Columbia Auto Insurance Review (2022)

Columbia Insurance Company offer auto, home, farm, umbrella, and general liability insurance to residential and business clients. If you buy Columbia auto insurance, you can pay as low as $86 per month for full coverage. Find out how in this Columbia Auto insurance review!

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Rachel Bodine graduated from college with a BA in English. She has since worked as a Feature Writer in the insurance industry and gained a deep knowledge of state and countrywide insurance laws and rates. Her research and writing focus on helping readers understand their insurance coverage and how to find savings. Her expert advice on insurance has been featured on sites like PhotoEnforced, All...

Full Bio →

Written by Rachel Bodine
Feature Writer Rachel Bodine

Dan Walker graduated with a BS in Administrative Management in 2005 and has been working in his family’s insurance agency, FCI Agency, for 15 years (BBB A+). He is licensed as an agent to write property and casualty insurance, including home, auto, umbrella, and dwelling fire insurance. He’s also been featured on sites like Reviews.com and Safeco. He reviews content, ensuring that ex...

Full Bio →

Reviewed by Daniel Walker
Licensed Auto Insurance Agent Daniel Walker

UPDATED: Sep 28, 2022

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident auto insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one auto insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider. Our partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

UPDATED: Sep 28, 2022

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident auto insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one auto insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider. Our partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

Written By: Rachel BodineReviewed By: Daniel WalkerUPDATED: Sep 28, 2022Fact Checked
Quick Read
4.0
autoinsurance.org

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Columbia Insurance Group

Average annual rate for good drivers:

$1,000

A.M. Best rating:

A-

Complaint level:

Low

Pros

  • Columbia Insurance Group was founded in 1874 and is a company that sells types of auto insurance, homeowners insurance, umbrella insurance, commercial, and farm policies
  • Columbia is licensed to sell insurance in 30 states

Cons

  • They do not offer a quote tool or even a get a quote option for any of their products
  • They currently only have policyholders in 19 of those 30 states

The Bottom Line

Columbia Insurance Group was founded in the Midwest in Columbia, Missouri. According to the company, some neighbors got together and formed the company because they had too few insurance options in their area against fire and windstorms.

The first company was called Home Mutual Insurance Company in Missouri. Today, Columbia Insurance Group has five companies under its umbrella.

These companies are:

  • Association Casualty Insurance Company
  • Citizens Mutual Insurance Company
  • Columbia Mutual Insurance Company
  • Columbia National Insurance Company
  • Georgia Causality & Surety Company

Columbia Insurance Group was founded in 1874 and is a company that sells types of auto insurance, homeowners insurance, umbrella insurance, commercial, and farm policies.

Like most small auto insurance companies, Columbia auto insurance reviews customer eligibility through its online quote system. However, we’ll ride through what you could pay the Columbia car insurance company in our extensive review.

Columbia auto insurance happens to carry liability, collision, and comprehensive coverage options. You can receive discounts also on your Columbia car insurance rates. However, the base auto insurance rate reported by the NAIC may be cheaper or more expensive when you get a Columbia Insurance Company quote.

Factors that determine auto insurance can increase your Columbia auto insurance quote and rates. Discounts, however, can decrease your policy price when you buy Columbia car insurance. Customers who have good credit will likely pay the least.

 

Columbia Mutual Insurance Company Rates

Here are the national average projections of auto insurance coverage from NAIC’s research.

Average Auto Insurance Rates by Coverage Type
Basic Auto Insurance Coverage TypesAverage Annual Auto Insurance Insurance RatesAverage Monthly Auto Insurance Rates
Comprehensive$148$12
Collision$327$27
Liability$555$46
Full$1,030$86
Get Your Rates Quote Now

Liability is the most expensive when compared to comprehensive and collision auto insurance, while full coverage is all coverage combined. Sometimes you’ll see full coverage labeled as combined.

Free Auto Insurance Comparison

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

Rachel Bodine graduated from college with a BA in English. She has since worked as a Feature Writer in the insurance industry and gained a deep knowledge of state and countrywide insurance laws and rates. Her research and writing focus on helping readers understand their insurance coverage and how to find savings. Her expert advice on insurance has been featured on sites like PhotoEnforced, All...

Full Bio →

Written by Rachel Bodine
Feature Writer Rachel Bodine

Dan Walker graduated with a BS in Administrative Management in 2005 and has been working in his family’s insurance agency, FCI Agency, for 15 years (BBB A+). He is licensed as an agent to write property and casualty insurance, including home, auto, umbrella, and dwelling fire insurance. He’s also been featured on sites like Reviews.com and Safeco. He reviews content, ensuring that ex...

Full Bio →

Reviewed by Daniel Walker
Licensed Auto Insurance Agent Daniel Walker

Reviews
for Columbia Mutual Insurance Company

3.97 (17 reviews)
4
September 30, 2018

Chloe0923

Columbia Insurance

Reasonable rates for Auto Insurance.Offer several options too pay your bill. Good customer service services.
4
September 7, 2018

1aislinn28

Not a bad company

For the most part, I have no problems with this company. They have cheap prices and the agent that I go through does most of the work. The bill goes up little by little (about ten dollars more a month then when I started 3 years ago). They also almost dropped me after recording my vin number wrong but wasn't a huge deal to fix it. Worth it for the cheapest premium.
4
August 13, 2018

Moes1

Columbia Auto Insurance

good company reasonable rates sometimes I do not understand extra charges on bill from time to time. They had a grace period of three days paying your bill than they did away with it I wish they would of kept it. I pay the same amount as I did with Allstate maybe a little less. The customer service center is very good though except for one time I received a rude agent very discourteous.
4
February 7, 2018

klynnae

Columbia is a great company

I have enjoyed using this company! Having an agent in town is convenient and they are wonderful to work with. Overall, the rates stay the same from year to year so I know what to expect.
4
January 13, 2018

1aislinn28

Great for the price

Price is the cheapest out there. Coverage is great! Took 3 times of calling to get my address changed but they never charged me a late fee at leas
0.5
November 6, 2017

mandasman_71749

Ain't what they say they are!

I just recently got my renewal for my vehicle insurance, and bam! my insurance went from $338 a month to $401 a month! When I contacted Columbia to find out why, they tell me the reason for the increase was that the state of Arkansas just had an increase on their premiums, and for the one time my payment was late!
4.5
November 2, 2017

sysol

Trusted Insurance for a decent price

Haven't had any problems with Columbia. Great insurance company with great agents that are very helpful
4
October 8, 2017

Cntry_3

Wonderful employees

This company has been so kind and curteous to me, and answered all the questions I had while making sure I was okay. Somebody has been with me through every step of the way after an accident so that I was taken care of. And now my truck looks better than new!
5
July 9, 2017

Tingram

Great insurance with low premiums

Columbia has taken very good care of me and offers me low premiums. Been a customer's for years. Wouldn't have it any other way.
3.5
April 20, 2017

Keljoecra61

Tornado relief

After a huge tornado there was a lot of destruction in my neighborhood and the claim adjusters were on point. There must have been hundreds of cars damaged in my neighborhood but they were here quickly and were efficient in handling everyone's claim. I really appreciate their hard work.
↑ Back to Top

Write a Review and Rate

Please tell us about your policy type

Policy Type ?

Please select a `Policy Type!`

How did you buy this policy?

Please select `How you bought this policy!`

How long ago did you buy this policy?

Please select `How long ago you bought this policy!`

Do you currently have a policy with this company?

Please select `If you currently have a policy with this company?`

How long ago did you buy this policy?

Share your experience with this company

(Min. 100 Characters)
(Max. 60 Characters)

Rate your experience with

Buying Process

Renewal Process

Customer Service*

Policy Price*

Did you submit a claim?

Claim ServiceIf applicable

How long ago did you buy this policy?


Company*Overall Rating

Likelihood to recommend to family or friend*

A few more questions

What does this insurance company do well?

What can this insurance company do better?

Which best describes your household? (select all that apply)

When you submit this review, you will be asked to sign in/up for to your https://www.autoinsurance.org account. If your account is not currently verified, we will send a verification email to the email on file for your account. Please select the verification button in that email. If you do not see the email in your inbox, please check your spam or junk folder. Your review cannot be reviewed and accepted until you complete this verification step.

Compare Quotes from Top Companies and Save

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption