Acuity Auto Insurance Review (2024)

If you're wondering whether Acuity Insurance is good, you can rest easy. Acuity Insurance carries an A+ rating from A.M. Best and BBB, indicating great customer satisfaction, claims handling, and few complaints. Our Acuity auto insurance review will discuss coverages, availability, and customer service.

UPDATED: Nov 3, 2023

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident auto insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one auto insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider. Our partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

UPDATED: Nov 3, 2023Fact Checked

Leslie Kasperowicz

Farmers CSR for 4 Years

Leslie Kasperowicz holds a BA in Social Sciences from the University of Winnipeg. She spent several years as a Farmers Insurance CSR, gaining a solid understanding of insurance products including home, life, auto, and commercial and working directly with insurance customers to understand their needs. She has since used that knowledge in her more than ten years as a writer, largely in the insuranc...

Farmers CSR for 4 Years

Brandon Frady

Licensed Insurance Producer

Brandon Frady has been a licensed insurance agent and insurance office manager since 2018. He has experience in ventures from retail to finance, working positions from cashier to management, but it wasn’t until Brandon started working in the insurance industry that he truly felt at home in his career. In his day-to-day interactions, he aims to live out his business philosophy in how he treats hi...

Licensed Insurance Producer

UPDATED: Nov 3, 2023

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident auto insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one auto insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider. Our partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

UPDATED: Nov 3, 2023

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident auto insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one auto insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider. Our partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

UPDATED: Nov 3, 2023

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident auto insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one auto insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider. Our partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

UPDATED: Nov 3, 2023Fact Checked
4.0
autoinsurance.org

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Acuity Insurance

Average monthly rate for good drivers:

$69

A.M. Best rating:

A+

Complaint level:

Low

Pros

  • Offers a wide range of coverage options, including auto, home, boat, motorcycle, umbrella, and business.
  • Has a strong financial rating of A+ by A.M. Best.
  • Has a Better Business Bureau (BBB) rating of A+.
  • Provides coverage in multiple states through independent insurance agents.
  • Recognized for its philanthropic efforts and positive workplace environment.

Cons

  • Limited geographical coverage primarily focused on the Midwestern part of the United States.
  • Requires contacting an independent insurance agent to purchase coverage.
  • May not offer the most complex or customizable auto insurance plans compared to other providers.

Final Verdict: Review of Acuity Insurance

Acuity Insurance offers liability, full coverage auto insurance, and various add-ons to meet policyholders’ unique needs. The company also has few complaints against it and has high marks for customer and financial ratings.

ACUITY is primarily located in the Midwestern part of the United States. The company is not only nationally recognized for its operational and customer service excellence but for its insightful and generous giving back to its community. In addition to the many insurance industry awards and positive critiques they’ve earned, the company has managed to transcend the insurance industry in many areas. The company gets high marks from its peers, clients, and consumers for promoting a positive and effective workplace environment, numerous technological advancements and a solid ideology of perpetual philanthropy within the local community.

What You Should Know About Acuity, A Mutual Insurance Company

Acuity Insurance sells various auto coverages, alongside home, boat, motorcycle, umbrella, and business insurance. The company’s A+ rating from the BBB and A.M. Best show it’s capable of handling customer settlements.

Keep reading our Acuity auto insurance review to see how well the company resolves complaints and claims.

Acuity Auto Insurance: Financial Ratings & Customer Reviews

What makes good auto insurance companies good? Acuity is a good auto insurance company, as it carries an A+ rating from the Better Business Bureau (BBB) and A.M. Best. So, expect excellent customer service and claims handling.

In addition, Acuity partners with hundreds of independent insurance agencies to provide excellent service for its clients and prospective clients’ coverage needs. You can find independent insurance agencies offering Acuity coverage from over 30 states, including the ones listed below:

Acuity Auto Insurance Careers

Consistently ranked as a top tier and most sought after mid-size employers, Acuity offers careers, not jobs. And if you are looking for mid-western charm then look no further than what Sheboygan has to offer you and your family.

Their headquarters is located in what Reader’s Digest named as the Best City in America to raise a family.

With an almost endless array of world-class cultural and entertainment opportunities, Milwaukee and Chicago are within one hour and 2 ½ hours from downtown Sheboygan.

Acuity usually has a list of positions they are actively looking to fill. And due to the upwardly changing business conditions and company growth, the company’s openings are being updated regularly.

While most of the corporate jobs are either in Sheboygan or virtual, the company does have agents across more than one-third of the United States.

Acuity Auto Insurance Awards

  • Collegegrad.com recognizes Acuity as a top entry-level employer for new grads since 2007.
  • AARP also recognizes Acuity as a top employer of workers at or above the age of 50 for the past four years.
  • In 2004, The Great Place to Work Institute and the Society for Human Resources Management honored Acuity as being the Best Mid-Size Company to work for in America.
  • Acuity has the rare and honored distinction, as being the only company in the United States to be listed six consecutive years to the Great Place to Work Institute’s top five mid-sized companies.
  • Ward Inc., for the past 10 years has recognized Acuity as one of the Top 50 best-run insurance services in all of the United States.
  • Acuity has been named to the InformationWeek 500 list of most innovative technology companies for four consecutive years.
  • In 2001, the National Association of Professional Insurance Agents awarded the National Company Award of Excellence to Acuity.
  • The company has continually received an A+ rating from A.M. Best and A ratings from Standard & Poors.

No matter how many accolades any company has, you still need to shop around to find the best deal that suits your personal automotive insurance needs and the auto insurance laws in your state.

Acuity, A Mutual Insurance Company Insurance Coverage Options

Acuity also serves up a spectrum of personal and commercial auto insurance products and services. Check out the list below to see what types of auto insurance you can get from Acuity:

Generally, the best auto insurance companies offer various coverage types.

So, Acuity is a good insurance company with excellent insurance products.

Free Auto Insurance Comparison

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Frequently Asked Questions

Does Acuity do car insurance?

Yes, you can get liability, comprehensive, and collision insurance from Acuity, among other popular coverages.

What type of insurance is Acuity?

Acuity offers auto, home, boat, motorcycle, umbrella, and business coverage.

Is Acuity a good insurance company?

Acuity Insurance’s A.M. Best rating stands at A+. In addition, Acuity has good customer satisfication, touting an A+ BBB rating.

Where is Acuity primarily located?

Acuity is primarily located in the Midwestern part of the United States.

What payments does Acuity take?

You can pay Acuity insurance premiums by mail, mobile app, or online. You may also set up automatic payments from your bank account or credit card.

Is Acuity insurance nationwide?

No, you can’t get an insurance policy with Acuity in Alaska, California, Connecticut, Florida, Hawaii, Louisiana, Maryland, Massachusetts, New Jersey, New York, North Carolina, Rhode Island, South Carolina, and Washington, D.C.

How can I find an Acuity auto insurance agent?

Acuity has partnered with hundreds of independent insurance agencies. You can find an agent by visiting their website and selecting your state and city.

Leslie Kasperowicz

Farmers CSR for 4 Years

Leslie Kasperowicz holds a BA in Social Sciences from the University of Winnipeg. She spent several years as a Farmers Insurance CSR, gaining a solid understanding of insurance products including home, life, auto, and commercial and working directly with insurance customers to understand their needs. She has since used that knowledge in her more than ten years as a writer, largely in the insuranc...

Farmers CSR for 4 Years

Brandon Frady

Licensed Insurance Producer

Brandon Frady has been a licensed insurance agent and insurance office manager since 2018. He has experience in ventures from retail to finance, working positions from cashier to management, but it wasn’t until Brandon started working in the insurance industry that he truly felt at home in his career. In his day-to-day interactions, he aims to live out his business philosophy in how he treats hi...

Licensed Insurance Producer

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

Reviews
for Acuity, A Mutual Insurance Company

4.00 (148 reviews)
1
December 4, 2019

Leonaudisho

Bad experience

For 2 years I paid over $4500 to acuity, there was an accident cost me $1800, I was hoping to get something, but I got zero dollars. All my payments were automatically, now, off course I’m going to cancel this policy. My policy was going to expire in months or so, so I called and canceled and told them run the policy till expiration day. And then I get another bill to pay? Now, again off course I’m not going to pay, I’m the victim here. And...
For 2 years I paid over $4500 to acuity, there was an accident cost me $1800, I was hoping to get something, but I got zero dollars. All my payments were automatically, now, off course I’m going to cancel this policy. My policy was going to expire in months or so, so I called and canceled and told them run the policy till expiration day. And then I get another bill to pay? Now, again off course I’m not going to pay, I’m the victim here. And then Acuity sent this bill to collections service. So I paid over $4500 you cannot give me a break for $128????
1
June 10, 2019

R40

short term good price

Good price when bundled with house insurance but house does not meet their requirements so will be cancelledat the end of one year
5
April 14, 2019

michelleia

good service

the service has been great. we had to file a claim for hail damage and it went smoothly with no issues. paid timely
5
March 28, 2019

Brynsgal19

Happy customer

We Have been happy with this company. They served us well throughout an unfortunate incident and were very helpful.
5
December 21, 2018

Freepoints

Acuity

Got in accident, prompt response. Easy to deal with. Great communication. Made everything super easy
3
November 7, 2018

Grey2377

Good but pricey !

Great customer service, all around a good company but very pricey. I had the most basic minimum insurance plan and that was 130 a month and Geico offered complete coverage for 180. They had asked for almost 250 for a plan like that. They have great customer service and agents who are very helpful unlike Geico, but I had to go for the better deal which is Geico.
5
October 16, 2018

elidhuo

Best prices by a mile!

We have been with Acuity for quite some time. When it came time to add on a new teen driver, we priced out several companies, but nobody came close to Acuity's price. We have had great experiences when we have needed to file a claim also.
1
October 9, 2018

Blatz

WORST INSURANCE COMPANY EVER

Big mistake trusting a broker and not doing my own homework before going with them for our insurance. Apparently, they work with a third party (LexisNexis) and your rate goes up by 14%. They don't tell you why your rate increased so you have to call them and they are as helpful as talking to a wall. All they say is your insurance rating dropped by so many points and you have to go back to their third party to find out why. Sounds like a bait ...
Big mistake trusting a broker and not doing my own homework before going with them for our insurance. Apparently, they work with a third party (LexisNexis) and your rate goes up by 14%. They don't tell you why your rate increased so you have to call them and they are as helpful as talking to a wall. All they say is your insurance rating dropped by so many points and you have to go back to their third party to find out why. Sounds like a bait and switch scam to increase your insurance after you decide to go with them. After only one year as a customer, a customer who pays their rate and doesn't have any claims or tickets, they pull this stuff. I can't even imagine how bad they would be if we had to submit a claim. Buyer beware!!! They have a lot of complaints about how they pay out claims so I think I dodged a huge bullet here finding out how bad they are and switching to someone else.
5
June 13, 2018

Meggy09

Continual support

They work great to always help, particularly when i was involved in an accident. Will continue to use them!
5
May 31, 2018

mbu

Love Acuity!

While I have never had a claim with Acuity I feel they would do an excellent job as the agency pays attention to detaila dn has made vehicle changes in a timely professional way.
↑ Back to Top

Write a Review

Policy Type?

Please select a `Policy Type!`
(Min. 100 Characters)

Company Overall Rating

When you submit this review, you will be asked to sign in/up for to your https://www.autoinsurance.org account. If your account is not currently verified, we will send a verification email to the email on file for your account. Please select the verification button in that email. If you do not see the email in your inbox, please check your spam or junk folder. Your review cannot be reviewed and accepted until you complete this verification step.

Compare Quotes from Top Companies and Save

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption