Metropolitan Property and Casualty Auto Insurance Review (2022)

Originally a part of MetLife, the Metropolitan Property and Casualty Insurance Company is now a subsidiary of Farmers Insurance. Customers can find competitive Metropolitan Property and Casualty Insurance Company rates for the standard auto coverages. Additionally, the company has been rated an A+ by A.M. Best.

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Rachel Bodine graduated from college with a BA in English. She has since worked as a Feature Writer in the insurance industry and gained a deep knowledge of state and countrywide insurance laws and rates. Her research and writing focus on helping readers understand their insurance coverage and how to find savings. Her expert advice on insurance has been featured on sites like PhotoEnforced, All...

Full Bio →

Written by Rachel Bodine
Feature Writer Rachel Bodine

Dan Walker graduated with a BS in Administrative Management in 2005 and has been working in his family’s insurance agency, FCI Agency, for 15 years (BBB A+). He is licensed as an agent to write property and casualty insurance, including home, auto, umbrella, and dwelling fire insurance. He’s also been featured on sites like Reviews.com and Safeco. He reviews content, ensuring that ex...

Full Bio →

Reviewed by Daniel Walker
Licensed Auto Insurance Agent Daniel Walker

UPDATED: Sep 26, 2022

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident auto insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one auto insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider. Our partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

UPDATED: Sep 26, 2022

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident auto insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one auto insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider. Our partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

Written By: Rachel BodineReviewed By: Daniel WalkerUPDATED: Sep 26, 2022Fact Checked
Quick Read
4.0
autoinsurance.org

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Metropolitan Property and Casualty Insurance Company

Average annual rate for good drivers:

N/A

A.M. Best rating:

A+

Complaint level:

Low

The Bottom Line

Metropolitan Property and Casualty Insurance Company: The Bottom Line

Originally a part of MetLife, the Metropolitan Property and Casualty Insurance Company was sold to Farmers Insurance in April 2021. The company has competitive rates, several discounts, and has been rated an A+ by A.M. Best.

Learning more about the Metropolitan Property and Casualty Insurance Company will help you decide if the company is a good fit for your auto insurance needs.

Now that you know about the Metropolitan Property and Casualty Insurance Company, enter your ZIP code to find free auto insurance rates in your area.

The Metropolitan Property and Casualty Insurance Company is a subsidiary of Farmers Insurance, providing cheap auto insurance. Formerly a part of MetLife, the company offers the standard auto coverages and has been rated an A+ by A.M. Best.

Knowing more about the Metropolitan Property and Casualty Insurance Company will help you decide if it’s the right choice.

Before starting this Metropolitan Property and Casualty Insurance Company review, enter your ZIP code to get free auto insurance quotes in your area.

Is Metropolitan Property and Casualty Insurance Co a Good Choice?

How is the Metropolitan Property and Casualty Insurance Company rated?

Credit rating agencies review and rate insurance companies based on financial strength. These financial ratings determine the company’s ability to provide a payout when you file a claim.

The Metropolitan Property and Casualty Insurance Company has been rated an A+ by A.M. Best and S&P and an Aa3 by Moody’s. These ratings are among the best in the industry and indicate that the company will always pay when you file a claim.

Does the Metropolitan Property and Casualty Insurance Company have any complaints?

The Better Business Bureau (BBB) and the National Association of Insurance Commissioners (NAIC) review complaints made about insurance companies. Examining these reviews allows drivers to determine a company’s quality of service.

At the time of this review, the BBB has received 766 complaints about the Metropolitan Property and Casualty Insurance Company over the past three years. Most of these complaints are about the company’s products and services.

According to the NAIC, the Metropolitan Property and Casualty Insurance Company has a complaint index ratio of 3.04. This number indicates that the company has triple the amount of complaints about a company of a similar size.

Who is the Metropolitan Property and Casualty Insurance Company?

The Metropolitan Property and Casualty Insurance Company began as the auto and home arm of MetLife in 1972. In April 2021, MetLife sold the company to Farmers Insurance.

MetLife still handles claims and payments to make the transition easier on customers. However, Farmers Insurance underwrites the policies.

Metropolitan Property and Casualty Insurance Co Rates

Does the Metropolitan Property and Casualty Insurance Company have competitive rates?

The cost of auto insurance is a common concern among drivers. Comparing various providers is the best way to determine the most cost-effective option.

The Metropolitan Property and Casualty Insurance Company was once a part of MetLife but is now a subsidiary of Farmers Insurance. However, the company’s rates remain the same after the transfer.

Comparing affordable Metropolitan Property and Casualty Insurance Company auto insurance rates with other companies will help you decide if it’s a cost-effective option. The following chart shows the company’s average annual full-coverage rates compared to other companies.

Average Annual Metropolitan Property and Casualty Insurance Company Full Coverage Rates vs. Other Companies
CompanyAverage Annual Full Coverage Rates
AAA$1,948
Allstate$1,896
American Family$1,218
Amica$1,449
Erie$1,141
Farmers$1,540
GEICO$1,260
Metropolitan Property and Casualty$1,923
The Hartford$1,572
Get Your Rates Quote Now

As you can see, the Metropolitan Property and Casualty Insurance Company has higher rates than many top competitors. However, the company’s rates are still competitive compared to these companies.

There are various factors that affect auto insurance rates. High-risk drivers will always experience higher rates. In addition to average rates, drivers should also consider how a violation will impact the cost of coverage.

The following chart shows the average annual full-coverage rates for Metropolitan Property and Casualty Insurance Company customers based on common driving violations.

Metropolitan Property and Casualty Insurance Company Average Annual Full Coverage Rates by Violation
Auto ViolationAverage Annual Full Coverage Rates
Clean Record$1,923
Accident$3,270
Speeding Ticket$2,680
Poor Credit$2,887
Get Your Rates Quote Now

This chart shows that rates increase the most when a driver has an accident. However, you can also expect to see significant increases in rates if you get a speeding ticket or have poor credit.

Free Auto Insurance Comparison

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Metropolitan Property and Casualty Insurance Co Discounts Available

What discounts are available from the Metropolitan Property and Casualty Insurance Company?

Car insurance rates can be expensive, especially for a high-risk driver. To mitigate these prices, most insurance companies provide discounts to lower rates. These discounts make high-cost insurance much more affordable.

One of the best ways to lower your rates is by bundling coverages. For example, the Metropolitan Property and Casualty Insurance Company offers auto and home insurance and buying these coverages with the same company results in savings.

In addition to bundling coverages, the Metropolitan Property and Casualty auto insurance company offers several deals to help drivers save. The following table shows the most common discounts provided by the company.

Metropolitan Property and Casualty Insurance Company Auto Discounts
Auto DiscountDiscount Eligibility
Affinity groupMembership in an affiliated group.
Anti-theftOwn a vehicle with anti-theft devices.
Automatic paymentMake automatic payments each month.
Claim-freeAvoid filing a claim for five years.
Defensive drivingComplete a defensive driving course.
Good studentMaintain a 3.0-grade point average in high school or college.
Mature driverOlder drivers with a policy.
Get Your Rates Quote Now

When buying auto coverage, asking a representative about all available discounts will ensure that you get the best possible rates.

Metropolitan Property and Casualty Insurance Co Coverage Options

What coverages are offered by the Metropolitan Property and Casualty Insurance Company?

While rates are a common factor when choosing a car insurance company, customers should also consider the available coverages. Finding a company with the standard insurance options will ensure protection from any incident.

The Metropolitan Property and Casualty Insurance Company provides the standard coverages that you’ll find from the most popular companies. The following table shows the traditional options offered by the Metropolitan Property and Casualty Insurance Company.

Metropolitan Property and Casualty Insurance Company Auto Insurance Coverages
Auto Insurance TypesPurpose of Coverage
Bodily injury liabilityPays for medical bills if someone else suffers an injury in an accident caused by you.
CollisionCovers damage to your car after an accident.
ComprehensiveCovers damage to your car when you’re not driving.
Personal injury protectionCovers medical expenses for you and your passengers after an accident.
Property damage liabilityLiability coverage that covers the cost of any property damage you’ve caused in an accident.
Uninsured/underinsured motoristCovers the costs if you’re in an accident caused by a driver with little or no car insurance.
Get Your Rates Quote Now

In addition to these standard coverages, the Metropolitan Property and Casualty Insurance Company also offers various additional options that customers can add to a policy for a fee. Optional coverages provided by the Metropolitan Property and Casualty Insurance Company include:

  • Replacement cost coverage for parts: Replaces damaged tires, brakes, and batteries.
  • New car replacement: Pays the entire replacement cost of the insured vehicle.
  • Custom sound equipment coverage: Protects any aftermarket sound systems that you add to the insured car.
  • Glass repairs without deductible: Waives the deductible for replacing a damaged window or windshield.
  • GAP coverage: Pays the difference between what you owe on the car and its current value after being totaled.
  • Rental car insurance: Provides supplemental protection against damages incurred while driving a rental car.
  • Rental car reimbursement coverage: Pays the cost of a rental car while the insured vehicle is undergoing repairs after an accident.

Adding these optional coverages to a policy increases Metropolitan Property and Casualty Insurance Company auto insurance quotes.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

Rachel Bodine graduated from college with a BA in English. She has since worked as a Feature Writer in the insurance industry and gained a deep knowledge of state and countrywide insurance laws and rates. Her research and writing focus on helping readers understand their insurance coverage and how to find savings. Her expert advice on insurance has been featured on sites like PhotoEnforced, All...

Full Bio →

Written by Rachel Bodine
Feature Writer Rachel Bodine

Dan Walker graduated with a BS in Administrative Management in 2005 and has been working in his family’s insurance agency, FCI Agency, for 15 years (BBB A+). He is licensed as an agent to write property and casualty insurance, including home, auto, umbrella, and dwelling fire insurance. He’s also been featured on sites like Reviews.com and Safeco. He reviews content, ensuring that ex...

Full Bio →

Reviewed by Daniel Walker
Licensed Auto Insurance Agent Daniel Walker

Reviews
for Metropolitan Property and Casualty Insurance Co

3.99 (57 reviews)
4
July 31, 2019

Reviewer100

Overall a very comprehensive policy

The MetLife Grandprotect policy is very comprehensive. Their billing is a little screwy however, with the way they apply credits and debits from changes.
5
July 30, 2019

FLgirl

Metropolitan Saved The Day

We had recently moved to FL from NY and found it challenging to find an insurance company that would fit our needs. We had attempted to bundle it with our homeowners policy, but found it would cost us more than having single policies! We contacted Metropolitan in NY and they wrote our FL policy with no problem and have been our carrier since.
4
September 29, 2018

grammie

Good customer service

I always get great customer service from this company and the are very professional and accurate with their claims.
5
September 18, 2018

Winnie52

Great prices

Metroploitan insurance company is a great company! Low rates and competitive prices as customer service.
3
August 5, 2018

cbrunges

Pleased with Insurance company

Rates are reasonable and I have had good relationship with company. Pleased to be using MetLife for as long as I have.
4
July 31, 2018

nonenow2

Service

Great service. Good rates. Get a live person to speak to when ever I call. Very happy with the company
1
April 12, 2018

repilcalissa

Worst insurance company I have ever had.

the customer service needs improvement. I have been with MetLife for almost 2 years and I faxed them paperwork and they say they never got it even though I got confirmation that they did. Because of them not receiving a fax my primiem was not taken out of my paycheck and I was canceled due to non payment. when I called them I was told I didn't have insurance for 2 months and because if the lapse I had to pay more for my insurance. They never got ...
the customer service needs improvement. I have been with MetLife for almost 2 years and I faxed them paperwork and they say they never got it even though I got confirmation that they did. Because of them not receiving a fax my primiem was not taken out of my paycheck and I was canceled due to non payment. when I called them I was told I didn't have insurance for 2 months and because if the lapse I had to pay more for my insurance. They never got my rate right in the beginning.
2
April 12, 2018

rflem822

They don’t seem to reward loyalty.

I used this company for over 30 years but they cancelled when I added my 17 year old daughter to the policy. Very disappointed. The only claims I ever had were glass coverage and comprehensive because I hit a deer.
5
April 9, 2018

Katad

Great Service! I recommend for everyone!

Great service! The pricing is very affordable. They helped us out in times of great despair, and they were so heartful. Thank you very much! Excellent customer service!
5
March 8, 2018

SandiReneeLia

Good

Good. No problems. They always remind me when my payment is due, as I am forgetful and always forget.
↑ Back to Top

Write a Review and Rate

Please tell us about your policy type

Policy Type ?

Please select a `Policy Type!`

How did you buy this policy?

Please select `How you bought this policy!`

How long ago did you buy this policy?

Please select `How long ago you bought this policy!`

Do you currently have a policy with this company?

Please select `If you currently have a policy with this company?`

How long ago did you buy this policy?

Share your experience with this company

(Min. 100 Characters)
(Max. 60 Characters)

Rate your experience with

Buying Process

Renewal Process

Customer Service*

Policy Price*

Did you submit a claim?

Claim ServiceIf applicable

How long ago did you buy this policy?


Company*Overall Rating

Likelihood to recommend to family or friend*

A few more questions

What does this insurance company do well?

What can this insurance company do better?

Which best describes your household? (select all that apply)

When you submit this review, you will be asked to sign in/up for to your https://www.autoinsurance.org account. If your account is not currently verified, we will send a verification email to the email on file for your account. Please select the verification button in that email. If you do not see the email in your inbox, please check your spam or junk folder. Your review cannot be reviewed and accepted until you complete this verification step.

Compare Quotes from Top Companies and Save

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption