FREE Auto Insurance Comparison
Secured with SHA-256 Encryption
Compare quotes from the top auto insurance companies and save!
Each time you drive in Delaware, you are taking the risk of being in an accident. Drivers who create damages for other people while behind the wheel must take financial responsibility and pay for these expenses.
Most Delaware drivers comply with the state’s financial responsibility law through a car insurance policy. Make sure to compare rates with our free comparison tool above!
If you are preparing to buy coverage for the first time in Delaware or if you are thinking about expanding your coverage for added benefits, you need to understand what the state’s law requires and what types of optional insurance are available to Delaware drivers as well.
How to Read Car Insurance Requirements
Buying car insurance in Delaware involves selecting the types of insurance that you want to include in your policy as well as limits for each type of coverage.
The state offers minimum guidelines that you must meet, but you may consider increasing your coverage to enjoy more pronounced benefits. These are some of the more common types of auto insurance that Delaware residents purchase.
- Bodily Injury Liability – Delaware drivers are required to purchase a small amount of bodily injury coverage, but you should be aware that many states require their drivers to buy more liability insurance than Delaware does. By increasing your coverage limit to a higher level, you may be able to decrease the risk of having to pay more money out of pocket after an accident.
- Personal Injury Protection (PIP) / Medical Payments – Bodily injury liability insurance pays other people for their medical bills related to an injury accident, and personal injury protection pays for your own medical bills and other expenses related to your personal injury.
- Property Damage Liability – If you damage someone else’s vehicle or another type of property, this type of auto coverage will pay for related repair costs or for a replacement of the item.
- Collision – Collision insurance pays for vehicle repairs to your own car after a vehicular collision. Some lenders require you to buy collision insurance if you have a car loan in place, but this coverage is not a Delaware state requirement.
- Comprehensive – If lenders do not require collision insurance, they may require comprehensive insurance. This coverage pays for the same expenses that collision coverage does, but it also includes benefits for vehicular theft, vandalism, weather-related damage, and more.
- Uninsured and Underinsured Motorist Coverage – Some states legally require drivers to buy uninsured motorist coverage, but this is not a legal requirement in Delaware. If you choose to add it to your policy, you may receive benefits for medical bills, vehicular repairs, and more if you are impacted by an uninsured or underinsured motorist.
Minimum Coverage for Delaware
Before you can start shopping for a new auto insurance policy in Delaware, you need to understand what the state’s minimum requirements are.
Because these are legal requirements, they should be viewed as a minimum amount of coverage that you need to be.
You may also look at your car loan lender’s requirements for further guidance when shopping for auto insurance. The Delaware legal requirements for auto insurance include:
- $10,000 for property damage liability insurance
- $15,000 per person and $30,000 per accident for bodily injury liability insurance
- Defined personal injury protection coverage
If you are preparing to shop for new insurance rates in Delaware for a commercial vehicle, an inoperable vehicle, a stored vehicle, or another type of vehicle that has special features or traits, spend time exploring the state’s auto insurance requirements in greater detail.
Some special automotive situations may require different insurance types and limits.
– Penalties for Being Uninsured in Delaware
When you drive without car insurance in Delaware, you may have to pay for all damages that you cause out of your own pocket, and this can be financially devastating in some cases.
More than that, you may face numerous legal penalties if you are not properly insured per state law, including:
- A minimum fine of $1,500 for the first violation
- A minimum fine of $3,000 for each additional violation within three years
- The suspension of your driver’s license
Minimum Requirement vs. Recommended Coverage
One of the first questions a car insurance company will ask you when you request a quote for a new policy relates to the types and amount of insurance you want to buy.
Buying a new auto policy that complies with Delaware’s state requirements will keep you out of legal trouble for non-compliance with the law, and it will also provide you with some financial benefits if you are involved in an accident.
However, any accident expenses that are not paid for by the insurance coverage are your responsibility, including car repair bills, medical costs for an injury, and more. With this in mind, many drivers in Delaware opt for more coverage with the goal in mind of limiting out-of-pocket expenses.
Getting Car Insurance in Delaware
If you plan to start shopping for a great rate on new auto insurance in Delaware, you need to initially focus your attention on finding a wonderful auto provider.
Choose at least three or four providers that are financially secure and that have excellent customer reviews online to request new quotes from.
In most cases, you can contact these providers online to request a quote, and this may save you time and energy when shopping for new quotes.
Drivers should understand that it is illegal to drive without auto insurance at any time in Delaware. Therefore, take time to review your existing coverage and to update it as needed before you venture on the road again.
You may be able to set up and bind new auto coverage within a few hours or less if you start shopping for quotes right now. Don’t miss out on our free comparison tool below! Just enter your zip code and start comparing rates now!