What are state minimums for car insurance in Hawaii?
Minimum car insurance in Hawaii is 20/40/10 of bodily injury and property damage coverage. If Hawaii auto insurance minimum requirements are not met, you could receive up to a $1,500 fine and have your driver’s license suspended. The average rate of Hawaii car insurance is $203/mo. Affordable minimum auto insurance coverage in Hawaii is possible.
Free Car Insurance Comparison
Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save
Secured with SHA-256 Encryption
UPDATED: Jul 15, 2021
It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.
Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident auto insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one auto insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider. Our partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.
- Hawaii requires its drivers to purchase liability insurance and personal injury protection coverage
- Drivers with car loans may need to purchase additional coverage based on their lender’s requirements
- Hawaiian drivers could be fined and face other penalties if they do not carry proof of car insurance with them at all times while driving
There are Hawaii auto insurance minimum requirements set by the state so drivers are covered in the event of an accident. Minimum auto insurance coverage in Hawaii includes property damage, personal injury protection, and bodily injury protection.
A car accident in Hawaii can be very expensive for you to pay for, and you may be held financially responsible for some or all of the related expenses. These expenses may include vehicle repairs, medical bills, lost wages, and more.
Hawaii insurance laws require drivers to purchase both liability insurance and personal injury protection insurance.
So what are the minimums for car insurance in Hawaii? Let’s take a look!
This insurance requirement provides drivers with the financial means to pay for accident-related expenses that they otherwise may not be able to pay for.
Minimum Coverage for Hawaii
Does Hawaii require car insurance? Yes, not only do you have to have car insurance, but it must also meet a certain standard.
If you are ready to start shopping around for a new car insurance policy, you need to be aware of Hawaii’s auto insurance minimum requirements.
These requirements should serve as the lowest amount of coverage that you buy, but you may want to buy more than the required coverage to enjoy additional benefits.
The minimum auto insurance requirements in Hawaii include:
- $10,000 for personal injury protection
- $20,000 for bodily injury insurance per person or $40,000 per accident
- $10,000 for property damage liability insurance
Let’s look at the average auto insurance rate in Hawaii by coverage type. Low or liability auto insurance coverage, meets the minimum requirements, but more coverage is not necessarily a bad thing.
|Company||Annual Rate with Low Coverage||Annual Rate with Medium Coverage||Annual Rate with High Coverage|
Get Your Rates Quote Now
How much is car insurance in Hawaii per month?
The average monthly cost of liability only coverage is $203. This meets the Hawaii state minimum liability insurance requirements.
What is the cheapest car insurance in Hawaii?
When it comes to this list of companies, State Farm car insurance in Hawaii was the cheapest.
As a driver in Hawaii, be aware that these insurance requirements are for personal-use vehicles.
If you have a commercial vehicle or if your vehicle is considered to be special in some other way, you may need to meet different insurance requirements. Researching these requirements with the state is a smart idea.
How does Hawaii no-fault car insurance work?
According to NOLO, Hawaii is a no-fault state for auto insurance. This means that if you are in an accident, your car insurance will cover your damages. It does not matter whether or not you caused the accident.
Penalties for Not Being Properly Insured in Hawaii
Is it illegal to drive without insurance in Hawaii?
Hawaii legally requires its drivers to purchase the above minimum coverage types and limits, but you may choose to purchase more than the minimum amount at your discretion.
More than that, you must always carry proof of insurance with you while driving. This can be either a paper or an electronic insurance card.
If you are not properly insured or if you fail to carry proof of coverage with you while driving in this state, you could receive a fine or face other hefty penalties.
For the first offense, you will be fined $500 and your driver’s license will be suspended. For later offenses, your fine will increase, as well as the length of time your license will be suspended.
Free Auto Insurance Comparison
Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.
Secured with SHA-256 Encryption
How to Read Auto Insurance Requirements
Buying car insurance can be complicated and seem confusing to some drivers, and one reason for this is because there are several different types of coverage for you to choose from.
By learning more about what these coverage types are, you can make a more informed buying decision regarding your car insurance needs.
- Bodily Injury Liability – When you cause an accident in Hawaii, you are financially responsible for the medical bills that other parties incur as a result of the accident. Bodily injury liability insurance is legally required in this state, and its benefits pay for medical bills and other related expenses for other people who are involved in the accident.
- Personal Injury Protection (PIP) / Medical Payments – You may also have to pay your own medical expenses if you are injured in a Hawaiian car accident. Personal injury protection coverage is also required by drivers in this state, and it will pay for your own medical bills and other related expenses.
- Property Damage Liability – You may also be held financially responsible for the property damage you cause to other people while driving. This may include vehicle damage, property damage, and other similar expenses. Hawaii’s drivers are required to purchase this type of insurance.
- Collision – Collision insurance is not legally required in this state, but some auto lenders require it. This type of auto coverage pays for your vehicle’s repair expenses or for a full replacement if it is damaged in a collision. Other damaging events are not covered by collision insurance.
- Comprehensive – Comprehensive insurance is similar to collision insurance, but it includes repairs or a replacement for many other types of damage. In addition to covering you for damage related to a collision, it may also cover you for bad weather damage, a fire, a theft, and other similar types of events.
- Uninsured and Underinsured Motorist Coverage – Hawaii does not require you to buy uninsured or underinsured motorist coverage, but some other states do have this requirement. It pays benefits if you are involved in a hit and run accident or if the driver who hits you is not properly insured per state law.
Watch this video for more information on the types of coverage available.
If you are preparing to shop for new auto insurance in Hawaii, you need to be aware that coverage is bought based on the type and limits that you select.
After you select the types of coverage you want from the above options, you will choose a separate coverage limit for each type.
Your insurance company will pay benefits up to the limit that you select, but you will be responsible for paying any expenses that are not covered by the insurance policy that you have purchased.
Minimum Requirement vs. Recommended Coverage
When buying car insurance in Hawaii, it is important that you purchase at least a minimum amount of coverage so that you meet the legal requirements. However, you also need to consider if buying more than the legal requirements is in your best interest.
This will increase your premium, but it also can decrease the number of expenses that you must pay for if you are involved in an accident.
Drivers should analyze their current monthly budget as well as their financial means to pay for expenses in the event of an accident to determine if additional coverage should be purchased.
When You Buy Auto Insurance in Hawaii
Shopping for new car insurance rates in Hawaii every six months is a wise idea, and this is because shopping around periodically will ensure that your auto coverage is updated regularly. It can also help you to avoid spending more than you need to on car insurance.
If you plan to shop for new car insurance rates, spend time determining how much coverage you want to buy as a first step.
Then, narrow down your list of possible auto providers to a few of the companies that are financially secure and that have a great customer service rating.
When you request car insurance quotes online, the entire process may be completed quickly. If you screen providers up-front and ask for quotes on the same coverage types and limits, you can quickly determine which quote is most affordable for your current needs.
Ready to buy minimum auto insurance coverage in Hawaii? To get minimum auto insurance coverage in Hawaii quotes, enter your ZIP and start comparing Hawaii car insurance rates now.
Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.