What are the car seat laws in Louisiana?
Louisiana child safety seat laws are a primary offense with fines starting at $100 per incident. State law mandates children under 9 must be properly secured.
Free Auto Insurance Comparison
Secured with SHA-256 Encryption
UPDATED: Oct 20, 2021
It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.
Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident auto insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one auto insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider. Our partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.
Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.
- Louisiana drivers should be aware of the state’s car seat laws as well as the AAP’s recommendations for the proper and safe use of car seats
- Drivers who violate the Louisiana car seat and seat belt laws can be fined per incident
- Children who are over the age of six and who weigh at least 60 pounds are permitted to use an adult seat belt in a vehicle in this state
Many children are injured while in moving vehicles in Louisiana each year, and both drivers and lawmakers have taken steps to help keep children as safe as possible.
Drivers are required to comply with the state’s car seat laws, but some drivers are also aware of the AAP recommendations regarding the use of car seats. The AAP, or American Academy of Pediatrics, has strengthened its recommendations for car seat usage in recent years.
While the AAP’s guidelines are simply recommendations, they can potentially help you to keep children in your car safer as you cruise through the state. These guidelines recommend that children who are less than two years old should be fastened in a rear-facing car seat.
Once they reach the age of two years old, they can sit in a front-facing car seat or in a booster seat, based on their age and the manufacturer’s guidelines. They can sit in a booster seat until they grow to a height of 57 inches and until they are between the ages of eight and 12 years old.
Get the car insurance coverage that you need for the right price. Enter your ZIP code into our free rate comparison tool below to get started!
What is the Car Seat Law in Louisiana?
The AAP guidelines are not legal requirements, and Louisiana drivers can choose to disregard them. However, there are Louisiana laws regarding the use of car seats that you should be aware of before you start driving on local roads.
State law in Louisiana indicates that children should be fastened into a rear-facing car seat until they are at least one year old and until they are at least 20 pounds.
Between the ages of one and four years old and until children weigh at least 40 pounds, they should sit in a front-facing car seat that is placed in the back seat of the car. After this point, children can sit in a booster seat until they are at least six years old and weigh at least 60 pounds.
Free Auto Insurance Comparison
Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.
Secured with SHA-256 Encryption
Consequences for Breaking the Law
Drivers in Louisiana need to understand the car seat and seat belt laws related to children before venturing on the road, and this is because there are consequences associated with violating the laws.
If one of your passengers is not properly secured via the seatbelt law, you will be fined $50 per incident. In the event one of your passengers is not properly fastened in a car seat as required by law, you will be fined $100 per incident.
In Louisiana, the car seat law is a primary law. Essentially, a law enforcement officer does not need any other cause or reason to pull you over.
If a police officer has a reason to believe that a child is not properly fastened per state law, he or she can immediately pull you over and cite you for the different number of incidents. Another reason to pull you over is not required.
Child Safety in Louisiana
The National Highway Traffic Safety Association, or NHTSA, is available to assist you with the proper and correct installation of all types of car seats and booster seats.
Each seat may have slightly different installation instructions, and some drivers may struggle with the correct installation of car seats in their vehicles.
If you need assistance with the proper car seat installation process or if you want to have your seat checked to ensure that it has been installed properly, you can visit an approved NHTSA check station before you start driving in this state with children in the car.
Getting Car Insurance in Louisiana
In addition to obeying the state’s car seat and seat belt laws in Louisiana, drivers also need to comply with the state’s car insurance laws.
The minimum car insurance requirements for Louisiana drivers indicate the need to purchase liability insurance.
You should understand that liability insurance does not pay for the expenses that you may incur for repair costs on your own car if it is damaged or for the medical bills for passengers injured in your vehicle.
Here are some recommendations:
- Buy a comprehensive policy
- Compare quotes every six months
- Compare at least three quotes
- Review customer service
Buying a comprehensive insurance policy with additional personal injury coverage is a smart idea if you want the maximum coverage possible because this type of coverage will pay for your own expenses caused by an accident.
Shopping for new car insurance in Louisiana every six months is an excellent idea and can help you to potentially save money on your coverage.
You should compare at least three to four quotes from top local providers. This will give you a general idea of the average rates in your state and your best options.
You should also focus on the companies themselves and make sure they’re in good financial standing and have good reviews for their customer service, especially when it comes to claims filing.
All of these important factors must be equally considered in order to make a great buying decision regarding your car insurance needs, and the Internet is a great resource for you to use for this purpose.
Enter your ZIP code into our free rate comparison tool below to find the coverage that’s right for you at the best rate.