MAPFRE Auto Insurance Review 2022

MAPFRE offers auto insurance coverage with reasonable rates and discount options.

UPDATED: Oct 6, 2022Fact Checked

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Rachel Bodine graduated from college with a BA in English. She has since worked as a Feature Writer in the insurance industry and gained a deep knowledge of state and countrywide insurance laws and rates. Her research and writing focus on helping readers understand their insurance coverage and how to find savings. Her expert advice on insurance has been featured on sites like PhotoEnforced, All...

Full Bio →

Written by Rachel Bodine
Feature Writer Rachel Bodine

Dan Walker graduated with a BS in Administrative Management in 2005 and has been working in his family’s insurance agency, FCI Agency, for 15 years (BBB A+). He is licensed as an agent to write property and casualty insurance, including home, auto, umbrella, and dwelling fire insurance. He’s also been featured on sites like Reviews.com and Safeco. He reviews content, ensuring that ex...

Full Bio →

Reviewed by Daniel Walker
Licensed Auto Insurance Agent Daniel Walker

UPDATED: Oct 6, 2022

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident auto insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one auto insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider. Our partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

UPDATED: Oct 6, 2022

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident auto insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one auto insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider. Our partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

UPDATED: Oct 6, 2022Fact Checked
3.8
autoinsurance.org

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

MAPFRE Insurance

Average annual rate for good drivers:

N/A

A.M. Best rating:

A

Complaint level:

High

Pros

  • Website available in Spanish
  • Several coverage options
  • Discounts on coverage

Cons

  • Lack of availability
  • A high number of customer complaints
  • Inferior digital tools

The Bottom Line

MAPFRE offers car insurance in eight states and Puerto Rico. The company offers a few add-on coverage options, allowing individuals to personalize their policies. Additionally, you may qualify for a discount to help you save even more.

Unfortunately, MAPFRE has a significant number of complaints for a company of its size, according to the NAIC. Before purchasing car insurance with MAPFRE, you should research auto insurance quotes in your area to see which providers offer the best deals.

If you’re searching for the best car insurance companies in your area, you may want to consider MAPFRE auto insurance. MAPFRE offers auto insurance coverage in several states in the U.S.

Unfortunately, MAPFRE is not available everywhere. According to the National Association of Insurance Commissioners (NAIC), MAPFRE has a higher-than-average number of customer complaints.

Is MAPFRE Insurance a Good Choice?

MAPFRE Insurance Company of Florida offers coverage in eight states and Puerto Rico. In addition, the company provides MAPFRE auto insurance quotes in some states and sells policies via local agents. 

According to the National Association of Insurance Commissioners (NAIC), MAPFRE has a higher-than-average number of customer complaints for a company of its size. If you’re considering purchasing an insurance policy with MAPFRE, read the reviews online to see what current customers say. 

MAPFRE acquired Commerce Insurance, and Commerce insurance reviews are similar to its parent company. For example, the Commerce insurance rating for financial strength is an A (Excellent) with A.M. Best, though MAPFRE no longer has a rating with the company. 

MAPFRE Insurance Rates

Car insurance rates with MAPFRE vary based on factors like:

  • Age
  • ZIP code
  • Driving record
  • Credit score

MAPFRE offers pretty competitive rates on car insurance, but you may find that other companies in your area have better deals on coverage.

First, let’s take a look at what you can expect to pay for minimum coverage across the country.

Now, look at the map below for full coverage rates. The prices may more than double but you are so much better protected if you get into an accident.

As mentioned earlier, your driving record plays a vital role in how insurance companies determine your annual rates. If you have a clean record, you can expect rates similar to the tables above.

However, if you receive a speeding ticket or cause an accident, your rates will increase. Below is a table showing how much you can expect your rates to increase after getting a traffic ticket.

Drivers will see even larger increases if they cause an accident. Look at the chart below to see how insurers raise rates after an accident.

If you’re caught driving under the influence and receive a DUI from an officer, your rates will increase dramatically. Insurance companies consider drivers with a DUI on their record to be high-risk and more likely to file claims. Other events that can affect your car insurance rate are being involved in an at-fault accident or getting a ticket for other traffic violations.

Another factor that determines your car insurance rates, is your credit score. Not all states allow insurance companies to use credit scores as a factor, but most do.

You can see how your credit score can affect your annual premium in the chart below.

If you compare GEICO vs. MAPFRE, you may find that MAPFRE offers cheaper rates in certain situations. Still, it would help to compare car insurance quotes with multiple companies in your area to see which provider offers the coverage you want at the best price.

Free Auto Insurance Comparison

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

MAPFRE Insurance Discounts Available

MAPFRE offers a few auto insurance discounts to its policyholders, including:

  • Paid-in-full. Save money if you pay for your annual premium all at once.
  • Good student. Enjoy a discount for meeting specific GPA criteria.
  • Clean-in-three. Save on your insurance coverage if you remain accident-free for three years. 

Discounts can help you save a significant amount on car insurance. Speak with a MAPFRE agent today to see how much you could save on coverage. 

MAPFRE Insurance Coverage Options

MAPFRE offers standard liability coverage to meet the minimum requirements in certain states, including:

In addition, MAPFRE offers add-on coverage options, including:

  • Disappearing deductible. Lower your deductible over time with a clean driving record.
  • Accident forgiveness. Avoid increasing rates even if you’re at fault in an accident. 

Depending on the coverage you’re looking for, you may find that MAPFRE car insurance is a practical option in your area. 

What other types of insurance does MAPFRE offer?

In addition to auto insurance, MAPFRE offers:

  • Business
  • Umbrella
  • Watercraft
  • Motorcycle
  • RV

The company may offer you a discount if you bundle multiple policies, which could help you save money. 

Methodology

In order to provide the most accurate and up-to-date information, our auto insurance reviews are based on quotes from all 50 states and Washington, D.C.
We reviewed quotes from the top 10 auto insurance companies as determined by financial and customer satisfaction ratings.
Our demo driver is a married, 35-year-old male with a 2018 Honda Civic. The driver’s background included a clean driving record and a good credit history.
We gave him coverage limits for a full coverage policy slightly above any specific state’s minimum requirements. Comprehensive and collision insurance each had a $500 deductible.

AutoInsurance.org’s rate analysis is based on data from Quadrant Information Services. The rate data is publicly sourced information from insurance company filings. The information we published is solely for comparative purposes. Therefore, any rate quotes from specific auto insurance companies may differ.

Frequently Asked Questions

Where does MAPFRE sell auto insurance?

MAPFRE sells coverage in California, Massachusetts, Maine, New Hampshire, Ohio, Rhode Island, Vermont, Washington, and Puerto Rico.

Does MAPFRE offer rideshare coverage?

Drivers can get rideshare coverage in Massachusetts. Additionally, MAPFRE sells GAP coverage in Massachusetts. Unfortunately, coverage in other states is not as robust.

How can I pay for my MAPFRE coverage?

Policyholders can go to the MAPFRE website or use the company’s mobile app to make payments.

Free Auto Insurance Comparison

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

Rachel Bodine graduated from college with a BA in English. She has since worked as a Feature Writer in the insurance industry and gained a deep knowledge of state and countrywide insurance laws and rates. Her research and writing focus on helping readers understand their insurance coverage and how to find savings. Her expert advice on insurance has been featured on sites like PhotoEnforced, All...

Full Bio →

Written by Rachel Bodine
Feature Writer Rachel Bodine

Dan Walker graduated with a BS in Administrative Management in 2005 and has been working in his family’s insurance agency, FCI Agency, for 15 years (BBB A+). He is licensed as an agent to write property and casualty insurance, including home, auto, umbrella, and dwelling fire insurance. He’s also been featured on sites like Reviews.com and Safeco. He reviews content, ensuring that ex...

Full Bio →

Reviewed by Daniel Walker
Licensed Auto Insurance Agent Daniel Walker

Reviews
for MAPFRE Insurance

3.80 (108 reviews)
5
October 2, 2020

ld465

Responsive Company with Reasonable Prices

Overall MAPFRE was a pleasure to work with. They outlined coverage and costs clearly, with rapid responses to questions pertaining to claims and billing.
5
March 27, 2020

ElectoCarbon

Good but Could be Better

Honestly the rates were comparable to other companies. The agent I went through made everything easy to sign up for. The online site is lacking though in features. Online bill paying takes awhile to get to when you log on.
4
March 23, 2020

MJohnson

An ok experience

I haven't had many issues with MAPfre. So far it has been an ok experience. I had them in the past and did not like their services. It was all a sales pitch and they didn't come through on there part. But in the last year or so they have made things better and more affordable.
5
January 29, 2020

Drubeus1

Mapfri makes it easy

I love all the agents I work with, I totaled my car in April and it was amazing how caring and how easy it was to work everything out with them
1
January 26, 2020

Kayla1995

Horrible customer service

Literally the worst. I had issues from the start with this insurance. I was overcharged by 400 dollars. Never got an apology or anything, and it took them a month to fix this issue ONLY AFTER they demanded proof that they took my money. I paid my last bill after having enough and deciding to switch to another carrier and to my surprise I open a letter from them saying my outstanding balance has been sent to collections. My last bill was paid and ...
Literally the worst. I had issues from the start with this insurance. I was overcharged by 400 dollars. Never got an apology or anything, and it took them a month to fix this issue ONLY AFTER they demanded proof that they took my money. I paid my last bill after having enough and deciding to switch to another carrier and to my surprise I open a letter from them saying my outstanding balance has been sent to collections. My last bill was paid and on time. Took a while to get that resolved and the customer service was the worst Iv'e ever had.
5
August 9, 2019

Vacation2

Mapfre Insurance review

I have had my car insurance with Mapfre(formerly Commerce Insurance) for over 15 years. I have had 2 cars insured with them during this time. My insurance agent is wonderful. Instead of calling his office, I send him a fax of what I need to ask him about. That way, he can call back when he has s moment. I had to deal with filling out a claim a few years ago. Their customer service was great about helping.
5
July 30, 2019

Michellejay6

Through the years with Mapfre

We have been very pleased overall with Mapfre Insurance. We have been with Mapfre for over 20 years with the exception of one year when we switched bc we got a better deal with All state because of a young driver on our policy. But the very next year, we price matched with Mapfre and they had the better price.
1
July 22, 2019

VicSic

More expensive doesn’t always mean better quality

I have had mapfre insurance for 13 years and I have continuously had bad experience with customer service. If you are a DAY late on payment, they cancel your service and demand full payment for the rest of the year to keep your insurance. You pay premium prices for nothing. When you do get into an accident and submit a claim, they’ll take months to get back to you and you need to hound them to move forward with your claim. They tack on annual f...
I have had mapfre insurance for 13 years and I have continuously had bad experience with customer service. If you are a DAY late on payment, they cancel your service and demand full payment for the rest of the year to keep your insurance. You pay premium prices for nothing. When you do get into an accident and submit a claim, they’ll take months to get back to you and you need to hound them to move forward with your claim. They tack on annual fees that they can’t explain; so your insurance will go up yearly even if you have a perfect driving record. A representative told me that I could reduce my monthly payments and when I did, they told me they were cancelling my policy and would not listen to my concerns. [REDACTED NAME] in the MASSACHUSETTS division was disrespectful, raised her voice with me, was disgustingly condescending, and refused to help me or listen to any of my concerns. She had zero response when I told her she was giving me contradicting info than her other colleague. I will be switching insurance policy’s once this year is done. Please don’t waste your time or money
5
March 25, 2019

SeanG

Mapfre works

They were really good i will use them when i get my next car which should be very soon i would recommend them to anyone
5
November 20, 2018

mariacas

matfre

great people to deal with they answer all your questions and find the best deals for you there office hours are open late so you never have to worry about missing them
↑ Back to Top

Write a Review and Rate

Please tell us about your policy type

Policy Type ?

Please select a `Policy Type!`

How did you buy this policy?

Please select `How you bought this policy!`

How long ago did you buy this policy?

Please select `How long ago you bought this policy!`

Do you currently have a policy with this company?

Please select `If you currently have a policy with this company?`

How long ago did you buy this policy?

Share your experience with this company

(Min. 100 Characters)
(Max. 60 Characters)

Rate your experience with

Buying Process

Renewal Process

Customer Service*

Policy Price*

Did you submit a claim?

Claim ServiceIf applicable

How long ago did you buy this policy?


Company*Overall Rating

Likelihood to recommend to family or friend*

A few more questions

What does this insurance company do well?

What can this insurance company do better?

Which best describes your household? (select all that apply)

When you submit this review, you will be asked to sign in/up for to your https://www.autoinsurance.org account. If your account is not currently verified, we will send a verification email to the email on file for your account. Please select the verification button in that email. If you do not see the email in your inbox, please check your spam or junk folder. Your review cannot be reviewed and accepted until you complete this verification step.

Compare Quotes from Top Companies and Save

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption