they told me their first offer. So now I needed to go take a look at their report, find what was wrong, determine what features my car actually had, and then report this to them. You know, essentially do their job for them. They come back after the weekend with an offer that was $343 better (went from $3,588 to $3,931) a whole 10% difference. Now if I were to take a guess, they are undervaluing every single customer they have. When they are just going to go and get this money back from the other insurance company at the end of the day, why they decided to try to scam me and lose a customer in the process just doesn’t make sense. So now there is still another issue with this company, they refuse to remove my duductable. The day after the crash the other persons insurance called and said they take full liability for the crash, ok that’s great for me, I assume no deductible now. So when speaking with my insurance (American commerce) they said they didn’t make that determination yet. When I told them about the other company they said “well if you would like to call them and get that information for us we can certainly take a look at it” so once again they told me “hey go do our job for us”. When I asked if they even looked at the police report (this was 2 weeks 3 days after the crash) they said they haven’t even done that yet. What have I been paying for all these years? I’ve been paying for the knowledge that when an accident happens, my insurance company is going to do everything in their power, to screw me over and pay out as little money as possible. On top of the fact they are not paying me anything close to what my car is worth, the customer service has been horendois, when I question why the value they give me is so low or why my deductible is still there, I get an attitude every single time as if I should be expecting such horrible service.
1
August 30, 2018

musclecars

Great Company if you Never File a Claim

Absolute the worst when it comes to filing claims. We were run over by a truck (Travelers ins). Took 5 weeks to settle the claim. Took two days to determine the other driver was at fault. Now for a broken windshield we are in day 8 of waiting for determination of coverage. Should have installed it myself.
1
March 13, 2018

nicollai

American Commerce review

The worst experience I ever had. During 2 years with this company, I had couple big problems. The first was when they revoked my plates without letting me know. When I went to their office asking what’s going on, their answer was that the person who was taking care about your policy doesn’t work here any more and she didn’t provide all my back information, but they used to change me a couple of months before, directly from my checking accou...
The worst experience I ever had. During 2 years with this company, I had couple big problems. The first was when they revoked my plates without letting me know. When I went to their office asking what’s going on, their answer was that the person who was taking care about your policy doesn’t work here any more and she didn’t provide all my back information, but they used to change me a couple of months before, directly from my checking account. Finally, they wrote a letter explaining it’s their fault and I been to court and fixed the problem spending time and around $1000. Second problem was when I sold my car and tried to transfer the insurance to the new car. They told me I was all set. After 3 months, I got a letter regarding my cancellation of my plates. They didn’t transfer the insurance to the new car. When I called them, they still had the old car in their system. The last problem I had was when I moved my insurance to a different company being tired of them, letting them know before they charge me for the new month, but they charged telling we gonna give you a refund. From $265 they returned $35. I’m so pissed off. I don’t recommend to anyone!
5
March 9, 2018

sbrodeur92

Car Insurance

Full coverage for a fair price, and was able to add high limits because of how often I use my personal vehicle for work.
4
March 7, 2018

WhyThisWTF

Insurance that works

I have never had a problem that could not be fixed. I belive that the cost of ther policy is a fair price and I trust my agent to be sure it is.
5
February 8, 2018

mine88

great company

every time I have had an issue they have always been there for me. They took care of my claims fast.
5
February 8, 2018

929sunshine

American Commerce Insurance is Outstanding

My experience with AAA/American Commerce has been outstanding. Our insurance agent at AAA is wonderful...always very helpful and makes sure that we are getting every discount possible on our policy. When claims have been made, such as one when a deer jumped over a wall and landed on my car, they were very caring and served us well. The car was repaired with quality materials and we were given a rental for an extended period of time. They have ...
My experience with AAA/American Commerce has been outstanding. Our insurance agent at AAA is wonderful...always very helpful and makes sure that we are getting every discount possible on our policy. When claims have been made, such as one when a deer jumped over a wall and landed on my car, they were very caring and served us well. The car was repaired with quality materials and we were given a rental for an extended period of time. They have always been quick to respond and pay the repair providers promptly. I cannot say enough good about them.
5
January 27, 2018

luiss

Greats

I have been in service with this amazing company for years now, it is very affordable and reliable..i have yet to have an issue with them!
3
January 25, 2018

Agentmeow

Precautions in adding a vehicle

Recently we added my daughter's vehicle onto our policy, which we didn't realize that we would to have pay the whole amount of premium for adding the vehicle. If we were insured in Massachusetts, it would have been spaced out over the policy term. I feel that was a lack of communication. Also, they do not offer for money saving discounts like going green, instead I get charged$10 for them sending a bill.
↑ Back to Top

Write a Review and Rate

Please tell us about your policy type

Policy Type ?

Please select a `Policy Type!`

How did you buy this policy?

Please select `How you bought this policy!`

How long ago did you buy this policy?

Please select `How long ago you bought this policy!`

Do you currently have a policy with this company?

Please select `If you currently have a policy with this company?`

How long ago did you buy this policy?

Share your experience with this company

(Min. 100 Characters)
(Max. 60 Characters)

Rate your experience with

Buying Process

Renewal Process

Customer Service*

Policy Price*

Did you submit a claim?

Claim ServiceIf applicable

How long ago did you buy this policy?


Company*Overall Rating

Likelihood to recommend to family or friend*

A few more questions

What does this insurance company do well?

What can this insurance company do better?

Which best describes your household? (select all that apply)

When you submit this review, you will be asked to sign in/up for to your https://www.autoinsurance.org account. If your account is not currently verified, we will send a verification email to the email on file for your account. Please select the verification button in that email. If you do not see the email in your inbox, please check your spam or junk folder. Your review cannot be reviewed and accepted until you complete this verification step.

Compare Quotes from Top Companies and Save

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption