What are the car seat laws in Utah?

FREE Auto Insurance Comparison

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Compare quotes from the top auto insurance companies and save!

Things to remember...
  • Child car seat laws dramatically improve safety for young ones in a car
  • Utah mandates using child safety/booster seats when transporting a child
  • Failure to follow state law is a primary offense in Utah
  • Adults should request car seat inspections and follow other steps to improve overall safety

Transporting infants and toddlers in your car comes with serious responsibilities. Allowing a passenger to hold a child is unacceptable these days and for good reason. The chance of a car accident always exists, which is why you should use a child safety seat.

Installing a child safety seat in a vehicle is no longer optional. States across the USA wrote mandatory requirements into law. In addition to following state law, drivers should adhere to the American Academy of Pediatrics’ recommendations.

The AAP points out adults should place toddlers into rear-facing seats until two years of age or until the young ones reach the weight/height maximums for the specific seat.

The AAP further suggests adults place children in seat belt-connected booster seats they reach 57 inches in height and, possibly, until they are 12 years old.

Make sure you have the right insurance coverage in place. Enter your zip code into our free rate comparison tool above to find the coverage you need at the best price.

Car Seat Law for Utah

AdobeStock_78910332-1600x1600

In addition to following the AAP’s recommendations, residents of Utah must also familiarize themselves with their state’s law. In Utah, all “children up to age eight” shall be secured in an appropriate car seat or booster seat.

The only exception to this rule is when the child is “four feet nine inches tall.”

Utah’s seat belt and child seat rules are primary laws.  Law enforcement does not need another traffic offense to occur to stop the car. If the police do not see the young one in a safety seat, the vehicle can be pulled over and the driver cited.

A significant number of states consider seat belt and child safety seat violations to be primary offenses.

The penalty for not properly restraining a child in an approved seat stands at $45. The citation, however, does not lead to points on a driving record since seat laws do not reflect moving violations.

The lack of harsh penalties for not following the law does not mean adults should take the laws less seriously. The risks for injury increase dramatically when a child has not been properly secured.

FREE Auto Insurance Comparison

Compare quotes from the top auto insurance companies and save!

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Provide for Child Safety and Care

The most basic way to improve the safety of a child in a car would be to drive defensively and cautiously. Avoiding poor driving habits decreases the chances for accidents and all the potential harm that comes with collisions.

Unfortunately, even the safest drivers cannot completely avoid the potential for an accident. So, it becomes wise to purchase the very best insurance policy available. Shopping online for quotes makes the process easier than ever before.

Consider it a good idea to review new auto insurance policies every six months. Do not fall into the habit of renewing an old policy year after year without checking to see if better, more comprehensive insurance is available.

Twice a year, request three or four new auto insurance quotes. Check out what they offer in terms of:

Look over coverage limits, deductibles, and, of course, the overall price of a policy. Avoid focusing too much on cost, though.

Saving money can be secondary to getting the best insurance coverage for yourself and passengers of all ages.

Car Seat Installation

AdobeStock_80600613-1600x1600

Even with the right coverage, avoiding bodily injury remains obviously preferable. Adults with clear concerns over child safety seat performance benefit from performing a proper inspection prior to purchasing.

You do not want to improperly install a seat due to manufacturer defects. Unfortunately, not all defects or problems are obvious to an untrained eye.

Take the seat to the location of a certified technician.

A professional will examine the seat and, possibly, provide clear instructions on how to install one. Visiting an official inspection station might do a lot to improve safety.

FREE Auto Insurance Comparison

Compare quotes from the top auto insurance companies and save!

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

[0-9]
[0-9]