Elephant Auto Insurance Review (2022)

Elephant offers various types of car insurance coverage options, including liability, personal injury protection, collision, comprehensive and more. Here's everything you need to know about Elephant car insurance.

UPDATED: Aug 30, 2022Fact Checked

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Rachel Bodine graduated from college with a BA in English. She has since worked as a Feature Writer in the insurance industry and gained a deep knowledge of state and countrywide insurance laws and rates. Her research and writing focus on helping readers understand their insurance coverage and how to find savings. Her expert advice on insurance has been featured on sites like PhotoEnforced, All...

Full Bio →

Written by Rachel Bodine
Feature Writer Rachel Bodine

Dan Walker graduated with a BS in Administrative Management in 2005 and has been working in his family’s insurance agency, FCI Agency, for 15 years (BBB A+). He is licensed as an agent to write property and casualty insurance, including home, auto, umbrella, and dwelling fire insurance. He’s also been featured on sites like Reviews.com and Safeco. He reviews content, ensuring that ex...

Full Bio →

Reviewed by Daniel Walker
Licensed Auto Insurance Agent Daniel Walker

UPDATED: Aug 30, 2022

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident auto insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one auto insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider. Our partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

UPDATED: Aug 30, 2022

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident auto insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one auto insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider. Our partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

UPDATED: Aug 30, 2022Fact Checked
3.8
autoinsurance.org

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Elephant

Average annual rate for good drivers:

N/A

A.M. Best rating:

A+

Complaint level:

Med

Pros

  • Multiple discount options
  • Uncommon coverage like custom parts and pet insurance
  • Legal assistance coverage
  • Bundling options
  • Helpful customer service

Cons

  • Higher-than-average rates
  • Only available in eight states
  • Numerous customer complaints
  • A lack of certain coverages like new car replacement

The Bottom Line

Elephant offers car insurance in eight U.S. states. You may want to consider the company if you’re searching for auto insurance. It provides standard coverage, additional options, and many discount opportunities.

Still, rates with Elephant are often higher than average, and the company has a fair number of complaints concerning how it handles claims.

If you’re looking for the best car insurance company in your area, you could consider Elephant auto insurance. Elephant auto insurance offers different options for car insurance coverage, but the company only sells insurance in eight states.

Find and compare quotes from multiple providers as you search for a car insurance company and policy that works for you. Comparing quotes will help you choose a policy that fits your budget and offers you the coverage you need.

Elephant Auto Insurance Rates

In many instances, Elephant car insurance rates are well above the national average for coverage.

<iframe title=”Average Annual Auto Insurance Rates by State” aria-label=”Map” id=”datawrapper-chart-9wkuj” src=”https://datawrapper.dwcdn.net/9wkuj/2/” scrolling=”no” frameborder=”0″ style=”border: none;” width=”600″ height=”620″></iframe>

Elephant Rates Based on Age

Elephant teen driver rates are around 35% higher than the national average at $7,561 annually for girls and $8,103 for boys. This table includes rates for teen drivers based on gender from the top insurance companies.

Average Annual Full Coverage Auto Insurance Rates for Teen Drivers
Insurance Company16-Year-Old Male With a Clean Record16-Year-Old Female With a Clean Record18-Year-Old Male with a Clean Record18-Year-Old Female with a Clean Record
Allstate$7,654$7,299$6,223$5,381
American Family$5,761$4,682$4,684$3,452
Farmers$8,901$9,330$7,238$6,879
GEICO$3,743$3,573$3,043$2,635
Liberty Mutual$9,339$8,592$7,593$6,335
Nationwide$5,714$4,926$4,646$3,632
Progressive$9,766$9,617$7,941$7,090
State Farm$4,191$3,730$3,408$2,750
Travelers$10,762$8,506$8,750$6,271
National Average$7,315$6,695$5,947$4,936
Get Your Rates Quote Now

For adult drivers, Elephant rates are still higher than average. For females, the premium is around $1,842 annually, while for men, it’s about $1,836. While senior drivers can expect to pay around $300 to $400 more annually for coverage with Elephant. The table below shows the national average for senior drivers.

Annual Full Coverage Auto Insurance Rates for Seniors
Insurance Company55-Year-Old Male With a Clean Record55-Year-Old Female With a Clean Record60-Year-Old Male With a Clean Record60-Year-Old Female With a Clean Record65-Year-Old Male With a Clean Record65-Year-Old Female With a Clean Record
Allstate$1,820$1,841$1,847$1,797$1,878$1,900
American Family$1,251$1,237$1,190$1,175$1,291$1,276
Farmers$1,513$1,519$1,474$1,383$1,561$1,568
GEICO$912$909$892$872$941$938
Liberty Mutual$1,959$1,929$1,890$1,758$2,022$1,991
Nationwide$1,305$1,285$1,253$1,189$1,347$1,327
Progressive$1,196$1,271$1,143$1,105$1,234$1,312
State Farm$978$978$912$912$1,010$1,010
Travelers$1,109$1,095$1,065$1,052$1,145$1,130
National Average$1,338$1,341$1,296$1,249$1,381$1,383
Get Your Rates Quote Now

Elephant insurance may work for you, but it’s good to compare rates with other companies before making any commitments. 

Elephant Rates With a Speeding Ticket

You can expect higher-than-average car insurance rates if you have one or more speeding tickets on your driving record. You can compare the top insurance companies’ rates after a speeding ticket below.

Average Monthly Full Coverage Auto Insurance Rates for Drivers with a Traffic Ticket
Insurance CompanyRates with a TicketRates with a Clean Record
Allstate$188$160
American Family$136$117
Farmers$173$139
GEICO$106$80
Liberty Mutual$212$173
Nationwide$137$115
Progressive$140$105
State Farm$96$86
Travelers$134$99
Average$147$120
Get Your Rates Quote Now

With Elephant, rates are almost $500 higher than the national average and nearly $1,000 more annually than rates with State Farm.

Elephant Rates After an Accident

Rates for drivers involved in an accident are nearly 30% higher with Elephant than the national average. See rates from the top insurance companies below.

Average Monthly Full Coverage Auto Insurance Rates for Drivers with an Accident
Insurance CompanyRates with an AccidentRates with a Clean Record
State Farm$102$86
Geico$132$80
Travelers$139$99
Nationwide$161$115
Average$172$120
American Family$176$117
Progressive$186$105
Farmers$198$139
Allstate$225$160
Liberty Mutual$234$173
Get Your Rates Quote Now

Elephant’s rates for drivers with one or more accidents on their record are nearly double USAA’s rates.

Elephant Car Insurance After a DUI

If you have a DUI on your record, you’ll definitely pay more for insurance. You could even have a hard time finding a company willing to offer you coverage, but we’ve put together a list of the top insurance companies that do offer DUI insurance.

Average Monthly Full Coverage Auto Insurance Rates for Drivers with a DUI
Insurance CompanyRates with a DUIRates with a Clean Record
Allstate$270$160
American Family$194$117
Farmers$192$139
GEICO$216$80
Liberty Mutual$313$173
Nationwide$234$115
Progressive$140$105
State Farm$112$86
Travelers$206$99
Average$209$120
Get Your Rates Quote Now

Elephant’s rates for people with a DUI are only around 2% higher than the national average at about $2,652 annually.

Elephant Rates for People with Poor Credit

If you have a low credit score, you could pay around 7% more for insurance with Elephant than the national average. 

Average Monthly Full Coverage Auto Insurance Rates by Credit Rating

Auto insurance rates are based on 45-year-old drivers with clean driving records.
Insurance CompanyRates with Poor CreditRates with Fair CreditRates with Good Credit
Geico$148$100$82
State Farm$200$118$91
Travelers$194$128$107
Progressive$206$138$109
American Family$203$136$116
Nationwide$166$133$120
Farmers$269$161$140
Allstate$296$197$166
Liberty Mutual$355$226$177
Average$226$148$123
Get Your Rates Quote Now

While 7% may not sound like a lot, that equates to hundreds of dollars annually you could save with another company.

How much is minimum coverage with Elephant?

Elephant’s rates for minimum car insurance coverage is around $1,782 annually. With the national average around $1,463, Elephant’s rates are almost 22% higher. Let’s compare this to the top insurance companies. 

Average Minimum Monthly Coverage Rates for the Top Auto Insurance Companies
Insurance CompanyAverage Minimum Coverage Rates
Allstate$61
American Family$44
Farmers$53
Geico$31
Liberty Mutual$68
Nationwide$44
Progressive$39
State Farm$33
Travelers$37
Average$45
Get Your Rates Quote Now

Elephant’s minimum coverage rates are nearly $700 more per year than rates for similar coverage with GEICO.

How much is full coverage with Elephant?

A full coverage policy with Elephant costs around $2,059 per year. Take a look at the table below for rates for full coverage insurance with the top companies in the country.

Average Monthly Full Coverage Rates for the Top Auto Insurance Companies
Insurance CompanyAverage Full Coverage Rates
Allstate$160
American Family$117
Farmers$139
Geico$80
Liberty Mutual$173
Nationwide$115
Progressive$105
State Farm$86
Travelers$99
Average$120
Get Your Rates Quote Now

Elephant’s full coverage rates are 27% higher than the national average and nearly $800 more than GEICO’s full coverage rates.

Free Auto Insurance Comparison

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Elephant Auto Insurance Discounts Available

Elephant offers policyholders several discount options, including:

  • Multi-policy
  • Online quote
  • Paid-in-full
  • Paperless
  • E-signature
  • Multi-car
  • Good driver
  • Good student
  • Homeowner
  • Work from home

Discounts could help you save up to 25% on your auto insurance coverage, so speak with an Elephant representative if you believe you may qualify for one or more of the discounts listed above.

Elephant Auto Insurance Coverage Options

Elephant offers the standard coverage types you’d expect most insurance providers to have, including:

  • Liability
  • Property damage liability
  • Medical payments
  • Uninsured/underinsured motorists
  • Personal injury protection
  • Collision
  • Comprehensive

While some companies stop here, Elephant offers additional coverage options to policyholders, such as:

  • Roadside assistance. Elephant roadside assistance covers towing and other necessities.
  • Rental reimbursement. This coverage pays for rental cars if you need one after an accident.
  • Upgraded accident forgiveness. Elephant offers accident forgiveness to policyholders after three years, but you can purchase this add-on immediately with your new policy.
  • Loan/lease payoff. Loan/lease payoff will pay up to 25% of the remaining balance if your vehicle gets totaled in an accident.
  • Custom parts and equipment. A custom parts and equipment policy covers upgrades or other vehicle modifications if your car gets damaged.
  • Diminishing deductible. Your deductible will lower each year you drive without getting in an accident.
  • Non-owner coverage. This add-on covers you if you borrow someone else’s car and get in an accident.
  • Pet injury insurance. This policy pays up to $1,000 in covered veterinary bills and expenses.
  • Legal coverage. Legal coverage helps with discounts and other ways to pay for legal services you may need if you’re involved in an accident.

Not only does Elephant offer policies required by many states, but it also allows drivers to customize their policy with add-on coverages.

Also keep in mind that you can only purchase Elephant insurance in Georgia, Illinois, Indiana, Maryland, Ohio, Tennessee, Texas, and Virginia.

Methodology

Elephant has an A+ (superior) financial strength rating with A.M. Best and an A+ rating with the Better Business Bureau. Unfortunately, the company has its fair share of customer complaints concerning claims handling.

Most Elephant insurance reviews discuss the company’s higher-than-average rates and low customer satisfaction, though some Elephant claims reviews note the company’s helpful customer service representatives.

If you’re considering a policy with Elephant, shop around after receiving Elephant car insurance quotes to see what other companies have to offer.

Frequently Asked Questions

What other insurance does Elephant offer?

In addition to car insurance, Elephant offers homeowners, condo, renters, umbrella, life, motorcycle, and off-road vehicle insurance.

Where is Elephant available?

You can purchase Elephant insurance in Georgia, Illinois, Indiana, Maryland, Ohio, Tennessee, Texas, and Virginia.

How can I get a quote for coverage from Elephant? 

Go to the company website to receive an online quote. The company will ask for information about you and your vehicle.

How can I file a claim with Elephant?

You can file a claim by calling 844-937-5353. When you call, have your policy number ready and be prepared to provide specific information about the incident.

How can I cancel an Elephant car insurance policy?

Call 877-321-2095 to cancel your policy. 

Who owns Elephant insurance?

Elephant auto insurance is a subsidiary of Admiral Group PLC based in the United Kingdom. 

Free Auto Insurance Comparison

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

Rachel Bodine graduated from college with a BA in English. She has since worked as a Feature Writer in the insurance industry and gained a deep knowledge of state and countrywide insurance laws and rates. Her research and writing focus on helping readers understand their insurance coverage and how to find savings. Her expert advice on insurance has been featured on sites like PhotoEnforced, All...

Full Bio →

Written by Rachel Bodine
Feature Writer Rachel Bodine

Dan Walker graduated with a BS in Administrative Management in 2005 and has been working in his family’s insurance agency, FCI Agency, for 15 years (BBB A+). He is licensed as an agent to write property and casualty insurance, including home, auto, umbrella, and dwelling fire insurance. He’s also been featured on sites like Reviews.com and Safeco. He reviews content, ensuring that ex...

Full Bio →

Reviewed by Daniel Walker
Licensed Auto Insurance Agent Daniel Walker

Reviews
for Elephant Auto Insurance

3.76 (146 reviews)
1
July 20, 2021

Alikhosh

They run scheme

As being a loyal client for 3 years and paying high premium for full coverage, I am not happy with their claims department . They run scheme and almost never follow up regrading the case status. Be wary of their claim agents as they work for their own best interest, to even the extend of buying a car, to take advantage of your policy, when there was a minor scratch on a bumper of Prius that had been in extensive collision previously, then conside...
As being a loyal client for 3 years and paying high premium for full coverage, I am not happy with their claims department . They run scheme and almost never follow up regrading the case status. Be wary of their claim agents as they work for their own best interest, to even the extend of buying a car, to take advantage of your policy, when there was a minor scratch on a bumper of Prius that had been in extensive collision previously, then considering it as total loss, in order to make you pay higher premium for next year as well as effecting your DL drastically for the next 3 years.
5
January 7, 2021

CA76

Elephant Insurance is the best

Elephant Auto Insurance has been an efficient, and customer friendly company. They always answered my questions and address my concerns.
1
December 8, 2020

Mrsr38

Dissatisfied customer

I have had an open claim since 10/29/2020,an my insurance adjuster [REDACTED NAME] [REDACTED NAME] never called once to settle my claim my car is still in the impound lot I'm suffering because I dnt have a car an it's really hard for me to get to work an take my kids where they need to be I trusted that this insurance company would have my best interest at hand after I pay all of my hard earned money to be protected from situations like this .Thi...
I have had an open claim since 10/29/2020,an my insurance adjuster [REDACTED NAME] [REDACTED NAME] never called once to settle my claim my car is still in the impound lot I'm suffering because I dnt have a car an it's really hard for me to get to work an take my kids where they need to be I trusted that this insurance company would have my best interest at hand after I pay all of my hard earned money to be protected from situations like this .This is by far the worst insurance company I ever experienced you guys do not care about your customer's at all now I'm forced to file a law suit because [REDACTED NAME] [REDACTED NAME] my insurance adjuster refuse to settle my claim
5
July 8, 2020

teamfecko2020

I would go with Elephant!

They have an awesoje app with easy instant access to customer service contacts, bill pay and claims department. its affordable and worht the money. great value. will get another po;icy when i get my new car.
4
May 4, 2020

Jfernandez175

Amazing Service!

Amazing customer service, and for the price, you really can't beat it these days! Does everything and more than what the competition offers!
5
February 24, 2020

MirandaW101113

Saviors

Just recently had a claim. Super easy and fast. I barely had to do anything just called to initiate the claim. Elephant auto insurance saved my truck and saved my job. I’m glad I switched from Geico
1
February 14, 2020

LINC

DO NOT USE!!!!!!

This company is worthless. They are committing blatant FRAUD by falsifying claims. I was involved in an accident with one of their customers and they have closed the claim WITHOUT even receiving the police report, seriously????? They are falsifying documents as well claiming that I gave them a statement. COMPLETELY FALSE and a blatant lie considering the company NEVER contacted me by any means. DO NOT USE THIS WORTHLESS, CORRUPT AND FRAUDULENT CO...
This company is worthless. They are committing blatant FRAUD by falsifying claims. I was involved in an accident with one of their customers and they have closed the claim WITHOUT even receiving the police report, seriously????? They are falsifying documents as well claiming that I gave them a statement. COMPLETELY FALSE and a blatant lie considering the company NEVER contacted me by any means. DO NOT USE THIS WORTHLESS, CORRUPT AND FRAUDULENT COMPANY!!!!
1
February 7, 2020

REvans1920

Horrible Claims service

Please do not buy insurance from this company. The bad service starts once you have to file a claim. They take their time to responding to your claims and you get Claim Agents that have bad attitudes. [REDACTED NAME] was the worse and his Manager as well. The Manager advised me he didn’t care if I left the company and He also told me if they desire to pay my claim. I have full coverage on my vehicles regardless of fault what do he mean if he w...
Please do not buy insurance from this company. The bad service starts once you have to file a claim. They take their time to responding to your claims and you get Claim Agents that have bad attitudes. [REDACTED NAME] was the worse and his Manager as well. The Manager advised me he didn’t care if I left the company and He also told me if they desire to pay my claim. I have full coverage on my vehicles regardless of fault what do he mean if he wants to pay my claim. Just rude for no reason. They act like they are providing a free service to send. Which they are not!!
4
October 12, 2019

78942Long

Elephant auto insurance was a good choice for me.

I got elephant auto insurance on my vehicle a few years ago. I was always able to reach them when i had a question or needed to make a payment. The representatives were extremely helpful and courteous and always took the time to make sure they had satisfied my needs. My rates were low and they made adjustments to reward me for being a valued customer. I would recommend them to others.
5
September 8, 2019

Shelleybean0806

Excellent service

They were great! We are seriously considering going back with the company. Good customer service and fantastic prices.
↑ Back to Top

Write a Review and Rate

Please tell us about your policy type

Policy Type ?

Please select a `Policy Type!`

How did you buy this policy?

Please select `How you bought this policy!`

How long ago did you buy this policy?

Please select `How long ago you bought this policy!`

Do you currently have a policy with this company?

Please select `If you currently have a policy with this company?`

How long ago did you buy this policy?

Share your experience with this company

(Min. 100 Characters)
(Max. 60 Characters)

Rate your experience with

Buying Process

Renewal Process

Customer Service*

Policy Price*

Did you submit a claim?

Claim ServiceIf applicable

How long ago did you buy this policy?


Company*Overall Rating

Likelihood to recommend to family or friend*

A few more questions

What does this insurance company do well?

What can this insurance company do better?

Which best describes your household? (select all that apply)

When you submit this review, you will be asked to sign in/up for to your https://www.autoinsurance.org account. If your account is not currently verified, we will send a verification email to the email on file for your account. Please select the verification button in that email. If you do not see the email in your inbox, please check your spam or junk folder. Your review cannot be reviewed and accepted until you complete this verification step.

Compare Quotes from Top Companies and Save

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption