NYCM Auto Insurance Review (2024)

New York Central Mutual has been around since 1899, and its award-winning customer service is second to none. NYCM is a combination of service and overall value available only to New Yorkers.

UPDATED: Apr 22, 2024Fact Checked

Jeff Root

Licensed Insurance Agent

Jeff is a well-known speaker and expert in insurance and financial planning. He has spoken at top insurance conferences around the U.S., including the InsuranceNewsNet Super Conference, the 8% Nation Insurance Wealth Conference, and the Digital Life Insurance Agent Mastermind. He has been featured and quoted in Nerdwallet, Bloomberg, Forbes, U.S. News & Money, USA Today, and other leading fina...

Licensed Insurance Agent

Tracey L. Wells

Licensed Insurance Agent & Agency Owner

Tracey L. Wells is a licensed insurance agent and Farmers insurance agency owner with 23 years of experience. He is proud to be a local Farmers agent serving Grayson, Georgia and surrounding areas. With experience as both an underwriter and agent, he provides his customers with insight that others agents may not have. His agency offers all lines of insurance including home, life, auto, RV, busi...

Licensed Insurance Agent & Agency Owner

UPDATED: Apr 22, 2024

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident auto insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one auto insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider. Our partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

UPDATED: Apr 22, 2024

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident auto insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one auto insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider. Our partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

UPDATED: Apr 22, 2024Fact Checked
3.7
autoinsurance.org

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

NYCM Insurance

Average monthly rate for good drivers:

$250

A.M. Best rating:

A

Complaint level:

Low

Pros

  • NYCM has award-winning customer service
  • The Advantage Repair Program puts drivers in touch with NYCM’s network of authorized repair centers.

Cons

  • NYCM’s average rates are higher than the national average
  • NYCM only provides insurance policies to New York State.

Final Verdict: Review of NYCM Insurance

New York Central Mutual has been offering home and auto insurance for over 100 years. Coverage is only available to New York residents, but it’s an excellent option for drivers looking for cheap car insurance in NY.

According to J.D. Power, NYCM Insurance has the best value and the highest customer satisfaction rating among New York auto insurance companies. Keep reading to compare NYCM rates and learn more about its coverage options.

[su_box title="Things to Remember" style="default”]
  • New York Central Mutual offers auto and property insurance to residents of New York
  • NYCM currently holds the title of J.D. Power’s best value and highest customer satisfaction for New York auto insurance
  • NYCM auto insurance rates are a little more expensive than the national average but cheaper than the state average
[/su_box] New York Central Mutual has been offering home and auto insurance for over 100 years. Coverage is only available to New York residents, but it’s an excellent option for drivers looking for cheap car insurance in NY. According to J.D. Power, NYCM Insurance has the best value and the highest customer satisfaction rating among New York auto insurance companies. Keep reading to compare NYCM rates and learn more about its coverage options.

What You Should Know About Nycm Insurance (New York Central Mutual)

A property and casualty insurance provider with over 800 employees, NYCM is based in the heart of New York. VanNess DeMar Robinson launched the business in 1899 and continues to offer the same exceptional security and service that NYCM Insurance was founded on more than a century ago.

NYCM’s management comprises the fifth generation of its founders. With an extensive knowledge of New Yorkers’ needs and lifestyles, NYCM is poised to continue its reign as a top-notch auto and property insurance company for years to come.

A.M. Best Rating

NYCM Insurance is a top option for NY drivers as it received an overall “A” rating from A.M. Best.

Due to its lengthy history, broad product offering, and cooperation with independent insurance agents, NYCM Insurance has developed a strong reputation as a dependable and stable insurance provider.

Complaint Level

Of the top New York insurance giants, NYCM has the lowest NAIC ratio of any of them at 0.32. The low number means fewer customer complaints.

Nycm Insurance (New York Central Mutual) Insurance Coverage Options

NYCM offers the following types of auto insurance:

  • Liability auto insurance. Pays for property damage and bodily injury to others if you cause an accident.
  • Personal injury protection (PIP) coverage. Covers medical bills, rehabilitation costs, lost wages, and household care costs if you’re injured and unable to work after an accident.
  • MedPay. Covers medical bills and rehabilitation costs if you’re injured in an accident.
  • Uninsured motorist coverage (UIM). Helps cover your injuries or property damage caused by another driver with no insurance, insufficient insurance, or a hit-and-run-driver.
  • Collision auto insurance. Pays for damages to your vehicle after a covered accident or collision.
  • Comprehensive auto insurance. Pays for damages to your vehicle caused by falling objects, inclement weather, vandalism, fire, or theft.

Because New York is a no-fault insurance state, you are required to carry a minimum amount of PIP and UIM. Learn more about no-fault auto insurance and how it raises NY insurance rates.

On top of the standard coverage above, drivers can also buy these additional coverage options:

  • Basic Economic Loss, Optional (OBEL). You are entitled to an NYCM payout for loss of income if you were hurt in a no-fault accident. The typical upper limit is $2,000 monthly for 36 months. However, the $50,000 maximum payment can be used before the 36-month period has passed.
  • Supplemental uninsured motorist protection. The $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident limits on New York’s uninsured motorist coverage are only valid within the state. For more information, contact NY Mutual car insurance about supplemental uninsured motorist coverage.
  • Rental car reimbursement. NYCM sells auto insurance for rental cars if your vehicle is damaged and undergoing repairs. The business collaborates with Hertz and Enterprise. Call NYCM customer service at 800-234-6926 to learn more.
  • Roadside assistance. Roadside assistance coverage is available through NYCM in three different tiers — Basic ($7 yearly), Choice ($10 annually), and Choice Plus ($15 annually). Although they have varying restrictions, they all offer locksmith services, flat tire repairs, battery jump starts, and emergency gasoline and liquid delivery.

If you choose to add these coverages, your NYCM auto insurance rates will increase.

Free Auto Insurance Comparison

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Nycm Insurance (New York Central Mutual) Insurance Rates Breakdown

New York auto insurance rates are more expensive than average at $250 per month. Fortunately, based on a 40-year-old driver with a clean driving record, the average cost to insure with NYCM stands around $225 monthly.

This is more expensive than the national monthly average of $140 but cheaper than other companies in New York. For a driver with a speeding ticket conviction or at-fault accident, NYCM rates still exceed the national average by around 40% and 10%, respectively.

NYCM tends to price younger drivers added to an existing policy at 40% cheaper than the national average.

NYCM Rates Breakdown

Here’s how New York Central Mutual car insurance compares to its competitors:

Auto Insurance Monthly Rates by Coverage Level and Provider
Insurance CompanyMinimum CoverageFull Coverage
Allstate$61$160
American Family$44$117
Farmers$53$139
Geico$30$80
Liberty Mutual$68$174
Nationwide$44$115
Progressive$39$105
State Farm$33$86
Travelers$37$99
U.S. Average$45$119

As you can see, GEICO, State Farm, and Allstate edge out NYCM on price alone. However, NYCM has much higher customer satisfaction.

Nycm Insurance (New York Central Mutual) Discounts Available

NYCM offers extensive auto insurance discounts to customers. Some examples include:

  • Electronic Funds (EFT) Discount and Auto-Pay. Customers who pay with an automatic withdrawal from a chosen checking, savings, or credit card account may be eligible for up to a 2.5% electronic funds (EFT) discount, also known as an auto-pay discount.
  • Driver Education Discount. Drivers under 21 are eligible for the appropriate driving training discount after successfully completing a driver education course.
  • Student-Away-at-School Discount. Available for students aged 24 or younger who are away at school at least 100 miles from where the vehicle is normally garaged and don’t use it regularly.
  • Accident Prevention and Defensive Driving. Earn a 10% discount after completing a course, which can be taken completely online at your own pace.
  • Airbag/Automatic Passive Restraint. You can save up to 30% on the MedPay and Personal Injury Protection (PIP) if your car comes with motorized safety belts and one or more airbags.
  • Daytime Running Lamps. Earn up to 3% for this safety feature.
  • Anti-Theft Systems. Earn up to 25% off for alarms, passive and active disabling devices, tracking transponders, and etched VIN in car windows.
  • Coupler/Combination Discount. Combine your renters or home insurance with your auto company to save as much as 20%.
  • Home Ownership Discount. Earn 2.5% off for owning a home, mobile home, or condo.
  • New Vehicle. Earn up to 30% off for a newly titled vehicle on an auto policy.
  • Senior Discount. Policyholders 65 and older can earn up to 5% for having NYCM insurance for over five years.
  • Good Student Discount. With transcripts proving a “B” average or higher, a student may be eligible for a 10% discount.
  • Paid-in-Full Discount. Earn up to 10% for paying your balance ahead of time

Find out how many NYCM auto insurance discounts you qualify for to determine if the amount results in overall savings vs. the competition.

How Nycm Insurance (New York Central Mutual) Ranks Among Providers

Going just off the price, NYCM is more expensive than most of its competitors. However, it boasts a phenomenal customer satisfaction rating which may matter more to some consumers, according to NYCM insurance reviews.

NYCM Car Insurance Reviews

NYCM Auto Insurance is well-regarded for its commitment to providing quality insurance solutions specifically tailored to New York residents. With a long history stretching back to 1899, NYCM (New York Central Mutual) has built a solid reputation for reliability and customer satisfaction. Numerous reviews highlight NYCM’s efficient customer service and competitive pricing, positioning it as a strong choice for New Yorkers looking for comprehensive auto insurance coverage.

New York Central Mutual Reviews and Ratings From Agencies

As an established insurance entity, NYCM has garnered respect in the insurance community, evidenced by its positive ratings from various agencies. The company’s financial stability is affirmed by an “A” rating from A.M. Best, assuring policyholders of its capability to handle claims effectively. Customers often note NYCM’s responsive customer service and the ease of the claims process, adding to its credentials as a trustworthy provider.

Is NYCM a good insurance company?

Evaluating NYCM’s performance and customer feedback, it is clear that it stands out as a favorable option for insurance in New York. The company’s focus on local needs, coupled with its extensive history in the state, allows it to offer policies that are well-suited to the unique aspects of living and driving in New York. This local expertise contributes to NYCM’s reputation as a reliable insurer.

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the typical turnaround time for claims at NYCM Insurance?

Customers of NYCM Insurance may telephone in a claim at any time. The carrier also provides a special service that lets consumers choose a certain time for a call-back following the submission of a claim.

How accessible is customer assistance at NYCM Insurance?

Customers can contact the claims and customer care departments of NYCM Insurance at any time. Customers may reach the carrier even more easily because of its extensive social media presence on Facebook, Twitter, and LinkedIn.

What is the claims procedure at NYCM Insurance?

Customers of NYCM can submit claims at any time using a few different methods. However, other than how to register a claim, the carrier’s official website does not describe a specific claims process.

Does NYCM Insurance deliver a user-friendly experience for customers?

A great, user-friendly experience is provided overall thanks to NYCM Insurance’s strong social media presence. It provides several cutting-edge customer care choices, including online tools for finding an agent and getting a quote and 24/7 customer support hours. In order to give their clients the best service possible, the carrier collaborates with independent insurance brokers.

What is NYCM Auto Insurance?

NYCM Auto Insurance is an insurance company that provides auto insurance coverage to individuals and families. They primarily operate in New York State and cater to the insurance needs of residents in that region.

Is NYCM Auto Insurance a reputable company?

NYCM Auto Insurance is generally considered a reputable insurance company. They have been serving customers in New York State for several years and have a decent reputation in the industry. It’s always recommended to research and read customer reviews to gather more information about their customer experiences.

What types of coverage does NYCM Auto Insurance offer?

NYCM Auto Insurance offers various types of auto insurance coverage, including liability coverage, collision coverage, comprehensive coverage, uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage, and medical payments coverage. They also provide optional coverage options and endorsements that you can choose to customize your policy further.

How can I get a quote from NYCM Auto Insurance?

To obtain a quote from NYCM Auto Insurance, you can visit their official website or contact their customer service directly. On their website, you may find a quote form where you can provide the necessary information about your vehicle, driving history, and coverage requirements to receive an estimate. Alternatively, you can call their customer service department for assistance.

How is NYCM Auto Insurance customer service?

NYCM Auto Insurance strives to provide good customer service to policyholders. Their customer service team is generally responsive and helpful in addressing inquiries, concerns, and claims. However, customer experiences may vary, so it’s advisable to read reviews and assess their customer service based on your individual needs.

Can I manage my NYCM Auto Insurance policy online?

Yes, NYCM Auto Insurance offers online account management for policyholders. Through their website or mobile app, you can access your policy details, make payments, view documents, and update your information. This convenient self-service option allows you to manage your policy at your convenience.

Who owns NYCM?

NYCM, or New York Central Mutual Insurance, operates as a mutual insurance company, meaning it is owned by its policyholders rather than private investors or shareholders.

What states does NYCM cover?

NYCM provides insurance exclusively to residents of New York State, tailoring its products and services to meet the specific needs and legal requirements of New Yorkers.

What is the revenue of NYCM Insurance Company?

The specific revenue details for NYCM Insurance Company can vary year by year. For the most accurate and up-to-date financial data, it’s recommended to refer to the company’s annual financial reports or industry financial databases.

Who is the CEO of NYCM?

The CEO of NYCM can change over time. For the most current information on the company’s leadership, please visit the NYCM official website or consult the latest corporate announcements.

Who owns New York Central Mutual Insurance?

Like NYCM, New York Central Mutual Insurance is a mutual insurance company, which means it is owned by its policyholders.

What is the phone number for NYCM billing?

The phone number for NYCM billing inquiries is typically available on your billing statement or by visiting NYCM’s official website. You can also call their general customer service number for billing queries.

What does NYCM insurance stand for?

NYCM stands for New York Central Mutual. The company was established to provide insurance solutions specifically tailored to residents of New York State, encompassing a variety of coverage including auto and home insurance.

Free Auto Insurance Comparison

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Jeff Root

Licensed Insurance Agent

Jeff is a well-known speaker and expert in insurance and financial planning. He has spoken at top insurance conferences around the U.S., including the InsuranceNewsNet Super Conference, the 8% Nation Insurance Wealth Conference, and the Digital Life Insurance Agent Mastermind. He has been featured and quoted in Nerdwallet, Bloomberg, Forbes, U.S. News & Money, USA Today, and other leading fina...

Licensed Insurance Agent

Tracey L. Wells

Licensed Insurance Agent & Agency Owner

Tracey L. Wells is a licensed insurance agent and Farmers insurance agency owner with 23 years of experience. He is proud to be a local Farmers agent serving Grayson, Georgia and surrounding areas. With experience as both an underwriter and agent, he provides his customers with insight that others agents may not have. His agency offers all lines of insurance including home, life, auto, RV, busi...

Licensed Insurance Agent & Agency Owner

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

Reviews
for Nycm Insurance (New York Central Mutual)

3.71 (142 reviews)
5
November 1, 2022

jaahrens

EASY no fuss auto claim and repair!

My husband ran into a parked car and caused damage to both cars. I called NYCM and their entire process from start to finish was smooth, painless, quick and very friendly. I can't say enough good things about the whole thing. We took our own damage photos thru an app on the phone, had a rental car and got our repairs completed in under a week.
2
October 24, 2022

M1157

Lousy customer service

This company is the worst! Their customer service is a joke. You we'll spend more time on hold than you were will talking to a person. I have a claim in and they cannot get parts for the car (we are in a serious parts shortage due to covid). You have 30 days of a rental and then they throw you off regardless of whether or not the car has been fixed. I will spend more out of pocket for this claim that I will for the entire year of paying for the i...
This company is the worst! Their customer service is a joke. You we'll spend more time on hold than you were will talking to a person. I have a claim in and they cannot get parts for the car (we are in a serious parts shortage due to covid). You have 30 days of a rental and then they throw you off regardless of whether or not the car has been fixed. I will spend more out of pocket for this claim that I will for the entire year of paying for the insurance. I will be looking elsewhere very soon.
1
January 26, 2022

AS_21788

Absolutely Abhorrent. Don't insure with NYCM!

Truly horrible customer service. I've never made the effort to write any review about insurance... ever - but dealing with NYCM was SO bad, I'm compelled to prevent anyone I know/care about from insuring with them. They will nickel and dime you for ANYTHING, insult the quality of your belongings (I was told that I shouldn't expect to have anything new/OEM put on my car because it's older than 3 years, and "not worth much anymore", they won't upd...
Truly horrible customer service. I've never made the effort to write any review about insurance... ever - but dealing with NYCM was SO bad, I'm compelled to prevent anyone I know/care about from insuring with them. They will nickel and dime you for ANYTHING, insult the quality of your belongings (I was told that I shouldn't expect to have anything new/OEM put on my car because it's older than 3 years, and "not worth much anymore", they won't update notes so every time you call to try and make any progress, you're starting from scratch, or even do what they say they will. It took 3 DAYS after having and reporting a claim for them to AUTHORIZE a rental car. For three days, I had no method of transportation, and they kept telling me to pay out of pocket and "try to submit for reimbursement"... are they kidding? ... even when they finally authorized the rental, it was a fight to have them pay for anything over a subcompact (when there's full rental coverage - they just say "we don't HAVE to give you anything over a subcompact"). I own/drive a large SUV... it's a joke. Like Kind/Quality - NOPE! When you ask for them to email these policies in writing (used parts/won't cover more than a subcompact), they refuse - my guess is because they know their practices aren't kosher and would risk a review from the NYS Dept of Insurance and Finance! As if ALL THAT wasn't bad enough, you'll have men talk over/interrupt you, over and over, even as you finish a single sentence. Dealing with misogynist men is the last thing I want to have to experience when going through an already painful accident/claims situation. The repair shop (vehicle dealership) is already having trouble REACHING anyone there to authorize the work, and the "initial estimate" someone thought they could work up with pictures on a dirty car won't cover even a portion of what will need to be done. I can't WAIT for that fight next. JUST. TRULY. AWFUL. As I write this, I am paying out of pocket for an adequate size rental car. I have extremely low expectations that the vehicle repair doesn't involve yet another fight, time, and stress. Honestly - never, never insure with them. The whole point is to get the coverage when you need it, and they FAIL worse than any competitor out there.
1
March 24, 2021

Shannen

Terrible customer service

This company is pathetic, rude, prejudice with terrible customer service the claims supervisor hung up on me which is very rude and when you ask to speak someone higher they say there is no one else. They have you on hold for more then 15 minutes every time you call. I filed a claim for my vehicle and they denied the claim and canceled my policy. This company is cheap and does not look out for their customers, they are not on your side at all I�...
This company is pathetic, rude, prejudice with terrible customer service the claims supervisor hung up on me which is very rude and when you ask to speak someone higher they say there is no one else. They have you on hold for more then 15 minutes every time you call. I filed a claim for my vehicle and they denied the claim and canceled my policy. This company is cheap and does not look out for their customers, they are not on your side at all I’m very dissatisfied with this company, do not trust these people.
3
December 27, 2020

yahea12345

review

good but need a lot of improvements because there are many tips that this company completely ignore and with no good reason
5
October 2, 2020

rootsguy

Professional, Friendly and Reliable

A truly professional yet friendly office. They are always there when we need them and have yet to let us down.
5
May 4, 2020

robertjlynn

best services

this is a company that provides top class services in New York city. I am very satisfied with this insurance company.
5
December 9, 2019

lpoly3424

Good company

Good company to work with and helpful/knowledgeable customer service. They provide their bills on time and good communication
5
November 22, 2019

billie9237

great insurance

I love this company the agents are great nice kind and courteous and I searched among all the other insurance companies for the cheapest price
3
October 13, 2019

carter2

High Rates

This carrier has a good customer service department. The rates do tend to run on the higher side. Their claims department is good. I did have a slight issue when I needed to extended my rental car due to a car accident. For the high rates I would expect better.
↑ Back to Top

Write a Review

Policy Type?

Please select a `Policy Type!`
(Min. 100 Characters)

Company Overall Rating

When you submit this review, you will be asked to sign in/up for to your https://www.autoinsurance.org account. If your account is not currently verified, we will send a verification email to the email on file for your account. Please select the verification button in that email. If you do not see the email in your inbox, please check your spam or junk folder. Your review cannot be reviewed and accepted until you complete this verification step.

Compare Quotes from Top Companies and Save

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption