Kemper Auto Insurance Review (2024)

Kemper sells nonstandard auto insurance to high-risk drivers, averaging $125/mo. Kemper insurance for car owners also offers many coverage options, though Kemper car insurance reviews reveal it has many customer complaints. Our Kemper auto insurance review explains everything you need to know about the company.

UPDATED: Jun 12, 2024Fact Checked

Travis Thompson

Licensed Insurance Agent

Travis Thompson has been a licensed insurance agent for nearly five years. After obtaining his life and health insurance licenses, he began working for Symmetry Financial Group as a State Licensed Field Underwriter. In this position, he learned the coverage options and limits surrounding mortgage protection. He advised clients on the coverage needed to protect them in the event of a death, critica...

Licensed Insurance Agent

Michael Leotta

Insurance Operations Specialist

Michael earned a degree in Business Management degree with an insurance focus, which led to a successful 25-year career in insurance claims operations and support. He possesses a high-level of business acumen across multiple areas of the insurance industry. Over the course of his career, he served in multiple roles supporting claims operations including: Claims Specialist, Claims Trainer, Claim Au...

Insurance Operations Specialist

UPDATED: Jun 12, 2024

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident auto insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one auto insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider. Our partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

UPDATED: Jun 12, 2024

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident auto insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one auto insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider. Our partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

UPDATED: Jun 12, 2024Fact Checked
2.8
autoinsurance.org

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Kemper Insurance

Average monthly rate for good drivers:

$125

A.M. Best rating:

A-

Complaint level:

High

Pros

  • Offers SR-22 car insurance
  • Various discounts and coverages
  • Annual policies
  • Mobile app
  • Access to a network of local agents
  • Offers diminishing deductible, accident forgiveness, and new car replacement

Cons

  • Certain discounts and coverage options aren’t available in all states
  • No option to request an online quote
  • Doesn’t offer rideshare insurance
  • Doesn’t offer pay-per-mile or usage-based insurance
Kemper Insurance offers non-standard insurance to high-risk drivers. Depending on your car insurance needs, Kemper may be a good fit for you. It offers standard coverage and various add-ons, allowing you to customize your coverage and ensure you're protected financially in any situation. If you want to learn more, see our Kemper review below.

Auto insurance with Kemper can benefit high-risk drivers, such as teens or drivers with multiple accidents, who may have trouble finding an insurer elsewhere. Its unique add-on coverages allow drivers to build policies that fit their needs and budget.

Kemper writes SR-22 auto insurance policies for drivers with DUIs, traffic violations, or coverage lapses. It also offers various discounts to help drivers save on high-risk coverage, particularly families.

Read More: High-Risk Auto Insurance

So, how are Kemper insurance claims reviews? You can keep reading our Kemper insurance review to learn more about Kemper auto customer service performance and average rates.

Finding cheap auto insurance rates can be difficult for high-risk drivers, but you don’t have to do it alone. Enter your ZIP code above to find the most affordable Kemper insurance quotes in your area instantly.

What You Should Know About Kemper Corporation

Founded in 1990, Kemper offers various insurance products, including auto, life, and health insurance. Its subsidiaries, Kemper Auto and Kemper Personal Insurance, provide auto insurance in all 50 states and Washington, D.C. However, available coverage options vary by state.

Though Kemper works for anyone needing car insurance, high-risk drivers with revoked, suspended, or canceled licenses may find Kemper appealing as it files SR-22 forms.

Kemper offers standard coverage and various add-ons, allowing you to customize your coverage and ensure you're protected financially in any situation.

Michelle Robbins Licensed Insurance Agent

Keep reading to evaluate Kemper auto insurance reviews from customers and rating agencies.

Free Auto Insurance Comparison

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Kemper Auto Insurance Customer Service

According to the J.D. Power 2022 U.S. Auto Insurance Study, Kemper earned 14th place in California. J.D. Power ranks auto insurance companies in 11 geographical regions based on customer satisfaction with policy information, policy offerings, billing, claims, interaction, and price.

In the 2021 J.D. Power Claims Satisfaction Study, which measures customer satisfaction with auto insurance claims settled in the previous six months, Kemper earned the 19th spot.

The Kemper insurance rating from A.M. Best is A-, so the company is financially stable. In addition, it has a Better Business Bureau rating of A+, meaning Kemper insurance reviews are good.

Though Kemper works for anyone needing car insurance, high-risk drivers with revoked, suspended, or canceled licenses may find Kemper appealing as it files SR-22 forms.

Read More: Auto Insurance Companies With the Best Customer Service

Kemper Corporation Insurance Coverage Options

Kemper offers the following standard auto insurance coverage options:

  • Liability: Covers the cost of property damage and bodily injury for the other driver and passengers involved in an accident you caused.
  • Medical payments: Covers the cost of your and your passengers’ medical payments following an accident.
  • Comprehensive: Covers the cost of property damage to your vehicle resulting from an incident other than a collision, including fire, vandalism, or theft.
  • Collision: Covers the cost of property damage to your vehicle resulting from a collision with another vehicle or object.
  • Uninsured/underinsured motorist: Covers the cost of property damage and bodily injury caused by another driver with no insurance or insufficient insurance.

Different add-on coverage options are available through Kemper depending on the type of auto insurance policy you purchase. For example, the Kemper Prime Auto Enhanced package includes the following add-on options:

  • First accident or minor traffic violation waived
  • Deductible for vehicles damaged while parked waived
  • Diminishing deductible
  • Personal property protection
  • Trip interruption expenses
  • Replacement of key or entry transmitter device

On the other hand, the Kemper Total package is designed for new car owners, offering broad protection for high-value vehicles. Check out its list of add-ons here:

  • New car replacement: Replaces a driver’s totaled vehicle after an accident or theft.
  • Increased rental allotment: Increases rental allotment for your rental vehicle while your vehicle gets repaired. Only available when insuring a brand-new vehicle.
  • Annual policies: A yearly auto insurance policy allows drivers to pay the same car insurance rate for a year.
  • Roadside assistance: Provides 24/7 assistance with roadside emergencies, including lockout, fuel delivery, towing, tire change, and jump-start.
  • Auto loan/lease: Also known as gap insurance, auto loan/lease coverage pays the difference between the remaining loan or lease balance and the vehicle’s value.
  • Personal umbrella liability coverage: Provides additional liability coverage, which can protect you financially if your standard liability coverage isn’t enough.

Certain add-on options aren’t available in all states, so contact a Kemper insurance agent to see what you can buy.

Additional Kemper Insurance Products

Kemper offers the following additional insurance products: 

  • Renters
  • Condo
  • Umbrella
  • Mobile home
  • Flood
  • Business
  • Supplemental health
  • Life
  • RV
  • Boat
  • Motorcycle
  • ATV

Certain insurance products are available through third parties, such as Kemper renters insurance.

Free Auto Insurance Comparison

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Kemper Corporation Insurance Rates Breakdown

Here’s how Kemper’s auto insurance rates compare to its competitors.

Auto Insurance Monthly Rates Compared to Top Companies
Insurance CompanyFull CoverageMinimum Coverage
Allstate$160$47
American Family$117$44
Farmers$139$53
Geico$80$30
Kemper$125$47
Liberty Mutual$174$68
Nationwide$115$44
Progressive$105$39
State Farm$86$33
Travelers$99$37
U.S. Average$119$45

Compare RatesStart Now →

Similar to other car insurance companies, Kemper offers various discounts to its customers to help them save on coverage.

Factors That Affect Kemper Insurance Rates

Insurance companies use multiple factors to calculate rates. However, rating systems vary, so drivers will see different pricing options.

Here are the factors Kemper may use to set car insurance rates:

  • Age: Younger drivers, specifically anyone under 25, have less experience behind the wheel, so they’re more likely to be involved in an accident and file a claim.
  • Gender: Female drivers are less likely to file a claim because they’re often safer and more responsible than male drivers.
  • Driving record: Drivers with a history of accidents and/or traffic violations are high-risk.
  • Location: Vandalism, theft, and accident rates in your state impact the likelihood of you filing a claim.
  • Type of vehicle: Repair costs, theft rate, and safety features determine how risky it would be to insure a driver.
  • Coverage type: The more coverage a driver has, the higher their car insurance rate will be.
  • Annual mileage: Drivers not on the road often are less likely to file a claim.
  • Credit: Drivers with poor or bad credit are seen as irresponsible, meaning there’s a good chance they’ll file a claim.

Since so many factors impact rates, it’s best to shop around and compare rates between insurance companies to confirm who’s offering the most affordable coverage.

Kemper Corporation Discounts Available

Kemper offers the following auto insurance discounts:

  • Advance quote discount: Earn a discount for receiving a Kemper auto insurance quote and purchasing a policy before the effective date.
  • Proof of prior insurance discount: Earn a discount for being previously insured.
  • Paid-in-full discount: Earn a discount for paying for your policy in full.
  • Multi-car discount: Earn a discount for insuring two or more vehicles.
  • Defensive driving course discount: Earn a discount for completing a safe driving course.
  • Good student discount: Earn a discount for being a full-time student with a minimum GPA of 3.0.
  • Military discount: Earn a discount for being an active duty military or National Guard member.
  • Homeowner discount: Earn a discount for purchasing a homeowners insurance policy and auto insurance policy with matching addresses.

Kemper’s car insurance discounts vary based on state and policy type, so not all customers can access every discount.

To get started on comparing Kemper car insurance quotes against top competitors, enter your ZIP code into our free comparison tool below.

Frequently Asked Questions

Is Kemper insurance good?

Kemper auto insurance has an A- rating from A.M. Best, and an A+ from the Better Business Bureau. However, the company has a high volume of customer complaints.

However, the company offers other insurance products, with a specific focus on life insurance. Check out Kemper life insurance reviews to see if it offers the coverage you need to secure your family’s financial future.

How can I request a Kemper car insurance quote?

To request a quote from Kemper, drivers can contact a local agent or customer service by phone at 877-352-0068 for Kemper Auto or 800-216-6347 for Kemper Personal Insurance.

What states does Kemper offer car insurance?

Kemper offers car insurance in all 50 states and Washington, D.C. However, certain car insurance coverage options aren’t available in all states.

How do I file a car insurance claim with Kemper?

You can file a claim using the mobile app, online form, or by contacting customer service at 800-782-1020 for Kemper Auto & Commercial Vehicle or at 888-252-2799 for Personal Insurance.

When filing a claim, drivers must submit the following information:

  • Policyholder’s name and contact information
  • Policy number
  • Policyholder’s vehicle information
  • Description of incident (date, time, damages, and injuries)
  • Claimant name
  • Claimant vehicle information

If drivers prefer, local agents can also assist them with filing a claim.

Does Kemper offer SR-22 car insurance?

Yes, Kemper offers SR-22 car insurance to drivers with revoked, canceled, or suspended licenses.

How can I contact Kemper auto insurance?

You can contact Kemper by phone at 800-353-6737 for claims and 800-782-1020 for customer service. Kemper is also available by email at [email protected].

Kemper’s address for filing claims is P.O. Box 2843, Clinton, IA 52733. Fortunately, if you need Kemper insurance in Birmingham, AL, the company’s general address is P.O. Box 830189, Birmingham, AL 35283-0189.

Read More: Birmingham, AL Auto Insurance

You can also submit a message through its online contact form.

What is Kemper car insurance?

Kemper car insurance is a type of auto insurance provided by Kemper Corporation, a leading insurance provider in the United States. It offers coverage for personal vehicles to protect against financial loss in case of accidents, theft, or other damages.

What types of car insurance coverage does Kemper offer?

Kemper offers various types of car insurance coverage, including liability coverage, collision coverage, comprehensive coverage, personal injury protection (PIP), uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage, and rental reimbursement coverage.

How can I get a quote for Kemper car insurance?

To get a quote for Kemper car insurance, you can visit their website or contact their customer service. You will typically need to provide information about your vehicle, driving history, and personal details to obtain an accurate quote.

What factors affect the cost of Kemper car insurance?

The cost of Kemper car insurance can be influenced by factors such as your driving record, the type of vehicle you drive, your age and gender, your location, the coverage options you choose, and the deductible amount you select.

Read More: Factors That Affect Auto Insurance Rates

Does Kemper offer SR-22 car insurance?

Yes, Kemper offers SR-22 car insurance to drivers with revoked, canceled, or suspended licenses.

Does Kemper offer usage-based car insurance?

No, Kemper doesn’t offer usage-based car insurance.

Does Kemper offer pay-per-mile car insurance?

No, Kemper doesn’t offer pay-per-mile car insurance.

Does Kemper offer rideshare insurance?

No, Kemper doesn’t offer rideshare insurance.

Does Kemper have a mobile app?

Kemper’s car insurance policyholders can use the mobile app to complete the following tasks:

  • Make payments
  • View ID cards
  • Locate repair shops
  • Submit claims

The Kemper mobile app is available to auto insurance policyholders with Android or Apple devices.

Does Kemper insurance cover rental cars?

Yes, the Kemper insurance rental car policy says the company pays up to $600 for rental fees, but only offers $30 daily to cover the cost of a rental.

What is Kemper Direct renters insurance?

Kemper Direct is a direct-to-consumer platform allowing policyholders to get coverages, such as rental insurance, without the need for an agent or auto insurance broker.

How are Kemper home insurance reviews?

Kemper announced in August 2023 that it would stop writing homeowners insurance and cancel existing policies. So, you’ll have to look elsewhere for home insurance.

How are Kemper health insurance reviews?

Kemper doesn’t offer health insurance.

Free Auto Insurance Comparison

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Travis Thompson

Licensed Insurance Agent

Travis Thompson has been a licensed insurance agent for nearly five years. After obtaining his life and health insurance licenses, he began working for Symmetry Financial Group as a State Licensed Field Underwriter. In this position, he learned the coverage options and limits surrounding mortgage protection. He advised clients on the coverage needed to protect them in the event of a death, critica...

Licensed Insurance Agent

Michael Leotta

Insurance Operations Specialist

Michael earned a degree in Business Management degree with an insurance focus, which led to a successful 25-year career in insurance claims operations and support. He possesses a high-level of business acumen across multiple areas of the insurance industry. Over the course of his career, he served in multiple roles supporting claims operations including: Claims Specialist, Claims Trainer, Claim Au...

Insurance Operations Specialist

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

Reviews
for Kemper Corporation

2.84 (209 reviews)
1
July 14, 2023

lisal

Stay far away

Kemper changed my policy from a 12 month to a six month- but same payment. Doubled my premium. Reason: a glass claim. $500 windshield. I dared to use coverage I have paid for for many years but never needed before. My punishment for daring to use what I bought?? Doubling my premium. Stay far away from this shady company.
1
May 15, 2023

deniser89

Negligent Company

I have been completely ignored since i submitted my claim on 02/28/2023. My car was stolen. I did everything that was instructed of me and not once have a i received a call from any of the agents assigned to me, or any of the supervisors I have left voicemails to. I had questions I needed answers to and no one would call me. I find this to be completely unprofessional and negligent of customers. I have also sent an email and forwarded to my lawye...
I have been completely ignored since i submitted my claim on 02/28/2023. My car was stolen. I did everything that was instructed of me and not once have a i received a call from any of the agents assigned to me, or any of the supervisors I have left voicemails to. I had questions I needed answers to and no one would call me. I find this to be completely unprofessional and negligent of customers. I have also sent an email and forwarded to my lawyer who is ready to take action but I have been trying my best to give the benefit of doubt that maybe just maybe this week they will finally give me a call with an actual update. Its about to be three months and i am running out of patience. I don't know how anyone would continue to work with Kemper / Infinity after having these issues.
1
May 6, 2023

Moni_R

Horrible insurance

No communication, accident happened 5 days ago. They said someone would come look at the damage of the car….NO body ever called or showed up. They offer no rental service coverage. This issuance is by far the worst I highly do not recommend.
1
April 25, 2023

Josh_P

Kemper auto insurance is a scam

Horrible auto insurance company. Poor customer service, poor adjusters, and poor appraisers. These guys are crooks that only look out for their bottom line and saving their company money. DON'T USE!!!!
0.5
April 20, 2023

Josh Pico

Kemper Corporation review

Kemper/Infinity Auto Insurance is a scam! They will collect your premiums without helping you in the time of need. Absolute crooks. DON\'T USE THEM!!! Department of Insurance complaints confirm this review. Avoid this company, they will not take care of you.
1
April 24, 2022

Karla_

Too expensive!

Kemper is a rip off. My payment goes up a few dollars after a few months and they just disregard it as ‘it’s just a few dollars’. Maybe I don’t have a few dollars and thought the agreed amount would stay the same. Be aware. I would never refer to them to anyone. As careful of a driver as I am I don’t feel comfortable they would cover damages from an accident.
1
April 2, 2022

Moquendo_

This company is not trustworthy! Look for another insurance

Beware of these people, I renewed my insurance policy with them, paid in full and then get a bill the next month for $904.00 more! I called and spoke with [REDACTED NAME] she basically said that my insurance increased because the change of address, BUT I was not informed of this at the time of renewal. Now I have to either come up with an extra $375 within a week or I’ll have to pay the $904. There are many companies, don’t go with them they ...
Beware of these people, I renewed my insurance policy with them, paid in full and then get a bill the next month for $904.00 more! I called and spoke with [REDACTED NAME] she basically said that my insurance increased because the change of address, BUT I was not informed of this at the time of renewal. Now I have to either come up with an extra $375 within a week or I’ll have to pay the $904. There are many companies, don’t go with them they will blind side you with extra charges!
1
July 10, 2021

sergeche

the worst insurance ever

If you don't want to loose your money, time and nerves never have any business with this company. My car was declared total loss more than 2 months ago, their adjustors and supervisors just never call you back. When you try to reach them, you never spend less than 40 minutes on the phone line,waiting for somebody to answer, you leave your information again and again and nobody calls your back. Next week I will go to the consumer protection agency...
If you don't want to loose your money, time and nerves never have any business with this company. My car was declared total loss more than 2 months ago, their adjustors and supervisors just never call you back. When you try to reach them, you never spend less than 40 minutes on the phone line,waiting for somebody to answer, you leave your information again and again and nobody calls your back. Next week I will go to the consumer protection agency, because people should be protected from dishonest business practices
1
July 6, 2021

Garrett_W

THE WORST INSURANCE COMPANY EVER - THEY WILL NOT HELP YOU

If you want a claim to be handled, at all, when you are 100% not at fault, stay far away from Kemper! I was involved in a crash 2/22/2021 and was 100% not at fault and Kemper still has not taken care of my claim. I have had three different adjusters who either stop responding or tell me "a manager will get back to me" (5 times now) or "it is being reviewed by the _____ team now" (3 times now) and nother ever happens. IT HAS BEEN FIVE MONTHS FO...
If you want a claim to be handled, at all, when you are 100% not at fault, stay far away from Kemper! I was involved in a crash 2/22/2021 and was 100% not at fault and Kemper still has not taken care of my claim. I have had three different adjusters who either stop responding or tell me "a manager will get back to me" (5 times now) or "it is being reviewed by the _____ team now" (3 times now) and nother ever happens. IT HAS BEEN FIVE MONTHS FOR A $2,000 CLAIM AND THEY WILL NOT HELP ME. THE WORST COMPANY I HAVE EVER DEALT WITH.
1
June 28, 2021

MsKendall

Worst Customer Service

I have been stranded for over 3 hours and continue to call Kemper claims for road side assistance. They initially had me on hold aware I was stranded on the side of the road then disconnected the call with no return call. It may be that their call service is in India; however it is horrible customer service. I have now called over 7 times and they continue to disconnect the call. While the rate is reasonable, you definitely get what you pay f...
I have been stranded for over 3 hours and continue to call Kemper claims for road side assistance. They initially had me on hold aware I was stranded on the side of the road then disconnected the call with no return call. It may be that their call service is in India; however it is horrible customer service. I have now called over 7 times and they continue to disconnect the call. While the rate is reasonable, you definitely get what you pay for. I will researching a new auto insurance and pay the slightly higher premiums.
↑ Back to Top

Write a Review

Policy Type?

Please select a `Policy Type!`
(Min. 100 Characters)

Company Overall Rating

When you submit this review, you will be asked to sign in/up for to your https://www.autoinsurance.org account. If your account is not currently verified, we will send a verification email to the email on file for your account. Please select the verification button in that email. If you do not see the email in your inbox, please check your spam or junk folder. Your review cannot be reviewed and accepted until you complete this verification step.

Compare Quotes from Top Companies and Save

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption