What are the car seat laws in Oregon?

Oregon child safety seat laws are a primary offense with fines starting at $110 per incident. State law mandates children under 8 must be properly secured.

Free Auto Insurance Comparison

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Leslie Kasperowicz holds a BA in Social Sciences from the University of Winnipeg. She spent several years as a Farmers Insurance CSR, gaining a solid understanding of insurance products including home, life, auto, and commercial and working directly with insurance customers to understand their needs. She has since used that knowledge in her more than ten years as a writer, largely in the insuranc...

Full Bio →

Written by

Dan Walker graduated with a BS in Administrative Management in 2005 and has been working in his family’s insurance agency, FCI Agency, for 15 years (BBB A+). He is licensed as an agent to write property and casualty insurance, including home, auto, umbrella, and dwelling fire insurance. He’s also been featured on sites like Reviews.com and Safeco. He reviews content, ensuring that ex...

Full Bio →

Reviewed by Daniel Walker
Licensed Auto Insurance Agent

UPDATED: Jul 15, 2021

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident auto insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one auto insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider. Our partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

Things to remember...

  • State law for the use of car safety seats closely coincides with the AAP’s recommendations, but there are a few subtle differences
  • You may receive a fine if a child passenger in your vehicle is not in compliance with the child restraint or seat belt laws, depending on their age
  • You can get a car safety seat installation inspection completed through the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration free of charge
  • Car insurance companies in Oregon will penalize drivers who fail to follow the law

The United States does not have a national car seat law that all drivers are required to comply with, but there are state laws that can impact your use of car seats or other safety belt devices.

The state car seat law closely coincides with the recommendations issued by the American Academy of Pediatrics.

The AAP has upgraded its recommendations regarding rear-facing car safety seats in recent years. 

At one time, it recommended the use of rear-facing car seats until kids reached the age of one year old, but it now recommends that infants and toddlers sit in a rear-facing car seat until they are at least two years old. There is also a weight limit your child should exceed before graduating up from a rear-facing seat to forward-facing car seat.

These are not requirements for child passenger safety nor are they part of child restraint law in the state of Oregon. Failure to follow these guidelines will not result in a traffic violation, however, these are the most accurate seating guidelines designed to keep children safe.

Compare car insurance quotes right here by entering your ZIP code above. You could save a lot of money on your premiums by going with a different provider.

What is the Oregon booster seat law?

In order to meet this state’s booster seat requirement, kids between the ages of two and eight years old and who are less than 57 inches tall should be strapped into a front-facing car seat or booster seat. A booster seat is a type of forward-facing child restraint system that keeps children in a safety-belt equipped seating position at all times.

Older children are required to be secured by an adult seat belt at all times while they are in the car once they exceed the height limit for a child booster seat. At this height, an adult belt can provide adequate protection in case of a motor vehicle crash.

Free Auto Insurance Comparison

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

What is the Oregon car seat law?

Oregon car seat laws are very similar to the AAP recommendations, but you should understand the differences. Remember that you are not required to comply with the AAP recommendations in regards to putting your child in a forward-facing seat, but you can be fined for each violation of the child seat law as well as child seat belt laws in Oregon.

The Oregon car seat law indicates the following:

  • Kids must be strapped into a rear-facing child restraint system until they are at least two years old, but it does not indicate an upper limit for height or weight
  • Minors who are between the ages of two and eight years old are required to sit in a front-facing car seat equipped with a child safety system that fits their body size
  • Children must not sit in the car using an adult seatbelt until they have outgrown the statewide child seat requirement; at this point, children should be at least 57 inches tall, weigh at least 40 pounds, and at least eight years old

Be aware that drivers may be cited for a seat belt violation if a child between the ages of eight and 15 years old is not properly secured in an adult safety belt with a lap belt per state safety belt law.

Free Auto Insurance Comparison

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

What are the consequences for violating car safety laws?

Car safety seat and seat belt laws are considered to be primary laws or secondary laws in various states.

These are primary laws, which means that a police officer can pull you over and fine you for a violation of these laws without any other reason or cause required.

For example, they do not need to see you running a red light before pulling you over to cite you for a seat belt or child safety system violation.

If you are cited for violating the car seat law, you may be fined up to $110 per child. If you are cited for violating the seat belt law for an older kid, you might be fined up to $130 per violation.

You can imagine that the fees would add up to a very large amount if you have multiple violations of these laws at the same time.

How Strong Is The Focus on Child Safety in Oregon?

The primary purpose of the child safety system and seat belt laws in Oregon is to keep children as safe as possible while in moving vehicles. However, any child car seat can not be effective for this purpose if it is not properly installed in a rear seat in your vehicle.

Free Auto Insurance Comparison

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

How do I get my child’s safety seat checked?

Some drivers are challenged by the proper installation techniques for car seats, and you can easily seek guidance from the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration for assistance in this area.

The NHTSA offers free checks on car seats and can help you to properly install any seats that are not securely installed in vehicles at this time.

How Can You Make Sure You Have the Right Car Insurance Coverage?

While being in a car accident with a child in the car is not something you may want to think about, the reality is that this can happen to you.

Medical expenses can be costly when a passenger is injured in your car, and you need to have collision insurance with personal injury protection coverage in place to pay for these expenses.

Understand that the state’s minimum requirement for car insurance is not sufficient to pay for your passengers’ medical bills, and you need to opt for more extensive coverage to enjoy this benefit.

Shopping for car insurance rates is a task that should be tackled every six months. By focusing your attention on car insurance twice per year, you can update your coverage as needed and look for better rates that may be available.

Shop online to quickly obtain at least three to four different quotes on your coverage, but remember to pay attention to a provider’s financial backing and reputation before you decide which coverage you want to buy.

Enter your ZIP code below to begin comparison shopping for car insurance coverage right now.

Free Auto Insurance Comparison

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption