American Modern Auto Insurance Review (2022)

American Modern auto insurance offers specialty car coverage for classic, collector, and muscle cars. Enter your ZIP to compare auto insurance quotes now.

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Rachel Bodine graduated from college with a BA in English. She has since worked as a Feature Writer in the insurance industry and gained a deep knowledge of state and countrywide insurance laws and rates. Her research and writing focus on helping readers understand their insurance coverage and how to find savings. Her expert advice on insurance has been featured on sites like PhotoEnforced, All...

Full Bio →

Written by Rachel Bodine
Feature Writer Rachel Bodine

Dan Walker graduated with a BS in Administrative Management in 2005 and has been working in his family’s insurance agency, FCI Agency, for 15 years (BBB A+). He is licensed as an agent to write property and casualty insurance, including home, auto, umbrella, and dwelling fire insurance. He’s also been featured on sites like Reviews.com and Safeco. He reviews content, ensuring that ex...

Full Bio →

Reviewed by Daniel Walker
Licensed Auto Insurance Agent Daniel Walker

UPDATED: Sep 26, 2022

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident auto insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one auto insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider. Our partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

UPDATED: Sep 26, 2022

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident auto insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one auto insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider. Our partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

Written By: Rachel BodineReviewed By: Daniel WalkerUPDATED: Sep 26, 2022Fact Checked
Quick Read
2.4
autoinsurance.org

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

American Modern Insurance

Average annual rate for good drivers:

N/A

A.M. Best rating:

A+

Complaint level:

Low

American Modern Insurance Group has been around since 1965 and sells casualty and property insurance policies. As far as auto insurance goes, it appears they only offer specialty car coverage such as for classic cars and muscle cars.

The company is made up of six insurance companies and has insurance products for personal watercraft, boats, ATVs, motorcycles, collector vehicles, and recreational vehicles.

In addition, they also have coverage available for vacation homes, homes that are vacant, rental properties that don’t need homeowners coverage.

If you are looking for individual auto insurance, you can enter your ZIP code below and you will be able to compare auto insurance quotes for a variety of companies in your area!

Is American Modern Insurance Group a Good Choice?

American Modern Auto Insurance Contact Information

American Modern Insurance Group is located at 7000 Midland Blvd, Amelia, OH, 45102-2607. Their mailing address is PO Box 5323, Cincinnati, OH, 45201-5323.

There are a couple contact numbers for American Modern Insurance Group:

Get a Quote: 1-866-884-6167
Customer Service: 1-800-543-2644
Report a Claim: 1-800-375-2075

American Modern Auto Insurance and Financial Stability

American Modern Insurance Group is extremely financial stable. Since 1998, it has been named one of Ward’s Top 50 Performer and in 2010 SNL named it a Top 10 property and casualty insurer. A.M. Best Company gave American Modern an A+ rating, which is superior.

American Modern has 1.6 million policyholders and is licensed in all 50 states. It is also a part of Munich Re, which is a large insurance organization. It is ranked 73 on the Global 500 list of Fortune Magazine.

Free Auto Insurance Comparison

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

American Modern Insurance Group Coverage Options

American Modern Auto Insurance and Collector Car Policies

One of the specialty insurance American Modern sells is for collector cars. This includes coverage for collector trucks, restorations in progress, autos that are difficult to place like Cobras, trailers, custom and classic motorcycles, military vehicles, fire engines, tractors, and race cars.

Included coverage includes one liability charge, unlimited miles, spare parts, towing, pet coverage, and trip interruption coverage.

American Modern offers optional coverage such as national roadside assistance, foreign coverage, and full safety glass. There are also multiple deductible options that range from $0 to $10,000.

On their website, American Modern gives ideas on how you can save money on your auto insurance policy. Some of the ways include discounts and credits for anti-theft devices, higher-value vehicles and large collections, taking a course on accident prevention, and memberships with a car club or association.

American Modern Auto Insurance and Commercial Insurance

American Modern Auto Insurance Group offers insurance products for businesses. The specialty products are made to match up with the requirements of businesses who want coverage for physical damage of recreational retail inventory, manufactured housing, and rental businesses for watercraft.

The coverage is flexible to work with the size of your business and as it grows. There are extras included that other insurance companies charge for, and the policies help make the administration of reporting requirements easier.

Free Auto Insurance Comparison

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

Rachel Bodine graduated from college with a BA in English. She has since worked as a Feature Writer in the insurance industry and gained a deep knowledge of state and countrywide insurance laws and rates. Her research and writing focus on helping readers understand their insurance coverage and how to find savings. Her expert advice on insurance has been featured on sites like PhotoEnforced, All...

Full Bio →

Written by Rachel Bodine
Feature Writer Rachel Bodine

Dan Walker graduated with a BS in Administrative Management in 2005 and has been working in his family’s insurance agency, FCI Agency, for 15 years (BBB A+). He is licensed as an agent to write property and casualty insurance, including home, auto, umbrella, and dwelling fire insurance. He’s also been featured on sites like Reviews.com and Safeco. He reviews content, ensuring that ex...

Full Bio →

Reviewed by Daniel Walker
Licensed Auto Insurance Agent Daniel Walker

Reviews
for American Modern Insurance Group

2.40 (98 reviews)
1
February 17, 2022

David_contreras

9 months of looking at my classic car wrecked.

I'm so frustrated with this company. I don't know what else to do.DO NOT Purchase ANY KIND OF Insurance From THESE PEOPLE.I had an accident 9 people 9 months ago.. Apparently they sent me a check that someone else received and that's it They tell me the Bank is reviewing the claim and have no answers for me.I cant contact the bank because Im a third party and cant give me answers.So Im [REDACTED WORD] out of luck with everybody. Meanwhile my clas...
I'm so frustrated with this company. I don't know what else to do.DO NOT Purchase ANY KIND OF Insurance From THESE PEOPLE.I had an accident 9 people 9 months ago.. Apparently they sent me a check that someone else received and that's it They tell me the Bank is reviewing the claim and have no answers for me.I cant contact the bank because Im a third party and cant give me answers.So Im [REDACTED WORD] out of luck with everybody. Meanwhile my classic car is in my garage wrecked with no hope in sight. Its ridiculous.Ive contacted everybody for months with no answers.Im going to have to contact a lawyer before my policy expires.
1
June 15, 2020

dissatisfiedcustomer

What is wrong with you guys?

I have insurance for classic cars (antiques) . Changing vehicles is an absolute nose bleed. Run around. Hours on the phone. No-one is in charge. no-one can do it. This should not be so hard. Not sure if it is Ameriprise (the agent) or American Modern, the insurance (?) Get bounced from one to the other... "thank you for your continued patience"... In queues, on hold... "The next associate will help you" ... or not (?) What a disorganized sys...
I have insurance for classic cars (antiques) . Changing vehicles is an absolute nose bleed. Run around. Hours on the phone. No-one is in charge. no-one can do it. This should not be so hard. Not sure if it is Ameriprise (the agent) or American Modern, the insurance (?) Get bounced from one to the other... "thank you for your continued patience"... In queues, on hold... "The next associate will help you" ... or not (?) What a disorganized system or company ...
1
April 13, 2020

smpottinger

I do not recommend this company! VERY SHADY

Be VERY careful of this company! Originally they provided be with a competitive rate. I paid a year in advance. After one year with zero claims, they doubled my rate with zero exlination. When I contacted them to ask why, they simply said "no reason - that's the new rate". I can not in good conscience recommend this company for this unethical tactic. It should have been a clue to me when they needed the entire policy paid in full before they woul...
Be VERY careful of this company! Originally they provided be with a competitive rate. I paid a year in advance. After one year with zero claims, they doubled my rate with zero exlination. When I contacted them to ask why, they simply said "no reason - that's the new rate". I can not in good conscience recommend this company for this unethical tactic. It should have been a clue to me when they needed the entire policy paid in full before they would offer any coverage.
5
August 10, 2018

Zapz

Interesting monthly rates. Good service. Friendly agents.

American Modern Insurance is easy and fast. They always answer phone calls and the agents are quite friendly. They offered me great rates for the first year. One time I was broken down on the road and they send help right away.
1
July 25, 2018

james dahl

American Modern review

30 minute wait time on phone if thay answer.can't cancel policynever again will i do business with this company. thay waisted my time
5
May 6, 2018

jennygirl44

Yesyes

This is a wonderful company to have insurance with. I like all the help that they give. All my questions were answered.
5
September 29, 2017

MikeM

Hassle Free and Fast Settlement

I recently had to file a claim for damage to my collector Corvette. I was on a road trip and had too close an encounter on the Blue Water Bridge with a SUV. The other vehicle was not damaged and no one was hurt but my Corvette had a "skinned nose". I filed the claim online. The next day, I was called and spoke to the adjuster. He asked me some questions and for some documentation. I answered all his questions and satisfied the documentation...
I recently had to file a claim for damage to my collector Corvette. I was on a road trip and had too close an encounter on the Blue Water Bridge with a SUV. The other vehicle was not damaged and no one was hurt but my Corvette had a "skinned nose". I filed the claim online. The next day, I was called and spoke to the adjuster. He asked me some questions and for some documentation. I answered all his questions and satisfied the documentation requirements. In less than a week, I had my check!
3.5
August 14, 2017

Danixturtles

An average company

My car is well insured but sometimes you have to hassle for what you want. They sometimes have excuses as to why they can't accept something or late payments but other than that it's a good company.
3
July 9, 2017

xxluvforeverxx

An Ight Company

Was not great, but ight. Customer Service is average. Nothing special. Would not recommend this to others
5
June 1, 2017

cnew19741

Great

took care of me when i needed them. and made the whole process that much easier for my family and i .
↑ Back to Top

Write a Review and Rate

Please tell us about your policy type

Policy Type ?

Please select a `Policy Type!`

How did you buy this policy?

Please select `How you bought this policy!`

How long ago did you buy this policy?

Please select `How long ago you bought this policy!`

Do you currently have a policy with this company?

Please select `If you currently have a policy with this company?`

How long ago did you buy this policy?

Share your experience with this company

(Min. 100 Characters)
(Max. 60 Characters)

Rate your experience with

Buying Process

Renewal Process

Customer Service*

Policy Price*

Did you submit a claim?

Claim ServiceIf applicable

How long ago did you buy this policy?


Company*Overall Rating

Likelihood to recommend to family or friend*

A few more questions

What does this insurance company do well?

What can this insurance company do better?

Which best describes your household? (select all that apply)

When you submit this review, you will be asked to sign in/up for to your https://www.autoinsurance.org account. If your account is not currently verified, we will send a verification email to the email on file for your account. Please select the verification button in that email. If you do not see the email in your inbox, please check your spam or junk folder. Your review cannot be reviewed and accepted until you complete this verification step.

Compare Quotes from Top Companies and Save

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption