NYCM Auto Insurance Review (2023)

New York Central Mutual has been around since 1899, and its award-winning customer service is second to none. NYCM is a combination of service and overall value available only to New Yorkers.

UPDATED: Jan 12, 2023Fact Checked

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Rachel Bodine graduated from college with a BA in English. She has since worked as a Feature Writer in the insurance industry and gained a deep knowledge of state and countrywide insurance laws and rates. Her research and writing focus on helping readers understand their insurance coverage and how to find savings. Her expert advice on insurance has been featured on sites like PhotoEnforced, All...

Full Bio →

Written by Rachel Bodine
Feature Writer Rachel Bodine

Dan Walker graduated with a BS in Administrative Management in 2005 and has been working in his family’s insurance agency, FCI Agency, for 15 years (BBB A+). He is licensed as an agent to write property and casualty insurance, including home, auto, umbrella, and dwelling fire insurance. He’s also been featured on sites like Reviews.com and Safeco. He reviews content, ensuring that ex...

Full Bio →

Reviewed by Daniel Walker
Licensed Auto Insurance Agent Daniel Walker

UPDATED: Jan 12, 2023

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident auto insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one auto insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider. Our partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

UPDATED: Jan 12, 2023

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident auto insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one auto insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider. Our partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

UPDATED: Jan 12, 2023Fact Checked
3.7
autoinsurance.org

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

NYCM Insurance

Average monthly rate for good drivers:

$250

A.M. Best rating:

A+

Complaint level:

Low

Pros

  • NYCM has award-winning customer service
  • The Advantage Repair Program puts drivers in touch with NYCM’s network of authorized repair centers.

Cons

  • NYCM’s average rates are higher than the national average
  • NYCM only provides insurance policies to New York State.

The Bottom Line

New York Central Mutual has been offering home and auto insurance for over 100 years. Coverage is only available to New York residents, but it’s an excellent option for drivers looking for cheap car insurance in NY.

According to J.D. Power, NYCM Insurance has the best value and the highest customer satisfaction rating among New York auto insurance companies. Keep reading to compare NYCM rates and learn more about its coverage options.

On a scale of 1 to 1,000, NYCM’s total customer satisfaction rating among New York car insurance companies was 834. NYCM has an A+ rating with the Better Business Bureau (BBB) and responds to 100% of all complaints through the BBB website.

Is NYCM Insurance (New York Central Mutual) a Good Choice?

A property and casualty insurance provider with over 800 employees, NYCM is based in the heart of New York. VanNess DeMar Robinson launched the business in 1899 and continues to offer the same exceptional security and service that NYCM Insurance was founded on more than a century ago.

NYCM’s management comprises the fifth generation of its founders. With an extensive knowledge of New Yorkers’ needs and lifestyles, NYCM is poised to continue its reign as a top-notch auto and property insurance company for years to come.

A.M. Best Rating

NYCM Insurance is a top option for NY drivers as it received an overall “A” rating from A.M. Best.

Due to its lengthy history, broad product offering, and cooperation with independent insurance agents, NYCM Insurance has developed a strong reputation as a dependable and stable insurance provider.

Complaint Level

Of the top New York insurance giants, NYCM has the lowest NAIC ratio of any of them at 0.32. The low number means fewer customer complaints.

NYCM Insurance (New York Central Mutual) Rates

New York auto insurance rates are more expensive than average at $250 per month. Fortunately, based on a 40-year-old driver with a clean driving record, the average cost to insure with NYCM stands around $225 monthly.

This is more expensive than the national monthly average of $140 but cheaper than other companies in New York. For a driver with a speeding ticket conviction or at-fault accident, NYCM rates still exceed the national average by around 40% and 10%, respectively.

NYCM tends to price younger drivers added to an existing policy at 40% cheaper than the national average.

NYCM Rates Breakdown

Here’s how New York Central Mutual car insurance compares to its competitors:

Average Monthly Auto Insurance Rates by Coverage Type
Insurance
Company
Average Minimum
Coverage Rates
Average Full
Coverage Rates
Allstate$50.42$166.08
American Family$48.50$115.50
Farmers$56.17$139.50
Geico$24.17$82.00
Liberty Mutual$64.25$176.67
Nationwide$49.00$120.42
Progressive$40.33$109.17
State Farm$34.00$90.92
Travelers$39.25$107.25
Average$45.00$123.00
Get Your Rates Quote Now

As you can see, GEICO, State Farm, and Allstate edge out NYCM on price alone. However, NYCM has much higher customer satisfaction.

Free Auto Insurance Comparison

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

NYCM Insurance (New York Central Mutual) Discounts Available

NYCM offers extensive auto insurance discounts to customers. Some examples include:

  • Electronic Funds (EFT) Discount and Auto-Pay. Customers who pay with an automatic withdrawal from a chosen checking, savings, or credit card account may be eligible for up to a 2.5% electronic funds (EFT) discount, also known as an auto-pay discount.
  • Driver Education Discount. Drivers under 21 are eligible for the appropriate driving training discount after successfully completing a driver education course.
  • Student-Away-at-School Discount. Available for students aged 24 or younger who are away at school at least 100 miles from where the vehicle is normally garaged and don’t use it regularly.
  • Accident Prevention and Defensive Driving. Earn a 10% discount after completing a course, which can be taken completely online at your own pace.
  • Airbag/Automatic Passive Restraint. You can save up to 30% on the MedPay and Personal Injury Protection (PIP) if your car comes with motorized safety belts and one or more airbags.
  • Daytime Running Lamps. Earn up to 3% for this safety feature.
  • Anti-Theft Systems. Earn up to 25% off for alarms, passive and active disabling devices, tracking transponders, and etched VIN in car windows.
  • Coupler/Combination Discount. Combine your renters or home insurance with your auto company to save as much as 20%.
  • Home Ownership Discount. Earn 2.5% off for owning a home, mobile home, or condo.
  • New Vehicle. Earn up to 30% off for a newly titled vehicle on an auto policy.
  • Senior Discount. Policyholders 65 and older can earn up to 5% for having NYCM insurance for over five years.
  • Good Student Discount. With transcripts proving a “B” average or higher, a student may be eligible for a 10% discount.
  • Paid-in-Full Discount. Earn up to 10% for paying your balance ahead of time

Find out how many NYCM auto insurance discounts you qualify for to determine if the amount results in overall savings vs. the competition.

NYCM Insurance (New York Central Mutual) Coverage Options

NYCM offers the following types of auto insurance:

  • Liability auto insurance. Pays for property damage and bodily injury to others if you cause an accident.
  • Personal injury protection (PIP) coverage. Covers medical bills, rehabilitation costs, lost wages, and household care costs if you’re injured and unable to work after an accident.
  • MedPay. Covers medical bills and rehabilitation costs if you’re injured in an accident.
  • Uninsured motorist coverage (UIM). Helps cover your injuries or property damage caused by another driver with no insurance, insufficient insurance, or a hit-and-run-driver.
  • Collision auto insurance. Pays for damages to your vehicle after a covered accident or collision.
  • Comprehensive auto insurance. Pays for damages to your vehicle caused by falling objects, inclement weather, vandalism, fire, or theft.

Because New York is a no-fault insurance state, you are required to carry a minimum amount of PIP and UIM. Learn more about no-fault auto insurance and how it raises NY insurance rates.

On top of the standard coverage above, drivers can also buy these additional coverage options:

  • Basic Economic Loss, Optional (OBEL). You are entitled to an NYCM payout for loss of income if you were hurt in a no-fault accident. The typical upper limit is $2,000 monthly for 36 months. However, the $50,000 maximum payment can be used before the 36-month period has passed.
  • Supplemental uninsured motorist protection. The $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident limits on New York’s uninsured motorist coverage are only valid within the state. For more information, contact NY Mutual car insurance about supplemental uninsured motorist coverage.
  • Rental car reimbursement. NYCM sells auto insurance for rental cars if your vehicle is damaged and undergoing repairs. The business collaborates with Hertz and Enterprise. Call NYCM customer service at 800-234-6926 to learn more.
  • Roadside assistance. Roadside assistance coverage is available through NYCM in three different tiers — Basic ($7 yearly), Choice ($10 annually), and Choice Plus ($15 annually). Although they have varying restrictions, they all offer locksmith services, flat tire repairs, battery jump starts, and emergency gasoline and liquid delivery.

If you choose to add these coverages, your NYCM auto insurance rates will increase.

NYCM Insurance (New York Central Mutual) vs. Competitors

Going just off the price, NYCM is more expensive than most of its competitors. However, it boasts a phenomenal customer satisfaction rating which may matter more to some consumers, according to NYCM insurance reviews.

Methodology

NYCM’s rates are based on a 40-year-old driver with a clean driving record and an auto insurance policy that meets New York’s minimum requirements for full coverage car insurance.

Conclusion: NYCM Car Insurance Review

NYCM is a financially solvent auto and property insurance company that has served New York for over 120 years. As the 2022 winner of J.D. Power’s “best in price” and “highest customer satisfaction” awards, their higher-than-average price is justified by exceptional performance and many happy customers.

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the typical turnaround time for claims at NYCM Insurance?

Customers of NYCM Insurance may telephone in a claim at any time. The carrier also provides a special service that lets consumers choose a certain time for a call-back following the submission of a claim.

How accessible is customer assistance at NYCM Insurance?

Customers can contact the claims and customer care departments of NYCM Insurance at any time. Customers may reach the carrier even more easily because of its extensive social media presence on Facebook, Twitter, and LinkedIn.

What is the claims procedure at NYCM Insurance?

Customers of NYCM can submit claims at any time using a few different methods. However, other than how to register a claim, the carrier’s official website does not describe a specific claims process.

Customers can speak with their independent insurance agent or contact the carrier directly if they have inquiries concerning the claims procedure. The insurance provider does offer a special “Claims University” with some useful advice for avoiding any claims.

Does NYCM Insurance deliver a user-friendly experience for customers?

A great, user-friendly experience is provided overall thanks to NYCM Insurance’s strong social media presence. It provides several cutting-edge customer care choices, including online tools for finding an agent and getting a quote and 24/7 customer support hours. In order to give their clients the best service possible, the carrier collaborates with independent insurance brokers.

The website for NYCM Insurance is also very user-friendly and incredibly intuitive. It’s easy for customers to find crucial information about their policies, but the site lacks a more thorough description of the claims process.

Free Auto Insurance Comparison

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

Rachel Bodine graduated from college with a BA in English. She has since worked as a Feature Writer in the insurance industry and gained a deep knowledge of state and countrywide insurance laws and rates. Her research and writing focus on helping readers understand their insurance coverage and how to find savings. Her expert advice on insurance has been featured on sites like PhotoEnforced, All...

Full Bio →

Written by Rachel Bodine
Feature Writer Rachel Bodine

Dan Walker graduated with a BS in Administrative Management in 2005 and has been working in his family’s insurance agency, FCI Agency, for 15 years (BBB A+). He is licensed as an agent to write property and casualty insurance, including home, auto, umbrella, and dwelling fire insurance. He’s also been featured on sites like Reviews.com and Safeco. He reviews content, ensuring that ex...

Full Bio →

Reviewed by Daniel Walker
Licensed Auto Insurance Agent Daniel Walker

Reviews
for NYCM Insurance (New York Central Mutual)

3.74 (140 reviews)
5
November 1, 2022

jaahrens

EASY no fuss auto claim and repair!

My husband ran into a parked car and caused damage to both cars. I called NYCM and their entire process from start to finish was smooth, painless, quick and very friendly. I can't say enough good things about the whole thing. We took our own damage photos thru an app on the phone, had a rental car and got our repairs completed in under a week.
2
October 24, 2022

M1157

Lousy customer service

This company is the worst! Their customer service is a joke. You we'll spend more time on hold than you were will talking to a person. I have a claim in and they cannot get parts for the car (we are in a serious parts shortage due to covid). You have 30 days of a rental and then they throw you off regardless of whether or not the car has been fixed. I will spend more out of pocket for this claim that I will for the entire year of paying for the i...
This company is the worst! Their customer service is a joke. You we'll spend more time on hold than you were will talking to a person. I have a claim in and they cannot get parts for the car (we are in a serious parts shortage due to covid). You have 30 days of a rental and then they throw you off regardless of whether or not the car has been fixed. I will spend more out of pocket for this claim that I will for the entire year of paying for the insurance. I will be looking elsewhere very soon.
1
January 26, 2022

AS_21788

Absolutely Abhorrent. Don't insure with NYCM!

Truly horrible customer service. I've never made the effort to write any review about insurance... ever - but dealing with NYCM was SO bad, I'm compelled to prevent anyone I know/care about from insuring with them. They will nickel and dime you for ANYTHING, insult the quality of your belongings (I was told that I shouldn't expect to have anything new/OEM put on my car because it's older than 3 years, and "not worth much anymore", they won't upd...
Truly horrible customer service. I've never made the effort to write any review about insurance... ever - but dealing with NYCM was SO bad, I'm compelled to prevent anyone I know/care about from insuring with them. They will nickel and dime you for ANYTHING, insult the quality of your belongings (I was told that I shouldn't expect to have anything new/OEM put on my car because it's older than 3 years, and "not worth much anymore", they won't update notes so every time you call to try and make any progress, you're starting from scratch, or even do what they say they will. It took 3 DAYS after having and reporting a claim for them to AUTHORIZE a rental car. For three days, I had no method of transportation, and they kept telling me to pay out of pocket and "try to submit for reimbursement"... are they kidding? ... even when they finally authorized the rental, it was a fight to have them pay for anything over a subcompact (when there's full rental coverage - they just say "we don't HAVE to give you anything over a subcompact"). I own/drive a large SUV... it's a joke. Like Kind/Quality - NOPE! When you ask for them to email these policies in writing (used parts/won't cover more than a subcompact), they refuse - my guess is because they know their practices aren't kosher and would risk a review from the NYS Dept of Insurance and Finance! As if ALL THAT wasn't bad enough, you'll have men talk over/interrupt you, over and over, even as you finish a single sentence. Dealing with misogynist men is the last thing I want to have to experience when going through an already painful accident/claims situation. The repair shop (vehicle dealership) is already having trouble REACHING anyone there to authorize the work, and the "initial estimate" someone thought they could work up with pictures on a dirty car won't cover even a portion of what will need to be done. I can't WAIT for that fight next. JUST. TRULY. AWFUL. As I write this, I am paying out of pocket for an adequate size rental car. I have extremely low expectations that the vehicle repair doesn't involve yet another fight, time, and stress. Honestly - never, never insure with them. The whole point is to get the coverage when you need it, and they FAIL worse than any competitor out there.
1
March 24, 2021

Shannen

Terrible customer service

This company is pathetic, rude, prejudice with terrible customer service the claims supervisor hung up on me which is very rude and when you ask to speak someone higher they say there is no one else. They have you on hold for more then 15 minutes every time you call. I filed a claim for my vehicle and they denied the claim and canceled my policy. This company is cheap and does not look out for their customers, they are not on your side at all I...
This company is pathetic, rude, prejudice with terrible customer service the claims supervisor hung up on me which is very rude and when you ask to speak someone higher they say there is no one else. They have you on hold for more then 15 minutes every time you call. I filed a claim for my vehicle and they denied the claim and canceled my policy. This company is cheap and does not look out for their customers, they are not on your side at all I’m very dissatisfied with this company, do not trust these people.
3
December 27, 2020

yahea12345

review

good but need a lot of improvements because there are many tips that this company completely ignore and with no good reason
5
October 2, 2020

rootsguy

Professional, Friendly and Reliable

A truly professional yet friendly office. They are always there when we need them and have yet to let us down.
5
May 4, 2020

robertjlynn

best services

this is a company that provides top class services in New York city. I am very satisfied with this insurance company.
5
December 9, 2019

lpoly3424

Good company

Good company to work with and helpful/knowledgeable customer service. They provide their bills on time and good communication
5
November 22, 2019

billie9237

great insurance

I love this company the agents are great nice kind and courteous and I searched among all the other insurance companies for the cheapest price
3
October 13, 2019

carter2

High Rates

This carrier has a good customer service department. The rates do tend to run on the higher side. Their claims department is good. I did have a slight issue when I needed to extended my rental car due to a car accident. For the high rates I would expect better.
↑ Back to Top

Write a Review and Rate

Please tell us about your policy type

Policy Type ?

Please select a `Policy Type!`

How did you buy this policy?

Please select `How you bought this policy!`

How long ago did you buy this policy?

Please select `How long ago you bought this policy!`

Do you currently have a policy with this company?

Please select `If you currently have a policy with this company?`

How long ago did you buy this policy?

Share your experience with this company

(Min. 100 Characters)
(Max. 60 Characters)

Rate your experience with

Buying Process

Renewal Process

Customer Service*

Policy Price*

Did you submit a claim?

Claim ServiceIf applicable

How long ago did you buy this policy?


Company*Overall Rating

Likelihood to recommend to family or friend*

A few more questions

What does this insurance company do well?

What can this insurance company do better?

Which best describes your household? (select all that apply)

When you submit this review, you will be asked to sign in/up for to your https://www.autoinsurance.org account. If your account is not currently verified, we will send a verification email to the email on file for your account. Please select the verification button in that email. If you do not see the email in your inbox, please check your spam or junk folder. Your review cannot be reviewed and accepted until you complete this verification step.

Compare Quotes from Top Companies and Save

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption