What are the car seat laws in Alaska?

Alaska child safety seat laws are a primary offense with fines starting at $50 per incident. State law mandates children under 7 must be properly secured.

Free Auto Insurance Comparison

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Leslie Kasperowicz holds a BA in Social Sciences from the University of Winnipeg. She spent several years as a Farmers Insurance CSR, gaining a solid understanding of insurance products including home, life, auto, and commercial and working directly with insurance customers to understand their needs. She has since used that knowledge in her more than ten years as a writer, largely in the insuranc...

Full Bio →

Written by

Dan Walker graduated with a BS in Administrative Management in 2005 and has been working in his family’s insurance agency, FCI Agency, for 15 years (BBB A+). He is licensed as an agent to write property and casualty insurance, including home, auto, umbrella, and dwelling fire insurance. He’s also been featured on sites like Reviews.com and Safeco. He reviews content, ensuring that ex...

Full Bio →

Reviewed by Daniel Walker
Licensed Auto Insurance Agent

UPDATED: Nov 2, 2021

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident auto insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one auto insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider. Our partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

Things to remember...

  • Specific child safety seat laws are on the books in Alaska
  • Not restraining a passenger under the age of 16 yields points on a license
  • Drivers should receive reliable instructions on how to safely install child seats

“Seat belts save lives” remains a popular slogan state police departments like to promote to help raise awareness about driving safety.

Drivers can be lax and not always wear their seat belts or make their passengers wear them. Even worse, some might overlook the necessity of placing young children in appropriate safety or booster seats.

In Alaska, the tale of a young toddler who survived a horrible accident shows why putting young ones in a safety seat is so important.

The right safety seat can possibly save a life even in the worst situation.

Just as the local Alaska media have promoted the necessity to place kids in the right safety seats, The American Academy of Pediatrics has spelled out certain specific suggested guidelines. The AAP points out that rear-facing seats may be best for very young children.

Not all parents follow various organizations’ recommendations or what their local state law is. Alaska residents should find the rules easy to follow. And following the rules may significantly increase safety for little ones traveling in a vehicle.

Compare car insurance rates to find the coverage that’s right for you. Enter your ZIP code into our free rate comparison tool above to begin.

What are the car seat laws in Alaska?

Manufacturers produce different types of car safety and booster seats. The age, weight, and height of a child establish what particular type of seat would be best.

Since parents and guardians may lack the familiarity necessary to be sure what type of seat would be best, Alaska along with other states has instituted the following regulations:

  • Rear-Facing Seats – Required for toddlers less than one year of age and less than 20 lbs.
  • Forward-Facing Seats – Required for children between one and four years of age and more than 20 lbs.
  • Booster Seats – Required for children between five and seven years of age, less than 65 lbs, and less than 57″ in height.
  • Adult Seatbelts – Required for children more than seven years old, more than 65 lbs, and more than 57″ in height.

Adults really should take accurate measurements of their child’s age and weight in order to select the necessary seat. The laws were written with the intention of making sure a child gains maximum protection when riding in a car.

Adults who ignore or err when it comes to these laws can face penalties.


Free Auto Insurance Comparison

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

The Consequences for Breaking the Child Safety Seat Law in Alaska

In Alaska, failure to follow child safety/booster seat and seat belt laws would be a primary offense. With a primary offense, a police officer can pull over a vehicle after observing the driver doesn’t appear to be following the mandatory child seat or seat belt laws.

Unlike a secondary offense, the presence of another obvious moving or non-moving violation won’t be necessary to pull a vehicle over.

With a secondary offense, the police could cite a driver for a child safety seat violation after stopping the car for, say, a broken headlight. Alaska takes child safety seriously, which is why seat offenses are primary ones.

Drivers do need to be mindful of safety laws not only to avoid a citation but to protect a life.

Once a driver gets pulled over and cited, the driver faces a fine. For seat belt violations, the fine levied against a driver is $15. With child safety seat violations, the fine rises to $50.

In the Municipality of Anchorage, the fines actually increase to $50 for a seat belt violation and $200 for a child safety seat violation.

Additionally, in Alaska, drivers may be levied two points against their driving record for not securing a child under the age of 16. Amassing too many points on a license may lead to driving privileges being suspended.

Increase Child Safety and Care

Not being well-versed about proper child safety seat installation or basic consumer knowledge can lead to making mistakes. Mercifully, means exist to help adults take the right steps to put the best seats into place inside a vehicle.

Authorized inspection stations exist and the technicians at these stations can provide advice on how to properly install a seat.

The technicians may also perform a safety inspection of the seat to determine if it is free of defects, damage, or other problems. Learning about a defect can keep a dangerous car seat out of a vehicle.

How can you buy reliable auto insurance in Alaska?

Taking care of a child in your vehicle requires more than using state-mandated restraint seats or even driving carefully. Drivers should purchase the best possible insurance policy capable of paying for passenger injuries and other costs if an accident occurs.

Requesting a number of quotes online is the first step; reviewing the policies and purchasing the best one follow.

Compare quotes today by using our free rate tool below. Just enter your ZIP code to begin.

Free Auto Insurance Comparison

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption